Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1997 Dodge Avenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 143 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.2/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

14 years, 215,000 miles!!!!

By on Monday, March 30, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I never thought that this or any car would have lasted me 14-15 years. The best part is that it still runs very well. Although I no longer am confident in driving it for long trips (120 miles or more), it's just fine for local trips. Only had to tow it once since I've had it. I have nothing bad to say about it. Best car I've ever had."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, March 28, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

slow but good in snow

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The best car I have ever driven in the snow, probably because it was so heavy and didn't have enough power to spin the tires. Slowest car I have ever owned as well."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, February 02, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

alright vehicle dependable

By on Tuesday, December 30, 2008

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"reliable the door handles are weak my driver side snapped off"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, December 04, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

great used car

By on Thursday, November 06, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car has been my daily driver for 4 years and now i am going to buy a new 2009 avenger!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

dependable & sporty

By on Sunday, October 26, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've had my 99 dodge avenger for a little over a year now, I've had a couple minor problems with it (mostly problems with the tires), but other then that it's a very reliable car, very easy to handle, love the power of the car it accelerates fast, only down sides for me are 2 things: 1- that even though it does have a roomy back seat, it's not a family car & 2- it's horrible in snow ... slips & slides a lot (not a good winter car at all)."

Ultra Reliable & Incredible Looks!

By on Sunday, September 28, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"One of the best looking cars on the road! Mechanically, the combination 4 cyl Mitsubishi engine and 5 speed transmission deliver 35MPG highway, and 100% reliability. It corners like it is on rails, the factory sound system is excellent. Some minor issues with interior plastic trim, and that's it! Follow the owner's factory maintenence schedule, and this car will go 300,000 miles"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

awesome car most reliable 1car i have ever owned

By on Friday, September 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Hands down best car ive ever owned ive had it for 3 years now no problems very sporty quick v6 very responsive accelerator handles awesome very fun car to drive gets you noticed every where you go."

By on Friday, September 26, 2008

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

great car

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"My Avenger has been a great car. Despite surpassing 10 years old, its styling isn't dated and it's been easy to maintain. A couple minor paint issues, but nothing too bad. It handles great. Older passengers would sometimes complain that the seats are too low to the ground and difficult to get out of. Carpoolers always remarked on how surprisingly roomy the backseet was."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2008

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Money Pit!

By on Monday, August 18, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"I bought a 2000 ES model in 2001 with less than 10,000 miles on it. I *love* the way this car looks, handles (turning could be sharper) the interior is comfortable and it gets up and moves great. That is WHEN it runs. She did great till we hit 90,000 miles and those were pretty easy miles. Regular maintance kept it running just fine till then. Since then, I have dumped over $4000 into this car and it STILL does not run. According to several mechanics now the computers in these cars are very difficult to read, and very unreliable. Once they go, good luck replacing it! I had major transmission problems, not once but twice and that was before the computer went out. We had tried two different ones so far and this thing is still sitting in the shop, 9 months later. According to several sources, these cars do great until they hit the 100,000 mile or so mark and then they fall appart. My gas mileage dropped signifigantly, the paint started peeling off, the trunk won't shut, the electric seat won't move forward or back, the cup holder covers snapped off. All of this literally within a less than 10,000 mile span! I am wishing now I had of dropped the money into a Civic that would still be kicking! I loved this car, and if you are only looking to drive a lower miles car thats a kick in the pants, then go for it! Just make sure you off load it before it starts falling appart. You will be left holding a junker worth nothing, and that's if your lucky!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Most Long Lasting Vehicle

By on Sunday, August 17, 2008

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"Very stylish and has a unique name. Has a good running engine although it is a very complex engine. It's a dependable vehicle and has never broke down. Handling could be better u-turns are impossible. All in all it's a good vehicle."

great!

By on Thursday, August 07, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Very sporty"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

All smiles

By on Friday, July 25, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"1999 ES purchased in 2003 and have to say it is a wonderful car. No complaints. Body style is very attractive. Enjoy the sporty feel of the road when driving. No road noise. Just normal regular maintenance costs have been incurred. Sound system is excellent, love the fact I can still listen to my Tapes from the 70's if I get tired of the CD's. Acceleration response is immediate, powerful, makes merging and getting up to speed a no brainier. Normal driving is 24 mpg. I've been looking to get a new car, but none have the performance, look, value of this one. So it's a keeper!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

New Purchase July 2008

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Recently purchased this vehicle which I would compare to a Chevy Camaro by design and comfort in the V6 engine. Be sure however to get a full CARFAX report before purchasing. The previous owner had all records but I had to replace the valve gaskets after a week of owning. Watch this area since the prior owner had fixed 6 months in advance. Only rated the reliability as 3 because this situation. Still under warranty from repair work but an area to watch. The CARFAX report also had a couple recalls one which require the lower ball joints to be inspected or even replaced. The valve is good for a later model 90's vehicle and the gas mileage is better than average at around 24 MPG highway depending on your speed. The reliability is better than average. The performance is what you would expect from a V6 it looks much faster than it actually is. But better gas mileage is a plus. I like the leg room for an over 6' person and still gan have persons in the rear comfortably. I like the styling. For a 10 year car it has held up very well. But as with all used vehicle everything is determined by the previous owner. Make sure you get the carfax report before buying. Great car for the price!."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I Fixed my Avenger up

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car i rated is based off of aftermarket parts i put into it. I will be turbo'ing it shortly, the performance rating is based off of the standard motor, it's not fast but it gets good gas mileage. every 420A motor has potential for high performance"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Its cool

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"So i just bought an Avenger and over all its cool! It does ok with speed and handles very well, unless u take a sharp curve, in which case you will start fish-tailing. But yea I really love my car!"

great fun car

By on Monday, July 07, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"i have enjoyed my avenger for 10 years"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, July 06, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, July 06, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Not bad but

By on Saturday, June 28, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Handles great, but Dodge should have used the 3.0(only real hop up mod, good one too!) and used the 670 automatic, the 41te/604 is a very weak tranny. This is a small engine and a couple hundred more rpm wouldn't have hurt one bit, probably helped more than hurt. Cool car though!!!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Avenger near Honolulu. See local deals