Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2008 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.4
Out of 10

Based on 1308 Ratings for the 2001 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    7.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 262 | Next

Has been a great car for me and my family.

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Roomy, fun to drive, comfortable."

Cons: "Mileage could be better, turning radius not great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been exactly what I needed in style and performance for me and my disabled husband. Large rear opening hatch easy for wheel chair loading and unloading. Lots of head room and easy to get in and out. Great for kids, too. The car has been dependable with few repairs if you keep it maintained as suggested by manufacturer. Bought it new and plan to keep for as long as possible."

Very poor quality vehicle

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Poor quality

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Styling, interior space"

Cons: "Cheap parts, poor build quality, unreliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought this car used in 2010 with 37,000 miles on it for under 10k. Within a year I had the usual problems. Replaced a front wheel bearing in 2011. The passenger side tie rod broke in 2012 while on the highway. Replaced a bad front strut in 2013. Replaced a malfunctioning cam shaft sensor in 2014. I actually liked the styling and roominess of the interior. The car is made up of very cheap parts though. I just traded it in today on a 2015 Nissan Versa. I wish I had done my homework on the PT before buying it. You get what you pay for."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best Value for a Used Car

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value, good seating position, lots of cargo"

Cons: "so-so gas mileage, low MTBF on some components"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"By model year 2007, Chrysler had worked out most of the bugs, but plan on replacing the control arm bushings and engine mounts at around 40,000 miles -- this is not a quality problem, it is the result of Chrysler using a very soft rubber in their bushings. (Which have to be replaced on all cars sooner or later -- I had to replace them on my Toyota Camry at 74,000 miles). The base model is ok, but not much power, but the turbo is a blast to drive, like a mini SUV sports car combined. Too bad you probably wont be able to find one, as owners tend to hang onto them as they are such a fun and versatile car!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sooooo much wrong with it...

By on Friday, July 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Ummmmm.... the thermometer works?"

Cons: "Lousy mileage, turning radius & cargo area"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Turning radius of a battleship. Spare tire is stored outside of the car, in a basket bolted under the rear fender. It takes an expert to liberate it, and then you have to bolt the basket shut again to be able to drive. You don't get use of even half the cargo area unless you totally remove the rear seats. Out. Gone. Mileage is consistently 21 mpg. Local, highway, no difference. Even with 343,000 miles on it, my 1988 Mazda 626 got nearly 30 mpg."

This is a fun convertible to drive. Gas mileage???

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "seats could be more comfortable, gas mileage too."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"But come on it's a convertible. You drive one because you like the wind and sun. It's like a motorcycle only safer and you can stay dry when it rains. And no helmet hair!!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 262 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chrysler PT Cruiser near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details