Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Hybrid Cars Under $30,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Chevrolet Volt Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $31,591 - $32,787.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $34,995

Fair Purchase Price $32,069
Fair Market Range ($31,591 - $32,787)

Invoice $33,627
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 6.4 of 10

10/6.4

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 184 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 8 | Next

Exciting to drive everyday!

By on Saturday, January 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Incredible torque, dead quiet, unbelievable mpg."

Cons: "Poor rear visibility, rear leg room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have 7,300 miles on my Volt. I drive 24 miles round trip to work each day and plug it in at night. With the cold of Iowa winter now setting in, the gas motor runs from time to time, but still averaging 137 mpg. Two areas to improve upon, are rear visibility, and rear seat room. Otherwise, I have no regrets in trading my Prius on it."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

First Chevy after many years of Toyota.. Pleasantl

By on Thursday, June 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Incredible fuel efficiency, Super Quit, Solid feel"

Cons: "higher than expected depreciation, ex. that to chg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Pleasantly surprised... please excuse the grammar, as I just only have a moment to write this. at the quality of workmanship, quality of materials used, advanced design of the hybrid drive train. + I have over 10500 miles on only 47 gallons of gas used. +Super quiet +In Electric 'Sport mode' drives very similar to 3 series BMW. Lots of fun. +Interior Quality comparable to Lexus... This is an incredible value for the money. After getting a bad rap in the begining, I believe this will be a major hit. and price will eventualy go back up subsantialy for how truly advanced its design and quality are..."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love the car, wish the inside was little spacious

By on Saturday, April 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car to drive."

Cons: "Wish the resell value held up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's a little cramped for passengers in the back seat, leg and head space could be improved"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Saturday, June 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, economical"

Cons: "doesn't run as well when gas kicks in- but not bad"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just drive around town so mostly on electric miles. I have only bought gas once in 6 months!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun to drive

By on Sunday, March 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Has good aceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Like the LCD screen for speedometer. Fun to drive as good aceleration good braking. Like the fact that I don' t worry about gas prices."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Sunday, January 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, fun to own"

Cons: "4 seats biggest and only down fall"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is a drivers car. it handles like a sports car, yet easy to drive. I find the seats very comfortable, some find them too firm. The car is responsive and easy to handle. It has cool features of a high end car, yet is affordable. The price is a little high for most, but if you add the gas savings into the monthly payments, it worked out 52.00 better a month for me. I would recommend this car to the energy minded and the complete opposite minded, this is one car that anyone can agree with."

11 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Another Bad GM Product

By on Wednesday, October 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Problems are only the begining"

Cons: "Dont make the same mistake i did, stay clear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have owned this car for approx 14 months, during which it has been in the shop for electrical problems , since day one.I truly was hoping for something special and wanted to do my part. But lets face it, we were taken. I agree with the post that GM should recall and give a full refund on this car. And it really bothers me that they purchase the batteries from china.We not only subsidized the car but also the battery plant in Michigan, which by the way just filed for bankruptcy.Oh and by the way i was offered 16500.00 on trade, seems the dealer doesnt even want it."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I have ever owned!!!

By on Thursday, November 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "No gas most of the time, fun to drive, high tech"

Cons: "Only a 4 seater"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned a lot of vehicles but this car is by far the best car I have ever owned. It's unbelievable! I have 7,600 miles now and 7,200 miles was all on electric. If you drive less than 40 miles per day you won't use any gas. Even if you drive more than 40 miles and can charge for a while at home or work you won't use gas. It's fun to drive and VERY high tech!!! I get a $7,500 tax credit this year for purchasing it. I am seriously thinking about purchasing another one next year for my wife. Electric when you want it and gas when you need it."

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Take that big oil!

By on Saturday, January 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very little gas. Stylish, Comfortable"

Cons: "A little pricey Air Dam too low for speed bumps"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car. Very quiet. Easy to drive. Still getting used to the electronics as there are so many options. The regular controls for A/C heating and radio are pretty straight forward. The car is very well made and feels good to drive. The car is so quiet to drive. It accelerates well and is very comfortable."

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Volt for Sale

By on Tuesday, December 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,100

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Loosing range"

Cons: "Cant Sell"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I will agree with those that posted about the Volt being junk. Mine also started loosing range after only 3 months of use.I am currently trying to sell, have not even had 1 call. Dealer is offering 15900 on trade. Guess he doesnt want it either.I wish i would have read this site before i purchased. Since the sales are so low on this car, im sure its on its way out. Well at least when the stimulus runs out. Dont make the same mistake, or if you must please buy mine."

15 people out of 35 found this review helpful

I want this car!!!!!

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great looking, comfortable, reliable, good on gas."

Cons: "Only holds 4 people."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. Someone in my family owns this and I would love to get one too. They love it especially with the gas prices that we have now.... Love it and it is very comfortable car."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

12 days in the service department first 5100 miles

By on Friday, May 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,100

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Interior"

Cons: "Reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought a volt in October of 2013, and immediately it had a CEL for charging system coolant failure. 3 days later I get my car back after driving it only 1 day and was told I must have used the brakes too much. 5000 miles later it is back in the shop for another CEL for charging system coolant failure. 9 days later they replace a coolant pump for the charging system and hope they have it fixed. Who knows."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best car I have owned

By on Wednesday, November 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car, worth the price. Very well built."

Cons: "Rear Window wiper would be nice."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my volt since Sept 2011. In that time I have driven over 23000 km. It has plenty of power and handles like a sports car. I took it on a road trip last summer and averaged 42 mpg when burning gas. My road trip took me from Vancouver to prince Rupert then to valemont bc and back to vancouver. In total 2355 miles only 57 gallons of fuel. Since arriving back home, in July I have put on another 3500 miles and only used 4 gallons of fuel. At this rate I will not it again till january. The only maintenence I have done so far is rotate the tires. Even in the snow the volt handles great. I would buy another in a heart beat."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Technological marvel-best car I've ever owned

By on Wednesday, October 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: ""Extremely economical, exciting to drive!!""

Cons: ""No rear windshield wiper""

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a follow-up and correction to a review posted on Tuesday October 09, 2012. In the Cons entry I listed inadequate side sun visor. This was an incorrect entry. as I've just found that the Volt's sun visors extend out when moved to the side window for protection from the sun-still wish the Volt had a rear windshield wiper."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

most exciting vehicle i ever owned

By on Sunday, October 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "value, techology, great execution"

Cons: "visibility, too many buttons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Volt is an outstanding car which seems to be butchered by GM marketinng department, The vehicle drives well, is unique, uses almost no gas while maintaining the long distance capability. the car itself is a beauty with solid feel to it (when you close the door you get a bmw feel). acceleration is outstanding, especially at low speeds, braking is excellent but quirky. after i did my math on what it cost me (with some nice dealer discounts) - it actually makes economic sense to own one - if you plan to use volt primarily in electric mode."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

From an Acura TL to a Volt best car decision ever

By on Monday, October 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Design, Looks, Efficiency"

Cons: "No Stage 3 charging,onboard 3.3kw charger max"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We were driving a 2005 acura tl (66000 miles)with all the bells and whistles and traded that in for the Volt. It has saved us at least $200 a month in gas. My wife commutes about 8-20 miles a day. I have only used .1 gal of gas in 45 days of owning the car. The only thing I would like to see is a single charger 110v(stage 1) and 240v(stage 2) all in one. We can only charge at 3.3kw anyway this would be easy to do and not cost that much more. (Ask tesla). Please VOLT PEOPLE ASK FOR THE CAR TO ACCEPT STAGE 3 charging also. Thanks."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Wow!

By on Monday, October 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Chevrolet Volt it's actually better than an el"

Cons: "small back seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the car. Plug it in at night, fill the electric battery for 50 cents, then drive 40 miles to and from work on 50 cents of power. Smooth, quiet, comfortable. Bose radio sounds great. Built in navigation system is very good. Well built. Engineering marvel. If the car runs out of power, the built in gas powered electric generator kicks in and I just keep on trucking. Like all electric vehicles, when you stop at a light, if the gas generator is running, it turns off and you sit in complete silence. Good performance. It out performs any Prius in so many ways. Only short coming? Small back seats. But, for me, max I have is two front set occupants. And, the front leg room is great for someone like me at 6'2". And have you seen the top rating for crash protection? The best."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love this car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By on Wednesday, August 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Electric great for around town, looks cool, QUIET!"

