Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2012 Chevrolet Traverse

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 288 Ratings for the 2009 - 2016 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

I LOVE!!!!

By on Sunday, October 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wasn't that excited about test driving this thing since I really liked the Acadia and Explorer so much. But once I sat in it and drove it, it doesn't even compare. The kids have everything they need, I have all the upgrades that make all my running around (with 3 kids) so much easier. I commute 2 hrs 1 way to work and am happy to do it in this. I'm used to driving a small fast car or my silverado. This is a great in between!!!! There are two things I don't like... MPG (average for crossover and SUV) but still disapointed, and 2 is how hard it is to keep clean. I did the specia red colorjewel something... and its so hard to keep clean. But love the vbalue of the traverse. I was able to get all my features (BT, back up camera, gps, bucket seats, sun roofs, bose system, and more) all with out having to get leather seats. All other crossover/suv's made me get leather seats to get most of these features... I live in TX and did not want leather seats."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Starting to have some trouble at 68000 miles

By on Friday, January 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Cons: "NO arm rests standard or optionaler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"This has been a great vehicle - except for the fact I'm short and not too big. This means I can't reach either the door handle or center console for an arm rest while sitting in the seat. The car drives great and I like being up high. I've had timing chains, gas intake valve and now "1 spark plug, coil and intake gasket issue" as 1 "maintenance problem." Recalls on the first two but the last is a maintenance issue? So much for the 100,000 drive train warranty when I have 32,000 to go on the warranty."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I LOVE my Traverse....

By on Sunday, January 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lots of storage, drives great, perfect size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Love my Traverse

"Hands down the best vehicle. I've got a fully loaded LTZ and with two kids, I couldn't have picked a better family vehicle. It's just the right size. It towes a boat. I can put the third row seating down and pack the back full. I can throw a dvd in and keep the kids entertained. The driving is EXCELLENT. It has EVERYTHING I could possibly want in a vehicle, and it's got a 5 star crash rating. LOVE IT...LOVE IT...LOVE IT"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love my Traverse

GM could get it perfect with so little more!

By on Thursday, December 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "See review"

Cons: "See review"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Greats: handling, stable, silent, powerful, incredible ride for the size, exterior design, interior space, OnStar services, feels safe, good brakes, best priced 7-seater of its type (LS trim), overall best family vehicle we've had. OK's: gas mileage, interior overall ergonomics and interior finishing materials. Needs improvement: uncomfortable seats for long trips, second row mechanism to access third row seats is a bit awkward, seat belt receptacles on rear seats are rigid and stick up, making them uncomfortable and even painful (they dig into passenger's buttocks) for passengers of certain sizes. I have to warn new passengers to watch out for them, and ask only children or small individuals to seat in the middle positions."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Wonderful Vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this SUV Oct 2010. Room of a SUV and drives and handles like a car. I have a son who is 6 ft tall and he has more than enough leg room in the second and third rows. Great accelaration and very quiet ride. Love this car!!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Better than any full size SUV

By on Friday, January 29, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned a top of the line Ford EXP Eddie Bauer and I love my Traverse. It has the people room, comfort and a lot of cargo space for our 5 person family (with friends). The main criteria when we went looking for a new vehicle was not just seating capacity, but comfortable seating for my 15 yr old 5'10" and growing son. He fits behind his 6'1" mother with the seat all the way back. I also like the height of the vehicle. We only wanted a base model but with the towing package for my wave-runner. The "base model" have almost everything that I paid extra for in my EXP in 2002 brand new. I miss the powerseat for the passenger. The only annoying feature if the location of the reclining handle for the front passenger. I love that the 2nd seats (20/80) recline as well. Plus the mileage!!!!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Competitive Crossover

By on Saturday, December 26, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"comfortable, strong car overall, feels safe, good pick up and easy driving. The gas mileage performance is not as advertised, head rest is off kitler to the rest of the seat(s), but chevy say it is better for protection."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great ride

By on Thursday, July 09, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned this vehicle for 1 month. Checked out all the others. This one has not disappointed. The storage room is almost the same as the short bed pick up I traded in. Super deal with all the rebates. Ride could not get any better. The premium sound and XM radio are the best I have ever had. Can not comment on reliability, to short a time, but I have a corvette, a Impala and the Traverse, no problems. The pick-up I traded was a Silverado, no problems. My wife said it is the best we have had."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

leasing

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,858

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe. Comfortable. Quiet. Nice ride height. Smooth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"So far so good but then again it only has under 2000 miles on it. I've had it 2 months. I'm leasing this because I just get tired of a car at about 3 yrs time. I have a 16 yr old Lincoln Town Car for cruising and this Traverse for reliability. Made it's first more intense that usual winter with no problem in the snow and it's not 4 wheel drive either. Very comfortable to drive. Safe comfortable interior. Very quiet. Smooth. It does use some gas, but I knew that before I got it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've owned

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love the look inside and out."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My family and I are happy with the purchase. Fun, reliable, and can't wait for our first road trip in it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great family vehicle.

