Go

1998 Dodge Avenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.6
Out of 10

Based on 144 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.2/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next

Good Car

By on Thursday, April 28, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Hi all, Just thought I would review what I thought to be a good car. I have owned my 96 dodge avenger for 9 years now. Bought it with 56,000 miles on it and now have about 140,000. I have had no major problems with the motor, tranny, or wheel assembly other than the usual wear and tear. The car is a very reliable piece of machinery and I am sad to be letting mine go due to the 2 door not being condusive to a new baby. The only other drawback to it is it sits very low to the ground. Gets hard on the back after a while."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

awesome ride quick and comfortable

By on Sunday, March 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,261

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, stlye,"

Cons: "no longer available as coupe"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"took over this vehicle from my wife. she received a crossover when children came into the picture. the vehicle has had no major issues, and still turns the tuners heads when I drive by. Vehicle is fast and descent on fuel economy. plan to drive until it gives up, or my son turns of age to modify. the 4 door avengers just dont match up to the coupe."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Decent car but....

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fast is about it. Big trunk."

Cons: "Rocker panels rust easy. Smokey headlights."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I like it but its made for a younger person obviously. Its very low to the ground but rusts in front of the back tires pretty bad. Handles well in the snow but its very long. Mine has the 2.5 liter with 24 valves so its not very good on gas in town. its is a faster car tho with the 4 speed auto which i think is probably the best transmission dodge makes. I was quite upset when i bought it from a dealership for 2500 its a 97 mind you. 150xxx about six thousand miles after i had to replace a wheel bearing and at 160xxx needed new brakes but its all in how you drive it. but now im not sure if its a balljoint going bad or a strut bushing going bad up front but it clacks. But all in all its a nice car and if you want one make sure you look around a bit."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Pretty good vehicle

By on Thursday, January 17, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"My wife and I have had this car since 1997. We have babied it...it only has 60000 miles. We were livid when the trany went out the first year but it was replaced under our warranty. We've had to replace some O2 sensors but that's it. She runs great. Good luck replacing the plugs, plug wires, rotor, cap, etc. You have to pull out the whole intake manifold!!! Otherwise it's been good to us...we'll keep her another few years."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best first car for your kid

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "cheap sports car"

Cons: "not the best handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car i have ever drove! it is very reliable and the other thing that has ever went wrong is the heating and i fixed that for 100 dollars! great car i love it!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

good car for the price

By on Wednesday, March 23, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"the only thing i see that the exhoust system is very expensive buy having 2 catalitic converters in it if you were to fix the entire system you looking at $ 2000 dollars"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good Looks, Good Value

By on Friday, March 18, 2011

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought a '98 Avenger ES with 40.000 miles in '03. I was drawn to the price and the style was more appealing than other mid-sized and small cars. I rate it average for quality after a few rough starts and consequently having the fuel pump replaced. A friend with a 1999 model had the same fault. The sway bars were recalled and covered by Dodge. The paint deteriorated beneath the external coat, so it looked blotchy on the roof but was smooth to touch and did not tarnish the metal. A basic level paint job from a national company made it look like new. Otherwise, I received compliments on the style, the ride, and the view. The slope of the windshield offers the front seat a good view up and lets in light. Road noise is comparable to other sport sedans or entry level cars. The back seat is roomy for a coupe - my friends over six foot have more knee room in the back than in the front with the low glove box. The ES sound system had a good amp, and I enjoyed the other ES options: sliding sunroof, spoiler, cruise control, and fog lamps. The trunk has adequate space. The suspension helps prevent roll, and handling in a few inches of snow was better than expected."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great older vehicle

By on Thursday, January 27, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Works great for a cheap reliable sporty car. Don't expect a high horsepower car though. Bad turning radius. Fun to drive, great looks."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, October 13, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My Baby

By on Friday, June 11, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my Baby, I put top of the line wires and Bosch plugs in it and what a differance in performance. All I can say is wow : She has been by my side for 14 years and 345,000. miles later stii going strong with minor repairs. Its a real gem and i plan on driving until it blows the rods or something major. Over the years it has taken me from Buffalo to Florida, Maryland,Georgia out West and Canada and it performs great."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Avenger near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement