Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Chevrolet Volt Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $31,621 - $32,633.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $34,995

Fair Purchase Price $32,044
Fair Market Range ($31,621 - $32,633)

Invoice $33,627
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 6.4 of 10

10/6.4

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 166 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 28 29 30 ... 34 | Next

Wonderful car

By on Sunday, July 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome drive. Cheap to run."

Cons: "Rear seat room limited. Backup camera quality low."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The electric car with gasoline backup concept intrigued me. I gave it a test drive and was hooked. Driving electric is addictive. Quiet and smooth and responsive. If you are at all interested, do yourself a favor and give it a test drive. I upgraded from a 2008 Prius. I liked the Prius, but I love my Volt. I am getting about 45 miles per charge and complete about 90% of my driving in electric. The gas engine gets about 40 mpg, which not as good as the Prius, is still better than most cars out there. I got a free 240 volt charger which was available where I live. It cost me a little over $17 in electricity for the month of July to go 553 miles and I used less than half a gallon of gasoline for what I couldn't do electric. The touch sensitive center stack takes a little getting used to and the backup camera is not the best quality, and the room in the rear seats is a little limited, but other than those minor issues, I have only good things to say about the Volt. People complain about the cost. It isn't the cheapest car, but after tax credits and factoring in savings on gas and maintenence, I find the car to be a great value. Prices will come down in the future as batteries get cheaper to manufacture."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best purchase decision in a long time.

By on Thursday, July 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "looks, technology, performance and economy"

Cons: "Could have more leg room for tall drivers."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded in a 400hp Jaguar convertible for my new Chevy Volt. The dealership I worked with was more a Corvette than Volt dealer and there were some strange looks sent my way based upon the trade vehicle. After a month with the Volt, I can say that I have absolutely no regrets and, the car has 100% lived up to the promise. My 2012 Volt has the Low Emissions package and so I am eligible for rebates and tax credits totaling $9K. In addition, I just received HOV lane stickers and am now able to save from minutes to hours per day in commute time driving. All that plus it is fun to drive and I'm averaging over 60mpg with less than 40% of my miles as EV miles. In Sport Mode the torque of this vehicle is nearly exhilarating and that comment is from someone former supercharged Jaguar owner. All I can say is this is nearly a perfect car for me. I'm 6'5" and the leg room is a little cramped for me but then, I'm used to that with all medium to smaller model cars. In terms of looks, technology, performance and economy the Volt is the car to beat. A friend bought a Prius Plug-in Hybrid just prior to my Volt purchase ... he is very jealous and "if he had a do-over he would have a Volt in his garage"."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Haven't been to a gas station in almost 2 months

By on Sunday, July 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,025

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Domestic energy, and in CA = 26% renewable"

Cons: "small glove cmptmt, low air dam, small sun visors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"-great handling -quiet, smooth acceleration -very good suspension -OnStar RemoteLink app very good for tracking data re: EV miles, total miles, lifetime and per charge MPG, charge time, battery life, oil life, gas remaining, tire pressure; good Turn-by-Turn navigation instructions sent directly to center console -comfortable seating; perforated leather is nice touch re: breathability -only used gas generator mode a few times, but still easily get 40 MPG in this mode; has quiet, smooth transition -good touchscreen LED center console display, allows touchscreen control for most console apps like climate -hatchback rear holds more than you'd imagine -plugging in to charge car at night is amazingly easy/convenient -installed 240V charge station in garage = <3 hr charge (rarely drive more than 30 miles/day) -keyless entry and engine start is great--no more digging keys out of purse/pocket -MyLink is convenient re: bluetooth streaming Pandora/Stitcher/iPod -XM satellite radio a plus but not necessary -owned 2 toyota corolla's and a honda cr-v before this, and Volt is much more fun and comfortable to drive; also more comfortable/quiet with better handling than spouse's nissan altima (whose brake/gas pedals are overly sensitive, leading to jerky driving)"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Some major design concerns with this car

By on Thursday, July 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 540

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "is pretty and sporty--see above for other comments"

Cons: "price is too high for what is being sold"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this car-because in the electric car world the volt is the only one that does well on long distance. The battery lists as having 38 miles when i get in the car. I drive with no air and no radio on. I do have to have my headlights-it is dark. This morning my battery showed a drop of 3 miles in less than 2 blocks of driving. I had expected that this would be alot better. There is no way I get anywhere close to the 38. The gas is better than a regular car. Here is my issue with the design- If the car comes with so many extras--why in the world isn't there a separate power source for the extras (radio, air conditioning, lights). Please realize that this car-on sale is 40000--and I expected way more payback. Also--don't let the sales person fool you--that 110 charge--that they said would work in 8 hours--read the owners manual--is actually 10 hours. I had to give comfort a 1-- I live in texas and I don't consider air conditioning an extra."

12 people out of 42 found this review helpful

Take that OPEC!!

By on Sunday, June 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,127

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Freedom from big oil"

Cons: "4 seats, low air dam"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So far 3127 miles on 10.7 gallons. Drives like a charm. Smooth and quite. I have solar. So now I drive for free. Enough for our family of 4 but that 5th seat is missed when grand parents visit."

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 28 29 30 ... 34 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.