Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2004 Chevrolet Tahoe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 871 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next

Reliable and Good Companion

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 327,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great utility vehicle"

Cons: "None except I kept it too long"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"With 327,000 miles on this car you would think the transmission and engine would be a major problem. Only problem is my engine is burning coolant so once in a while I have to top off. Transmission is not slipping but there is slight drip in the seal so I have to add a quart of oil once a month. The radiator lasted until over 200,000 miles and also my rear end-one bearing popped so the rear was replaced. Hope my new 2015 will be as reliable or better."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ride,handling,"

Cons: "milage 16-17 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"can not complain, truck turns on a dime, rolls down the road with ease,coast forever it seems,has good power and it shifts like it did when I had 40,000 miles now it has 197,000, I work at a gmc dealership and we see these unit come in with 350-400,000 miles, I far as I can see they are defective, they won't to give fail. hard to sell someone a replacement when they last so long"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

car is in goog condition, minor touch-ups needed.

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 232,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good all-season car, roomy"

Cons: "ok gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Tahoe, it drives smooth and it's good for long trips. Not really that bad on gas mileage. Not the best sound system. All power windows,lock, sun-roof. A/C cold. Tires good condition. 3 row seats, 2nd and 3rd row can fold down."

Fabulous car.

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car for the comfort. Nothing has changed there. Interior has held up very well. I did replace one section of drivers seat with new leather. Section just wore out with all the sliding in and out of car. I take terrific care of this car. The engine is completely reviewed, cleaned and any worn parts, which have been very few, are replaced with factory parts every year before we hit the road for FL. It acts like a brand new car! Bought new tires all around two yrs ago. Plan to keep this car until they perfect an electric one. When we do buy a new car, it will be another Tahoe. My husband has a 2000 Silverado. All of the above can be written about that truck. We love the comfort, dependability and value of Chevrolet!"

Love it

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. It has been soooo reliable through soccer games, football games and heavy snow."

Best Bang for the buck

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all good"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am 69 years of age and have had a lot of cars in my life time . This Tahoe is my baby ( next to my wife) it had been extremely good to us for 10 years with 130,000 miles traveling around the U.S. with our family . never given any major problems , all i did was take good care of it regular maintenance Tires, brakes ,battery ,oil changes and a few minor issues . Love the body style and comfort . No complaints . I love my Tahoe Was involved in a hit and run the car saved us all inside (6 family members )its a long story how i wound up on the divider but its all good ."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I WOULD BUY IT AGAIN

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "DEPENDABLE, COMFORTABLE, SAFE"

Cons: "SPARE TIRE LOST DUE TO RUSTED HOIST"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE NEW OVER 13 YEARS AGO AND WOULD DEFINATELY BUY IT AGAIN! IT IS THE PERFECT SIZE FOR OUR CAMPING GEAR, ANIMALS & ROAD TRIPS. VERY COMFORTABLE AND DEPENDABLE. MINIMAL REPAIRS, NEVER LEFT STRANDED, GETS THROUGH ALL THE SNOW EASILY AND ALWAYS PASSES EMMISSIONS."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best vehicle/snow and icy roads. Very clean

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great highway travel,Safe, Large luggage capaci"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"New transmission at 100,000 miles. Water pump and all connections at 128,000. No accidents. Not used for off road. All service receipts. Always garaged. Excellent condition. Blue Tooth radio and new front speakers."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

330,000 miles and still running strong.

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 330,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"330,000 miles and still running strong. 260,000 miles on the original brakes. The only caveat; had to replace the transmission at 125,000 miles and again at 320,000 miles. Both the replacement tranny's were rebuilt from mfg'er seconds. My dad was a Chrysler guy, but can't deny the durability of Chevy. If all Chevy's perform like this, I'm a convert. I'll probably pass this Tahoe on to my son and buy another one."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great family vehicle overall

By on Friday, January 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, versatile, and low ownership cost."

Cons: "Interior not robust. unreliable/expensive autoride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned this car since it was new. Soon, it will have 200,000 basically trouble free miles. Maintenance is a lot cheaper than our 4Runner or our Pilot. We have had only minor mechanical issues over the years. The truck gets acceptable fuel economy in town and on the highway. Our only complaint would be the leather seats, air suspension, and the Onstar. We have kept this vehicle longer than any of our other vehicles. It started its life as a family vehicle, then a commuter, and now we operate our business out of it. It has always performed very well doing anything we need it to do. The cost of ownership of the Tahoe has been very low compared to our other vehicles. We are currently looking to replace our Pilot, we will be returning to the Tahoe platform."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

BEST SO FAR!!

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"never been a van person. love that I can fir my 3 kids in here and go! 3rd row option fits kids friends as well. dual heated seats excellent for winter!!! 2nd owner and I've had it for 4 years and its STILL the most reliable vehicle I've ever owned. there isn't a bad thing I can say about this vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

So happy we purchased a Tahoe in 2005!

By on Monday, January 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Tahoe is a terrific family vehicle. It has served so well all our needs including children's activities as youth to College Ski trip last month. It has taken us from San Diego to Boston and would be trusted to go again. Only issue in the 10 years has been the actuator in the dash for heat/cool."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Will never drive small again!

