Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2004 Chevrolet Tahoe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 906 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 91 | Next

Great Family vehicle, towing package.

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,806

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice vehicle, very clean."

Cons: "8cyl. Uses, lots of fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very Nice Used Vehicle."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

A Quality, Useful, and Comfortable SUV

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Reliability, Usefulness, Strong"

Cons: "Poor Mileage, Too big for me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have owned this car for two years, and my mother owned it for 6 before me. I love this car! The gas mileage is terrible, its hard to park, and Ive never needed so much space; but it's very comfortable and a very strong car. Very little problems."

Great vehicle however some repairs

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Like to drive"

Cons: "transmission, transfer case if magnesium"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Nice Ride!

"I am second owner and have had since 20,000 miles. Had to replaced transmission at 87,000 miles, had to replace heaters in front seat at 95,000 miles. Replaced transfer case 103,000 miles (original transfer case is made out of magnesium and a hole was created by parts rubbing inside transfer case), replaced case with aluminum case and also had to replace clutches in transfer case and a few other parts to make like new. I always kept garaged and changed oil every 3000 and transmission and all other gear oil every 35,000 miles. Never off road 4 wheeling. Have 103700 miles on vehicle now. I had the transmission and transfer case rebuilt by independent transmission shop (Franks Transmissions Boise, Idaho)"

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Nice Ride!

Best vehicle I have ever bought!

By on Thursday, October 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've never had one thing break or need replacing due to the vehicle fault."

One of a Kind

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 343,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great car"

Cons: "kept it too long"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"343,000+ miles with no slippage of the original transmission, original engine-no valve job or any other work. Hint-use synthetic oil and change every 5,000 miles. Change fluids every 50,000 miles in rear diferencial and transmission. Every 2 years coolant in radiator. I got over 220,000 miles on the radiator and never had to work on the a/c or replace it. Not so good-abs went out a few times, had to replace door openers in 2 doors (normal) for these many miles. Replaced rear end-bearing popped out after 220,000 miles+-. Not bad."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best truck to own

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Tahoe. It has been in my family since we cought in new in 2004 and it has never needed any mantanince (Besides brake pads and oil of course). About 3-4 times a year strangers will offer to buy my car. It is nice looking and is reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great, safe vehicle. Room for seven passengers !

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Powerful and safe!"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A great family 4WD,with a full frame and cargo room. Plenty of power with a 5.3 Liter V8. I would certainly buy another Tahoe! This one only has 150,000 miles and going strong!"

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Very reliable, comfortable SUV

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 263,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great ride, power and reliability."

Cons: "Trans may be weak link."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned my Tahoe for ten years and have 260,000 miles on it! It has "Autoride" which adjusts suspension for rough or smooth roads. Very comfortable leather seats with great lumbar adjustments. Has been very reliable except the transmission which was replaced at 170,000 miles. (Not complaining I guess.) Had a front wheel bearing go at 200,000 and the fuel pump at 220,000 mi. New water pump at 250,000 and a driver's window regulator at the same time. Otherwise, just the usual maintenance. Has the original exhaust! Gets 18 mpg hiway, not bad considering what it is. Be sure to get the 5.3L V8, much better than the older 4.8L. Best vehicle I have ever owned."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Love love love this car!

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Plenty of space for a family of 5 with friends too"

Cons: "Purchase price a bit high and gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my very first brand new car. My husband and I saved for a long time and purchased the car outright. It was a bit expensive but our children were at the age where they were starting up sports and outings with friends. We went back and forth about buying this or the suburban. Money was tight and the suburban was more, obviously, so we went with the Tahoe. I have had this car for 11 years. No huge problems just your basic maintenance. I would buy it again but I can't justify a bigger car anymore. Kids are all grown with their own cars now, but if I needed another full size I would not hesitate. Only dislikes are price and gas price when filling up."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Sunday, September 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Have always loved driving it!"

Cons: "Have to remove 3rd row seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new in 2001. Taken several trips across country. Minor repairs over years. With 6 grand kids I can take them all, even with car seats. Would definitely buy again"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 91 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Tahoe near Honolulu. See local deals