Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1998 Dodge Avenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.6
Out of 10

Based on 144 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.2/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 29 | Next

Pretty good vehicle

By on Thursday, January 17, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"My wife and I have had this car since 1997. We have babied it...it only has 60000 miles. We were livid when the trany went out the first year but it was replaced under our warranty. We've had to replace some O2 sensors but that's it. She runs great. Good luck replacing the plugs, plug wires, rotor, cap, etc. You have to pull out the whole intake manifold!!! Otherwise it's been good to us...we'll keep her another few years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

1997 Avenger ES-Stylish Reliability

By on Wednesday, January 02, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this car new and have had it for almost 11 years. I have never had a major mechanical problem. Some minor problems included the rims, which I got reimbursed for under the recall settlement and replaced with polished chrome (not factory), and the paint (black) which I had redone about 1 1/2 yrs ago. It still looks good and gets looks after all these years. It's Mitsubishi V6 could be faster and the turning radius leaves something to be desired but overall it's been a great car. I plan on driving it for years to come."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

so so

By on Monday, December 10, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"ive owned this car for 4years.I have replaced 4balljoints a wheel bering, both driveshafts a tranny,spoiler,two egr valves and many rotors probly 4 sets, they tend to warp easly, and snaps lower ball joints so when you hear squeaks when you turn look out.it recenty droped a cylider. it also has a short turing radius.but i love the way it looks."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love It!!

By on Sunday, November 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I had my 1997 Avenger since 1999 and did not want to part with it. My daughter, who lives with me, finally talked me out of it in 2006. She loves it also. Looks great; runs great!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Never Want To Give It Up

By on Thursday, August 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I absolutely love this car and want it to last forever. I know someday it will need to be retired, but I don't want to. The ride is sporty, yet I raised two boys in it. They love the car too and fight over who gets it when I buy a new one. Comfortable, and handles like a dream around corners and on Highway.. Haven't had any major problems at all, typical oil changes, etc"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Avenger near Honolulu. See local deals