Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 894 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 36 | Next

Great for traveling, towing, families and pets

By on Saturday, August 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, fun to drive, spacious"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My only real complaint is gas mileage, but it's comparable to other SUVs and trucks. The Tahoe is super comfortable, easy to drive, handles turns and hills well, spacious, and has a convenient setup. I've traveled over half the U.S. with kids and pets, and we can even sleep in it comfortably. Awesome vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best car i ever owned

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, pleasure to drive."

Cons: "gas usage not that good but worth the extra cost."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought car new in '01. has given great service. best car to take a long trip with, comfort and handling. will hate to part with it when the time comes."

Best SUV ever

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable ride. lots of power"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love this SUV. I have been all over the united states in this vehicle . We love going camping and traveling. I decided to get a compression test done on my car to see how the life of the engine was. I was told that it was still as good as new. 185 psi was new when i got it and i averaged 180 still today. I believe i can still get another couple hundred thousand out of it."

15 people out of 21 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I owned and sold this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives great, has lots of room. Just wonderful."

Cons: "I have no cons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the 2nd Tahoe I have owned. The first is a 2001 Tahoe LS, which we still drive and which has 280,000 miles on it. My oldest son and his wife borrowed it for a couple of years when they were in college, then my youngest son has driven it for the past 2 years. It is reliable and just great to drive. The 2005 is mine and it has been to and from Texas more times than I can count. I will never buy anything other than a Chevy Tahoe. They are hands down the best."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Original owner, great vehicle!

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Super clean"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2003 Chevy Tahoe LS original owner-non smoker.Excellent condition super clean in and out. 3rd row seating Rear Air Conditioning.New tires and brakes.Roof rack with soft carrier included.Great vehicle , A/C ice cold, All scheduled maintenance, All records, Excellent condition, Looks & drives great, Must see, No accidents, Non-smoker, One owner, Seats like new, Title in hand, Upgraded sound system, Very clean interior, Well maintained"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This is the best car we have ever owned

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Tahoe. I was surprised the value was so low, I consider it to be much higher. We have changed the oil in the car whenever it was needed (according to the "oil engine life" light) and had no problems at all just regular expected maintinence. I love my Tahoe!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

one of the best chevys ive owned i want another

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,627

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "goes anywhwer ive had it for 10 years"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my wife couldn't even get this beast stuck.fuel economy is not as bad as you would think for a 3 ton vehicle."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My Z71 Tahoe is the best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Safe. Great towing."

Cons: "Poor gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my only wish is that it would have a bench seat in the 2nd row instead of bucket sets and I would like it to be heated."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great all-around vehicle.

By on Sunday, June 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Roomy & fun to drive.Great sound system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have owned my Tahoe since it was new in 2004. I love the roominess and comfortable drive. Other than normal maintenance-oil changes, tire rotations, etc., I haven't had any problems with it. I like the large size and feel much safer driving the mountain roads where I live. I would recommend it."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

great vehicle, I am buying another Tahoe

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,495

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was not a Chevrolet fan until I bought this vehicle. This SUV has gone above and beyond for me.I just lost it to a NASTY hail storm. But I will buy another Tahoe."

One owner, kept in garage, new tires,

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Using kelly blue book and 4x4 fun to drive."

Cons: "Driver seat leather is worn on edge"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One owner that has never been in an accident. Kept up on oil changes and engine upkeep. Mostly highway miles. Car runs and looks immaculate for its age."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

I LOVE MY CAR, IT IS DEPENDABLE AND LOOKS GOOD

By on Saturday, June 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GOOD CAR"

Cons: "NO COMPLAINTS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"MY TAHOE STILL RUNS LIKE A TOP. VERY DEPENDABLE. THE STYLE STILL LOOKS GOOD. EVEN THOUGH IT'S A 2006 I PLAN TO KEEP IT FOR ANOTHER YEAR. IM AFRAID THE NEW ONES WILL NOT BE AS GOOD AS THIS ONE HAS BEEN."

Dependable, comfortable and solid

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "solid and safe on icy road conditions"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A dependable 4 wheel drive on Alaskan roads. Safe, comfortable and easy to handle and drive. Turning radius excellent. This has been an outstanding vehicle, and I have thoroughly loved driving it over the last 12 years. Very few expensive repairs done since purchasing in 2002. I love this car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Tahoe's Rock!!!

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was the first brand new car I ever bought and I would never have guessed that 10 years and 175,000 miles later it would be running like new. This car just goes and goes! It hauls great and drives like a small car, not a giant truck. I have over half of my miles in towing alone. BEST CAR EVER!!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

completely satisfied with this vehical

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "loved it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"drove 230000 miles and only had expected repairs and it still drives good. a lot of the miles were freeway miles. not car gas mileage but not bad for a 4 wheel drive truck"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

still runs great - dependable & comfortable

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very dependable & comfortable. Still runs great"

Cons: "3rd seat a bit heavy to remove"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No major issues, just regular maintenace. New brakes at 150000 miles. Tranny and motor still good. Seats are very comfortable - other cars give me back pain when driving, but not my Tahoe's cloth seats"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love my Tahoe!

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best vehicle for nothern MN winter driving!"

Cons: "Can't think of any!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've loved almost every second of ownership."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Truck was local pd K9 unit.

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive still has some stickers on it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Other that annoying "Sevice Air Bag" and "Tire Pressure monitors" there is nothing to complain about. The sevice air bag is because they removed the rear air bags and the tire pressure monitors have been removed. Plenty of power for a 4.8, it is not the pusuit package it is a 4x4 making it the PPV model."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable, versatile"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new in '02, never had a single major issue over 195000 miles; extremely dependable, roomy, still quiet after all these years, leather seats have worn well. But I have invested in careful maintenance, too. Cannot possibly say enough positive things about the vehicle. I've owned a lot of new cars in my 70 years, none (including 7-series BMWs) have been more dependable, more versatile, more comfortable than this baby."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Thoroughly dependable work horse

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"With 3rd row seating we could take the whole family on outings in one vehicle ( lots of fun). Tow package meant that no load would phase it.Replaced struts after about 100,000 miles. Gas mileage is still comparable to current SUVs."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very nice vehicle.

By on Friday, April 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Extremely fun to drive. Will go almost anywhere."

Cons: "Reliability, got ext warr-life saver."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This SUV was driven for school activities for my kid by my wife, a volley ball coach. It seats 7 comfortably. It is definitely female friendly. With limited slip this 4X4 is unstoppable, even with the stock tires. Its been in the sand, 4 to 7 inches of mud and up to 8 inches of snow with no problem. The selection is 2WD, Auto,4 Hi, 4 Lo. Auto is great for heavy rain on the freeway. It is low enough to be stable at speed and high enough to clear up to 7 inch rocks on dirt roads. It feels like a tank off road. The 5.3L engine is very smooth and powerful. It pulls this 6000 lb SUV around like a sports car. With the friendly suspension settings this power train can get you in trouble, even with 190K miles on the OD. Major engine issues that extended warr covered. Overall best GM product I've ever owned as far as fit and finish but for a $43K SUV ext warr is a must. Great bug out vehicle. I love this 4X4."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Like a Member of the Fam!

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "drove like a car"

Cons: "it was a bit of a challenge to park in tight space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We loved our Tahoe and owned it for 10 years. It never gave us any major trouble. We did have some loosening of the steering wheel but that was easily fixed. A hole in the hose for the windshield fluid appeared after a big storm. But other than that, it was like a member of the family."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Most reliable vehicle I have ever owned

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 352,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable and bullet proof."

Cons: "MPG. We average about 16 city and 20 highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Original 5.3 liter and original drivetrain. Never misses a beat. Finally after 300k had to replace the tie rod ends and ball joints on the front end. Other than tires and brakes, no major repairs. Still runs like a Swiss watch."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Reliable and Good Companion

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 327,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great utility vehicle"

Cons: "None except I kept it too long"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"With 327,000 miles on this car you would think the transmission and engine would be a major problem. Only problem is my engine is burning coolant so once in a while I have to top off. Transmission is not slipping but there is slight drip in the seal so I have to add a quart of oil once a month. The radiator lasted until over 200,000 miles and also my rear end-one bearing popped so the rear was replaced. Hope my new 2015 will be as reliable or better."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ride,handling,"

Cons: "milage 16-17 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"can not complain, truck turns on a dime, rolls down the road with ease,coast forever it seems,has good power and it shifts like it did when I had 40,000 miles now it has 197,000, I work at a gmc dealership and we see these unit come in with 350-400,000 miles, I far as I can see they are defective, they won't to give fail. hard to sell someone a replacement when they last so long"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 36 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Tahoe near Honolulu. See local deals