By on Thursday, November 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lost of space"

Cons: "17-18 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We got this in 2010. We have 2 kids. This was a great buy. Vehicle comfortly seats 4 adults or 2 adults and 3 kids, and that's not with the 3rd row up. Add that and two more kids fit ealy, not so much for adults. Cargo area is big, with 3rd seat down - not much with it up. Hanldes great as this is my 1st FWD. No mechanicle issues so far and at 89K miles. The only negative I think is the 17-18 mpg, wish it did better."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Superior in Comfort

By on Thursday, June 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,050

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet and comfortable ride."

Cons: "Need to increase mileage performance."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Of all the vehicles I have own, the Traverse has top them all in comfort, leg room, smooth ride, quietness and features. There is only one complaint which is miles per gallon. If or when Chevrolet decides to make a hybrid that increases the mileage, only then would the Traverse be the perfect crossover vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By on Sunday, April 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Has a lot of power. All wheel drive is nice."

Cons: "The rear end design is a bit different."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

This is when the car was still at the dealership. Love it!!!

"This vehicle is the best we've ever owned. Our Uplander was replaced by this work of art. Chevy definitely got it right this time. We love the features.Especially the heated mirrors. Also, the rear parking assist has helped me a lot. Our Traverse came with heated seats wich are great!!! THe all wheel drive is great since we get snow."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This is when the car was still at the dealership. Love it!!!

Great Price, fun to drive, lots of room.

By on Monday, April 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this truck for almost 4 years now. It still drives and handles great. There is lots of room and great for long road trips with the family. Gas millege is a big plus espically with the size and wieght of the truck. The only issue we had was the water pump went out on us but other than that not a single issue."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Wonderful vehicle

By on Monday, February 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "EVERYTHING"

Cons: "dash items, clock, temp, compass"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have always had 4WD and had to step down. I do love everything about the Traverse except maybe the dash items. I have all of the bells and whistels but the clock is inconvenient and too small when you have the navigation or radio info on. the compass is VERY difficult to see at a glance and only on when the nav is on. the outside temp is only where the driver can see it and only on a specific view of options. otherwise, AWESOME!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is agreat vehicle so far. The AWD pulls through the snow better than any vehicle I have owned. We had 10 inches of snow one morning and it just drove down the road without any wheel slippage."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

i bought my dream car without knowing

By on Friday, October 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's great for my kids and I! Have televisions in it so they can watch movies on long trips. It's a V6, which saves some on gasoline.(Great for driving to work, to a daycare, the grocery store, and even cross country) You can get bigger items because it has a 3rd row that folds down completely flat. Even the middle seats fold down completely flat and the front passenger seat as well. It's seriously an amazing car! I love it!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

We Love It

By on Wednesday, March 31, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Lots of room, and cool styling. Ample pickup. Headroom and legroom are excellent, and much cargo space, even behind 3rd seat. Feels sturdy and substantial, and handles well. Dash and controls could be laid out better and more user friendly, but OK. Bose stereo sounds good. Rear camera very helpful. Blind spot mirrors help visibility, which is somewhat compromised. Overall we are very pleased, and glad we bought American."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle

By on Saturday, July 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "What's not to love in this comfortable car."

Cons: "Seat cushions a bit stiff"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My model has the four captain seats. I can load up all the kids in carseats and teenagers and just go. I also have more room to carry cargo than most trucks (without kids that is). The seats are a bit stiff and could use a bit more padding. It is a pure joy on our many road trips and just across town. I highly recommend this suv over the bigger versions. They're just wasted of space in my opinion."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

its roomy 24mpg,comfortable

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: wife wants a mustang

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependability,room,comfort,fuel milage"

Cons: "price!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"it has served its purpose with dependability,comfort,and 24mpg.the grandkids enjoy watching their movies.the Bose system is great,its an attractive suv with more than enough power to do whatever you need,as a family vehicle.with remote start its nice to get in on those cold mornings with the heated seats and dual climate control.color is red jewel matallic with grey leather interior,with dual sunroofs."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Absolutely Love this SUV !!!!!!!

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "a complete joy to drive"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned other suv's but this is by far my FAVORITE!! Plenty big enough but totally maneuverable. Reminds me of the roominess of the large conversion vans I use to drive when my boys were small."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

THE TRANVERSE IS AND EXCELLENT FAMILY CAR.

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"THE ALL AROUND STYLE AND COMFORT. GREAT VACATION CAR WITH PLENTY ROOM FOR FAMILY AND LUGGAGE.HANDLES WELL IN THE WINTER/SNOW. RUNS SMOOTH ON THE HIGHWAY.I HAVE ALWAYS DRIVEN A AMERICAN CAR AND THIS MET MY EXPECTATIONS. ."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever owned

By on Wednesday, January 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive with the family"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love my traverse"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my Traverse

By on Wednesday, October 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "roomy"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We love our Traverse- fits 6 adults and 2 adults/5 kids comfortably! The side camera in camera is key to driving safely in traffic and the interior has held up wonderfully w/ 2 kids. The ONLY negative is gas mileage. We get about 16.7 miles per gallon, which isn't bad for a crossover though not easy on the wallet."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned!

By on Thursday, May 31, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: needed a lower payment

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The traverse got really good gas mileage for an suv. It was so roomy and comfortable inside and beautiful on the outside as well. It is the perfect family vehicle. There is plenty of room for everybody to fit comfortably, as well as plenty of room for everyone's stuff!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Traverse near Honolulu. See local deals