Go

1998 Chevrolet Venture Cargo

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 584 Ratings for the 1997 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 117 | Next

Good, reliable minivan

By on Saturday, July 7, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good fuel mileage, lots of space inside"

Cons: "No keyless entry, CD player won't handle MP3's"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car used about 2 1/2 yrs ago with 48K miles. It's the LS entry-level model. Quite comfortable on long trips, and gets good fuel mileage, about 25mpg on trips, 21-22mpg during everyday use. I wish it had keyless entry, but this is the low $$ model, so no joy there! Very roomy, never seems to fill up when hauling "stuff". I'm pleased with the power train. The transmission always seems to be in the right gear for the conditions. Never burns oil, and the oil seems to stay really clean. Too bad it's not made anymore, it was replaced by the Uplander model the following year."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

My best friend.

By on Sunday, May 5, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have never gotten stranded in this vehicle. It also holds all 6 of my grandchildren in comfort. I can do yard sale drive bys with no problem either. And for the size, the gas mileage is decent. People still think it's a lot newer than it is because the style is so classy."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

2004 Venture

By on Sunday, May 25, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned my 04 Venture for a few years now and it has proven to be a reliable vehicle. Mine is loaded with leather seats and it drives just like a car. My only complaints are sometimes wind noise comes from the roof rack and there is a rattling sound from the rear of the van. Sometimes my rear brakes will "grab", but that's only if the van has sat up for awhile without being driven. For all of the people who have complained about the intake gasket problem, that was a problem on the 97-03 models only. The '04 and '05 models have better designed gaskets."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Disappointing

By on Saturday, January 19, 2008

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

"Bought my 2001 Warner Bros. Edition Venture new in Summer 2002. Had brake problems at about 20,000 miles. My mechanic was working on brakes as master cylinder was bad and found that the spindles were broken. After taking to Chevy dealer was told my mechanic must have broken them and it was now not covered under warranty. At about 55,000 miles had to have transmission replaced. Now at 75,00 miles had to have radiator and intake manifold gasket replaced. Van is very versatile with folding and removal individual bucket seats. Kids really enjoy the entertainment system(VCR). Too bad the vehicle was not more dependable."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Blown Head Gasket at 81,000

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"With only 81,000 miles on our van, we had to replace the oxygen sensor, fuel tank sensor, air conditioner compressor, thermostat, water pump, and eventually the head gasket. How disappointing!!! How come GM can make a pick-up truck that lasts 200,000 miles, but doesn't put the quality in its smaller vehicles that other manufacturers do? UGH!!!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 117 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Venture Cargo near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement