Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1997 Dodge Avenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.6
Out of 10

Based on 144 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.2/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

Good Car

By on Thursday, April 28, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Hi all, Just thought I would review what I thought to be a good car. I have owned my 96 dodge avenger for 9 years now. Bought it with 56,000 miles on it and now have about 140,000. I have had no major problems with the motor, tranny, or wheel assembly other than the usual wear and tear. The car is a very reliable piece of machinery and I am sad to be letting mine go due to the 2 door not being condusive to a new baby. The only other drawback to it is it sits very low to the ground. Gets hard on the back after a while."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

There's no other

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I,ve owned the vehicle for 5 years and I haven't spend a penny on it, very, very reliable car, i've got 215,000 miles on it and still running perfect yes, what's more common that you have to replace, oil, brakes and antifreeze, you will get a car for a while.................Thanks Avenger!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

All smiles

By on Friday, July 25, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"1999 ES purchased in 2003 and have to say it is a wonderful car. No complaints. Body style is very attractive. Enjoy the sporty feel of the road when driving. No road noise. Just normal regular maintenance costs have been incurred. Sound system is excellent, love the fact I can still listen to my Tapes from the 70's if I get tired of the CD's. Acceleration response is immediate, powerful, makes merging and getting up to speed a no brainier. Normal driving is 24 mpg. I've been looking to get a new car, but none have the performance, look, value of this one. So it's a keeper!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Decent car but....

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fast is about it. Big trunk."

Cons: "Rocker panels rust easy. Smokey headlights."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I like it but its made for a younger person obviously. Its very low to the ground but rusts in front of the back tires pretty bad. Handles well in the snow but its very long. Mine has the 2.5 liter with 24 valves so its not very good on gas in town. its is a faster car tho with the 4 speed auto which i think is probably the best transmission dodge makes. I was quite upset when i bought it from a dealership for 2500 its a 97 mind you. 150xxx about six thousand miles after i had to replace a wheel bearing and at 160xxx needed new brakes but its all in how you drive it. but now im not sure if its a balljoint going bad or a strut bushing going bad up front but it clacks. But all in all its a nice car and if you want one make sure you look around a bit."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good sports car.

By on Sunday, September 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "bette than the civic, good for racing."

Cons: "Bad on gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's a nice sports car to have, just like the eclips and prelude. It's gat a good take off and handles corners well."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Avenger near Honolulu. See local deals