Cons: "EV range, 40 MPG Hwy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is awesome for around town! I hardly ever use gas! If I want to go on a road trip, this car will it! (At around 40 Mpg). It has interior storage everywhere! Can't beat it!"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great ride - love the feel very nice wow factor

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Execllent ride and performance feel"

Cons: "High price may prevent becoming main stream"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great ride, rivals my Cadillac CTS for performance and luxury features. Must have the 240V charging station for reasonable turn around time for a complete charge. Perfect for Florida hot weather with the "pre start" feature, cools the car off prior to getting in but does not use your battery. Lots of wiz-bang stuff like the ON-Star functions to monitor and manage the charging remotely."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Everything I expected and more

By on Friday, January 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "I use very little gas"

Cons: "Only 4 seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Not using gas makes me happy. Not being limited to the battery range makes the car practical."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love my Volt

By on Thursday, January 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Performance, looks great, awesome mileage"

Cons: "Only 4 seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love driving my Volt. Performance, fit and finish are outstanding. I have a solar array on my roof so I'm driving on sunshine. Purchased in October and haven't been to a gas station yet. Best car I've ever owned."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Engineering, comfort and Quality..

By on Thursday, January 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quick, fun, Quality, cheap to run, techno"

Cons: "Remove the 7500 Tax rebate and lower price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Picked up my 2012 Volt in October this year after waiting 6 months for my order to be fulfilled. It replaced a Jeep SUV that I was averaging around 12.3 MPG to work. I couldn't be happier, I'm averaging around 650 MPG !! right now, I am able to go 18 Miles to work"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Trash-Garbage-What Junk

By on Monday, November 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "electrical problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"If your in the market for a new volt, get out running as fast as possible. I guarantee i wish i would have. I cant even get $16000.00 for mine. Didnt even come close to expected range from GM.And living in Michigan, during the cold snap we had, i couldnt even make the 22 mile trip on electric. Plus what electric costs up here i would have been better off to just buy a civic or prius. Plus the resale value would be so much better. I cant believe i fell for it, dont waste your money."

13 people out of 32 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever without a doubt

By on Wednesday, November 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,518

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Build quality-PREFORMANCE!-not buying gasoline."

Cons: "None GM got it right, big time."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my 2012 Volt for 16,518 miles. Absolutely zero problems with the car. Easily the best car I've ever owned. Love to blow the doors off 3 and 5 series BMWs from standing starts and anything else in the price range of a Volt. Did my best to try and use up the battery on a 20 degree day here in Colorado with hard driving-high speeds on the freeway and super heating the interior cabin and still got 25 mpge at worst. Summers average 40-45 mpge. What's not to like about 90 cents a gallon equivalent mpge in the summer? Experience with Japanese vehicles. Brand new 1984 Subaru Brat cracked oil line at 19,000 fixed under protest by dealer with factory warranty; burned oil after that until I unloaded it for a brand new 1986 Toyota turbo charged 4WD pick up. 52,000 miles turbo failure out of warranty; $1900 to fix a $9500 truck. Unloaded that one too. Brand new 1990 Honda Accord drivers side window motor replaced three times under warranty and unloaded by me within 2 years. So much for vaunted Japanese quality. Those of you complaining about your Volt drop me a line if you want to “unload” your car for $16,000 especially if it it a top of the line. Ross A1947nash@aol.com"

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Chevy hits a home run!

By on Monday, September 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "So many! Can't say enough!"

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I typically I drive 450 miles per week and use little or no gas. Sometimes charging for an hour during lunch, if I get a lunch, to help achieve gas free driving. I am on a real-time pricing plan in Illinois with standard utility company, and it rarely costs me more than 30 cents to get a full charge overnight! That gets me about 45 - 50 miles of warm weather driving. Compared to my outgoing car getting 29 MPG, this car will completely pay for itself in 12 years. How many cars can say that? The most I have gotten so far is 2700 miles on 7.4 gallons of gas. Driving conservatively, about 2 - 3 seconds behind semi trucks, I got 49 MPG on my last 400 mile trip (54 MPG if you include the electric portion) averaging 68 MPH. The car is a head turner and conversation starter. Many compliments on how nice it looks. The ride is amazing. All my teenage kids' friends love when I drive them in it. With 273 lb-ft of torque, the car accelerates well and does it peacefully. The trunk/hatch is a little small. I put a light-duty trailer hitch on the car and tow a light-weight trailer with two 50 gal plastic bins strapped down for all our gear. The car had NO trouble in the hills of West Virginia. Couldn't even tell there was a trailer back there."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 8 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.