Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1996 Dodge Avenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.6
Out of 10

Based on 144 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.2/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

great car!

By on Friday, August 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good power and fun to drive"

Cons: "gets a little price to get fixed on the v6"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The v6 model is great! It handles well on corners and is able to real get up and go when punch the gas pedal. The power of the can be changed if you look around. Better plugs gives more power. Down side is that the tires will cost around 700 bucks w rated tires. But I love it with all the add ons put on it makes for a great car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

fair

By on Sunday, August 08, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Got this car new in '99. Right off the bat had the dealer rebuild transmission as it went out just about 1 year later. Have had minor problems with electrical system; automatic side mirror adjuster stopped working 8 month in, 6 years the drivers side door sensor stopped working so the interior lights don't go on, battery cables replaced 4 yrs in. Driver side door handle broke off 7 years in, cargo net hooks in trunk broke off 1.5 years in. Minor things but annoying. Have also had front end fixed 2 times for dealer recall problems. Car was garage kept for 6 years but paint on rear spoiler is coming off. Since I have put 106000+ miles on in 11 years, I suppose I got my money worth. Has a wide turning radius, handles like a bobsled in the snow and still manages to get me around in Chicago weather. My 6'2" husband hates to drive it but I wish I could afford to keep it longer, but I need something more reliable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

awesome ride quick and comfortable

By on Sunday, March 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,261

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, stlye,"

Cons: "no longer available as coupe"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"took over this vehicle from my wife. she received a crossover when children came into the picture. the vehicle has had no major issues, and still turns the tuners heads when I drive by. Vehicle is fast and descent on fuel economy. plan to drive until it gives up, or my son turns of age to modify. the 4 door avengers just dont match up to the coupe."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best first car for your kid

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "cheap sports car"

Cons: "not the best handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car i have ever drove! it is very reliable and the other thing that has ever went wrong is the heating and i fixed that for 100 dollars! great car i love it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

good car for the price

By on Wednesday, March 23, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"the only thing i see that the exhoust system is very expensive buy having 2 catalitic converters in it if you were to fix the entire system you looking at $ 2000 dollars"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Avenger near Honolulu. See local deals