By on Wednesday, January 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, roomy, sleek, easy to drive"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love my 2004 Tahoe. We bought used with approximately 103000 miles. The ride is great - smooth and comfortable. I love how high it sits too, I feel like I am in perfect control. The truck's got some giddy up on it too! Very easy to maneuver. The third row is great for extra room. I would like the 3rd row to fold down into the truck, but there is lots of space so I can't complain too much. Overall this is a reliable truck. Great family car! My son loves riding in it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

my go to vehicle i like to drive

By on Friday, January 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great running motor, reliable"

Cons: "interior materials a bit on the cheap side"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"a great running family rig, safe and dependable with 4 wheel capabilities"

Must have vehicle

By on Wednesday, January 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,012

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks great and the perfect size"

Cons: "4wd has issues every 2 years."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I actually purchased my 2006 Tahoe z71 brand new. The Tahoe has been a great vehicle with the exception of the 4wd. It seems like every 2 years the Service 4wd drive comes on the dash board. I have only used the 4wd maybe 5 times total. I take it to the dealer and they replace the switch and the encoder motor every time for a price tag of over $1,000 each time. From what the dealer says, this happens to a lot of the GM 4wd vehicles. Other than that, the truck is great. Its the perfect size and gets "ok" mileage for a truck its size. I do feel that the price of the Tahoe is a bit extreme for the average middle class family. I was waiting for the 2015 Tahoe to trade in, but after seeing what it looks like I will probably keep the 2006 that I have or look else where."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

A very capable winter and off-road family rig

By on Tuesday, December 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort, Space, Winter Driving, Towing"

Cons: "Gas Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought our Tahoe used with 120K miles and well documented maintenance. This thing has been bullet proof for the last two years and 30K miles. Other than routine maintenance, has needed nothing. I would not hesitate to take the Tahoe cross country tonight! Incredible in the snow and ice (w/ siped all terrain tires). Last Christmas we went to Lake Tahoe. The first night we got 4 feet of snow and we drove right up hills many others could not make it up."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Terrific car. Handles well. Good ride.

By on Saturday, November 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Plenty of charging areas."

Cons: "Expensive repairs. Poor gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Good car. Reliable and has great features....heated seats, Bose stereo. Leather seating very comfortable and it doesn't give you a truck ride. More like a car. Plenty of power and lots of room, front and rear. Really love this car. Lots of storage and space for hauling things. Cons---Some things did go wrong, for example, heater and AC actuators and instrument cluster. Both expensive repairs. Poor gas mileage....averaging 15.4mpg using regular."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

A very reliable workhorse of a machine.

By on Thursday, November 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent vehicle, comfortable, reliable, durable"

Cons: "Could be more economical."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Purchased second hand and has been working hard for over 8 years continuous service. Relatively easy to service. Parts are quite available and reasonably priced. This machine has had no issues to speak of other than regular maintenance. It pulls my trailer with ease. The short wheelbase is normally convenient but tricky when pulling. This machine has been very reliable and I will hate to see it go in the future. I'm not convinced the newer versions are any better but they're much more expensive."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Friday, October 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The look,comfort,room."

Cons: "As with these models a little rust on the bumper."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've always have liked this body style so when I had the opportunity to get this I jumped at it. I love the room,the size and the look of this vehicle. It is a big heavy truck and rides like one so if you're looking for a sporty feel it's not for you. So far no issues with it. Has 118k."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best family vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very fun to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own this 2003 tahoe. Love this vehicle. Great for the family, vacations,and comfort. Never had no mechanical problems with it. It's 10 years old. And still a good car. Hope I have as good of a experience with my 2014 Tahoe."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

love my tahoe

By on Sunday, October 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lots of room. lots of power."

Cons: "none!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love everything about. just wished i would have bought one in 4x4 . love taking it on vacation."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this car!!

By on Thursday, October 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lots of power, love the sound of a chevy engine"

Cons: "Has its mechanical problems from time to time"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Great car, pulls just about anything ive put behind it, pulled a 9,000 lbs loader and it handled like a dream, she does have her mechanical issues but then again what car you put to work doesnt. Would recommend to anyone, if you take care of it then you will not be disappointed."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent SUV! My next new vehicle will be.......

By on Thursday, October 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 249,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Runs smoothly"

Cons: "Small tear in side of leather seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My next new vehicle will be a Chevy Tahoe. I never had a problem with this car and kept record of consistant, periodic maintenance. I have had this car since brand new and still runs perfectly smooth. I love this car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Absolutely love it!

By on Thursday, October 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 222,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, great amenities"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my Tahoe for about 4 years now & it has been a great vehicle. Comfortable for trips & very comfy. I highly recommend the Tahoe. Great SUV."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

We LOVE our 2001 Chevy Tahoe !

By on Monday, September 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 274,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Always reliable & great family vehicle"

Cons: "Gas mileage & motors in windows went out after 7yr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I think this is the best year that Chevy made Tahoes & we are saddened that we will have to let her go. The only reason why we have to is because our children have grown older & are now driving themselves(she is too much vehicle for us to be commuting in). I would recommend her to anyone who is looking to haul kids (for soccer etc.),tow trailers, needs a vehicle with a V8 engine & some muscle, & is perfect to go to the snow or even the beach in. Our Chevy Tahoe has taken great care of our family and has been worth the money. She has great torque & doesn't really lag going up hills/grades."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Tahoe near Honolulu. See local deals