Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2005 Chevrolet Tahoe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 900 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 36 | Next

Great, safe vehicle. Room for seven passengers !

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Powerful and safe!"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A great family 4WD,with a full frame and cargo room. Plenty of power with a 5.3 Liter V8. I would certainly buy another Tahoe! This one only has 150,000 miles and going strong!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable, comfortable SUV

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 263,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great ride, power and reliability."

Cons: "Trans may be weak link."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned my Tahoe for ten years and have 260,000 miles on it! It has "Autoride" which adjusts suspension for rough or smooth roads. Very comfortable leather seats with great lumbar adjustments. Has been very reliable except the transmission which was replaced at 170,000 miles. (Not complaining I guess.) Had a front wheel bearing go at 200,000 and the fuel pump at 220,000 mi. New water pump at 250,000 and a driver's window regulator at the same time. Otherwise, just the usual maintenance. Has the original exhaust! Gets 18 mpg hiway, not bad considering what it is. Be sure to get the 5.3L V8, much better than the older 4.8L. Best vehicle I have ever owned."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love love love this car!

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Plenty of space for a family of 5 with friends too"

Cons: "Purchase price a bit high and gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my very first brand new car. My husband and I saved for a long time and purchased the car outright. It was a bit expensive but our children were at the age where they were starting up sports and outings with friends. We went back and forth about buying this or the suburban. Money was tight and the suburban was more, obviously, so we went with the Tahoe. I have had this car for 11 years. No huge problems just your basic maintenance. I would buy it again but I can't justify a bigger car anymore. Kids are all grown with their own cars now, but if I needed another full size I would not hesitate. Only dislikes are price and gas price when filling up."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Sunday, September 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Have always loved driving it!"

Cons: "Have to remove 3rd row seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new in 2001. Taken several trips across country. Minor repairs over years. With 6 grand kids I can take them all, even with car seats. Would definitely buy again"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

have absolutely loved this truck

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,555

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this has been the best truck that i have ever owned. have had no major problems of any kind. only minor repairs such as alternator replacement."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Exceptional ride,comfort,reliability

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is probably the most well designed Suv I've ever owned, I am a retired Chrysler Master Technician who ha s always driven Chevy trucks,the comfort,reliability,features,handling and appearance even after 12 years of normal service,brakes,tires,belts,t/stat/front wheel bearings,for a 110,000 mile vehicle has exceeded my expectations"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great for traveling, towing, families and pets

By on Saturday, August 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, fun to drive, spacious"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My only real complaint is gas mileage, but it's comparable to other SUVs and trucks. The Tahoe is super comfortable, easy to drive, handles turns and hills well, spacious, and has a convenient setup. I've traveled over half the U.S. with kids and pets, and we can even sleep in it comfortably. Awesome vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best car i ever owned

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, pleasure to drive."

Cons: "gas usage not that good but worth the extra cost."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought car new in '01. has given great service. best car to take a long trip with, comfort and handling. will hate to part with it when the time comes."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best SUV ever

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable ride. lots of power"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love this SUV. I have been all over the united states in this vehicle . We love going camping and traveling. I decided to get a compression test done on my car to see how the life of the engine was. I was told that it was still as good as new. 185 psi was new when i got it and i averaged 180 still today. I believe i can still get another couple hundred thousand out of it."

16 people out of 22 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I owned and sold this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives great, has lots of room. Just wonderful."

Cons: "I have no cons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the 2nd Tahoe I have owned. The first is a 2001 Tahoe LS, which we still drive and which has 280,000 miles on it. My oldest son and his wife borrowed it for a couple of years when they were in college, then my youngest son has driven it for the past 2 years. It is reliable and just great to drive. The 2005 is mine and it has been to and from Texas more times than I can count. I will never buy anything other than a Chevy Tahoe. They are hands down the best."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Original owner, great vehicle!

