Go

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 1404 Ratings for the 2001 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    7.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 281 | Next

2003 PT Nightmare was purchased in 08 still own

By on Tuesday, August 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "COOL LOOKING -"

Cons: "This was my PT Bruiser! And I got Bruised."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"When it first came out I wanted it badly, I am glad I waited to purchase this car, The first thing they had to replace was the Smog stuff that was under warranty, Then 3 months later I had to replace Air Conditioning metal hoses - A really bad design. cost over $600 to fix It still to this day keeps acting up. 2 years from purchasing and less than 100,000 miles the Transmission went out that was a $3600 charge and on top of that the Motor mounts broke $400 and since then I have replace a Cam sensor $100, Ignition sensor $100, Water pump Timing Belt $600.00, Air fan $150.00, Motor Fan assembly $650.00 - Totaling over $6200.00 in 4 years - I purchased for $5500 + traded my 1998 Dodge Caravan for it. Nice looking Car.. But A major LEMON when I bought it!!! They should use the body and put on a Toyota Prius drive train. I still own this car only because I have to much into it. and at least I know it's gonna work for a while. It should last me at least 100,000 mile.. The Transmission is under warranty."

57 people out of 57 found this review helpful

Just bought my 3rd Cruiser!

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, sit up higher, economical, unique!"

Cons: "It's a cruiser, not a bruiser"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Why did they stop making them? They don't look like every other vehicle on the road - they're unique. And maintenance has been a breeze; no surprises. A reliable vehicle that's fun to drive!"

20 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Makes a great second car.

By on Wednesday, April 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 272,400

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "A good value for the money. Heating system."

Cons: "A/C not at its peak."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Actually my wife's car (our second car) but I drive it often, and really enjoy the experience. Despite the high mileage, the interior is almost like new, and the exterior is very good. Still has a little zip to it; and the gas mleage is acceptable. No long trips with it; mostly short ones and in-town drives."

18 people out of 18 found this review helpful

This car is a sad excuse for quality!

By on Monday, October 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,500

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Drives fine."

Cons: "Worthless piece of junk."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We bought this car used for our daughter. It had 34,000 miles on it. Transmission began acting up (jerks when slowing down to approximately 25mph). Just lately, it has started dying on me while driving down the highway. I have to coast over to the side, turn the key off and restart. Sometimes it starts right back up and other times it will do nothing when you turn the key. It has to be turned several times to get it to start. I have googled these problems and this is a notorious problem with PT's (wish I had known before). People spend hundreds and more and the problem is never fixed. Chrysler warranty is not good if you are not the original owner. Needless to say I will never have another Chrysler product!!!!"

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

My most favorite car that I've ever owned!

By on Sunday, December 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The one car you will never want to give up."

Cons: "Could stand better gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2005 PT Cruiser used. I was the second owner, and I did not know at the time that the car had been wrecked. Must be why I got it at a good price! But it looked perfect, drove perfectly, and was in every way what I had hoped for--except that the gas mileage for such a small car isn't the best (17-18 mpg around town, 20-23 mpg on long trips). I am in my 60's, so I've owned a number of cars, but I love my PT Cruiser the best. It's easy to handle, quiet, comfortable, user friendly, and has the perfect amount of head room and storage space. It seems to have a true personality, purring along like a cat. In fact, I think the PT stands for "Putty Tat", so I call it my Putty Tat Cruiser. The brilliant electric blue color stands out in a crowd, and the paint job has stood up well to time and weather. The interior is black and cleans up well. At 10 years of age, my car barely uses oil, and has had very few issues. Normal maintenance, like oil changes, occasionally buying new tires, sometimes replacing a hose or belt, is all that my car has ever needed. I would highly recommend a PT Cruiser, but I warn you, you will fall in love. It will be hard to ever part with, even for a new car."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 281 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chrysler PT Cruiser near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement