Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1996 Dodge Avenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.6
Out of 10

Based on 145 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.2/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

Good sports car.

By on Sunday, September 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "bette than the civic, good for racing."

Cons: "Bad on gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's a nice sports car to have, just like the eclips and prelude. It's gat a good take off and handles corners well."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great car!

By on Friday, August 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good power and fun to drive"

Cons: "gets a little price to get fixed on the v6"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The v6 model is great! It handles well on corners and is able to real get up and go when punch the gas pedal. The power of the can be changed if you look around. Better plugs gives more power. Down side is that the tires will cost around 700 bucks w rated tires. But I love it with all the add ons put on it makes for a great car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

fair

By on Sunday, August 08, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Got this car new in '99. Right off the bat had the dealer rebuild transmission as it went out just about 1 year later. Have had minor problems with electrical system; automatic side mirror adjuster stopped working 8 month in, 6 years the drivers side door sensor stopped working so the interior lights don't go on, battery cables replaced 4 yrs in. Driver side door handle broke off 7 years in, cargo net hooks in trunk broke off 1.5 years in. Minor things but annoying. Have also had front end fixed 2 times for dealer recall problems. Car was garage kept for 6 years but paint on rear spoiler is coming off. Since I have put 106000+ miles on in 11 years, I suppose I got my money worth. Has a wide turning radius, handles like a bobsled in the snow and still manages to get me around in Chicago weather. My 6'2" husband hates to drive it but I wish I could afford to keep it longer, but I need something more reliable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

good car for the price

By on Wednesday, March 23, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"the only thing i see that the exhoust system is very expensive buy having 2 catalitic converters in it if you were to fix the entire system you looking at $ 2000 dollars"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good Looks, Good Value

By on Friday, March 18, 2011

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought a '98 Avenger ES with 40.000 miles in '03. I was drawn to the price and the style was more appealing than other mid-sized and small cars. I rate it average for quality after a few rough starts and consequently having the fuel pump replaced. A friend with a 1999 model had the same fault. The sway bars were recalled and covered by Dodge. The paint deteriorated beneath the external coat, so it looked blotchy on the roof but was smooth to touch and did not tarnish the metal. A basic level paint job from a national company made it look like new. Otherwise, I received compliments on the style, the ride, and the view. The slope of the windshield offers the front seat a good view up and lets in light. Road noise is comparable to other sport sedans or entry level cars. The back seat is roomy for a coupe - my friends over six foot have more knee room in the back than in the front with the low glove box. The ES sound system had a good amp, and I enjoyed the other ES options: sliding sunroof, spoiler, cruise control, and fog lamps. The trunk has adequate space. The suspension helps prevent roll, and handling in a few inches of snow was better than expected."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Avenger near Honolulu. See local deals