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Super clean"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2003 Chevy Tahoe LS original owner-non smoker.Excellent condition super clean in and out. 3rd row seating Rear Air Conditioning.New tires and brakes.Roof rack with soft carrier included.Great vehicle , A/C ice cold, All scheduled maintenance, All records, Excellent condition, Looks & drives great, Must see, No accidents, Non-smoker, One owner, Seats like new, Title in hand, Upgraded sound system, Very clean interior, Well maintained"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This is the best car we have ever owned

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Tahoe. I was surprised the value was so low, I consider it to be much higher. We have changed the oil in the car whenever it was needed (according to the "oil engine life" light) and had no problems at all just regular expected maintinence. I love my Tahoe!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

one of the best chevys ive owned i want another

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,627

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "goes anywhwer ive had it for 10 years"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my wife couldn't even get this beast stuck.fuel economy is not as bad as you would think for a 3 ton vehicle."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My Z71 Tahoe is the best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Safe. Great towing."

Cons: "Poor gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my only wish is that it would have a bench seat in the 2nd row instead of bucket sets and I would like it to be heated."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great all-around vehicle.

By on Sunday, June 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Roomy & fun to drive.Great sound system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have owned my Tahoe since it was new in 2004. I love the roominess and comfortable drive. Other than normal maintenance-oil changes, tire rotations, etc., I haven't had any problems with it. I like the large size and feel much safer driving the mountain roads where I live. I would recommend it."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

great vehicle, I am buying another Tahoe

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,495

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was not a Chevrolet fan until I bought this vehicle. This SUV has gone above and beyond for me.I just lost it to a NASTY hail storm. But I will buy another Tahoe."

One owner, kept in garage, new tires,

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Using kelly blue book and 4x4 fun to drive."

Cons: "Driver seat leather is worn on edge"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One owner that has never been in an accident. Kept up on oil changes and engine upkeep. Mostly highway miles. Car runs and looks immaculate for its age."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

I LOVE MY CAR, IT IS DEPENDABLE AND LOOKS GOOD

By on Saturday, June 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GOOD CAR"

Cons: "NO COMPLAINTS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"MY TAHOE STILL RUNS LIKE A TOP. VERY DEPENDABLE. THE STYLE STILL LOOKS GOOD. EVEN THOUGH IT'S A 2006 I PLAN TO KEEP IT FOR ANOTHER YEAR. IM AFRAID THE NEW ONES WILL NOT BE AS GOOD AS THIS ONE HAS BEEN."

Dependable, comfortable and solid

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "solid and safe on icy road conditions"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A dependable 4 wheel drive on Alaskan roads. Safe, comfortable and easy to handle and drive. Turning radius excellent. This has been an outstanding vehicle, and I have thoroughly loved driving it over the last 12 years. Very few expensive repairs done since purchasing in 2002. I love this car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Tahoe's Rock!!!

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was the first brand new car I ever bought and I would never have guessed that 10 years and 175,000 miles later it would be running like new. This car just goes and goes! It hauls great and drives like a small car, not a giant truck. I have over half of my miles in towing alone. BEST CAR EVER!!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

completely satisfied with this vehical

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "loved it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"drove 230000 miles and only had expected repairs and it still drives good. a lot of the miles were freeway miles. not car gas mileage but not bad for a 4 wheel drive truck"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

still runs great - dependable & comfortable

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very dependable & comfortable. Still runs great"

Cons: "3rd seat a bit heavy to remove"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No major issues, just regular maintenace. New brakes at 150000 miles. Tranny and motor still good. Seats are very comfortable - other cars give me back pain when driving, but not my Tahoe's cloth seats"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love my Tahoe!

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best vehicle for nothern MN winter driving!"

Cons: "Can't think of any!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've loved almost every second of ownership."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Truck was local pd K9 unit.

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive still has some stickers on it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Other that annoying "Sevice Air Bag" and "Tire Pressure monitors" there is nothing to complain about. The sevice air bag is because they removed the rear air bags and the tire pressure monitors have been removed. Plenty of power for a 4.8, it is not the pusuit package it is a 4x4 making it the PPV model."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable, versatile"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new in '02, never had a single major issue over 195000 miles; extremely dependable, roomy, still quiet after all these years, leather seats have worn well. But I have invested in careful maintenance, too. Cannot possibly say enough positive things about the vehicle. I've owned a lot of new cars in my 70 years, none (including 7-series BMWs) have been more dependable, more versatile, more comfortable than this baby."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 36 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Tahoe near Honolulu. See local deals