Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1997 Dodge Avenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 143 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.2/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next

Decent car but....

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fast is about it. Big trunk."

Cons: "Rocker panels rust easy. Smokey headlights."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I like it but its made for a younger person obviously. Its very low to the ground but rusts in front of the back tires pretty bad. Handles well in the snow but its very long. Mine has the 2.5 liter with 24 valves so its not very good on gas in town. its is a faster car tho with the 4 speed auto which i think is probably the best transmission dodge makes. I was quite upset when i bought it from a dealership for 2500 its a 97 mind you. 150xxx about six thousand miles after i had to replace a wheel bearing and at 160xxx needed new brakes but its all in how you drive it. but now im not sure if its a balljoint going bad or a strut bushing going bad up front but it clacks. But all in all its a nice car and if you want one make sure you look around a bit."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best first car for your kid

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "cheap sports car"

Cons: "not the best handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car i have ever drove! it is very reliable and the other thing that has ever went wrong is the heating and i fixed that for 100 dollars! great car i love it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my car and the great 42 miles per gallon

By on Wednesday, November 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Mity car blew a belt in oct. of 2005 and I refused to give it away Every year for Chrisrmas my husband would ask what I wanted for Christmas and I would tell him I wanted my car fixed. Well this year we had the motor rebuilt and replaced in it and the windsheild was replaced and I have been driving it now for the past 3 weeks and I am enjoying it as much as when I got it brand new with only 17 miles on it when I bought it in 2005. My granddaughter loves Maw Maws car and has asked if she can drive it. She is only 4 years old. If I still have it will probably teach the grand kids (4) to drive with it. LOVE IT"

it feels like a full on sports car.

By on Sunday, November 06, 2011

I own this car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fast,sexy,fun,handles great."

Cons: "tight driver side,but it is a sports car right"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i like the power it has on take off.i took a rounded off ramp at 76mph an never sliped once.i'm going to keep it till it's an classic,but it wont stay stock looking to put a turbo on it. as for the in side its great but i'm 5'9 an my legs hit the steering wheel getting in an out but that is the only thing semi bad, but i can live with that."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

great car to have

By on Friday, October 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great on fuel on the street concidering you can punch it and it gets up and go smooth trans shifting great confort and looks good"

Good sports car.

By on Sunday, September 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "bette than the civic, good for racing."

Cons: "Bad on gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's a nice sports car to have, just like the eclips and prelude. It's gat a good take off and handles corners well."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good car

By on Tuesday, September 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ride very smooth and good gas mileage"

nice clean car

By on Monday, September 19, 2011

I don't own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good driving, comfortable"

Cons: "slight damage undercarriage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the car is clean, straight,inside and out, runs perfect"

great car!

By on Friday, August 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good power and fun to drive"

Cons: "gets a little price to get fixed on the v6"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The v6 model is great! It handles well on corners and is able to real get up and go when punch the gas pedal. The power of the can be changed if you look around. Better plugs gives more power. Down side is that the tires will cost around 700 bucks w rated tires. But I love it with all the add ons put on it makes for a great car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good Car

By on Thursday, April 28, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Hi all, Just thought I would review what I thought to be a good car. I have owned my 96 dodge avenger for 9 years now. Bought it with 56,000 miles on it and now have about 140,000. I have had no major problems with the motor, tranny, or wheel assembly other than the usual wear and tear. The car is a very reliable piece of machinery and I am sad to be letting mine go due to the 2 door not being condusive to a new baby. The only other drawback to it is it sits very low to the ground. Gets hard on the back after a while."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Avenger near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details