Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 915 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Best vehicle I have owned!

By on Thursday, January 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great ride, solid feel, reliable, easy to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great dependable and comfortable ride"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I have had this Tahoe over 10 years

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable ride and great in snow"

Cons: "city driving gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this has been a great truck 180000 miles still looks great the only problems I have had has been the usual maintenance items brakes,water pump, and 2 wheel bearings. I would buy it again."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Favorite Vehicle I've Ever Owned

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, roomy, excellent A/C, great for travel."

Cons: "Gas mileage could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2005 Tahoe is a great vehicle. It is roomy, comfortable, and easy to drive. The A/C is fantastic and includes rear air for passenger comfort. We have enjoyed our Tahoe as both a family/around town vehicle and for travel. There is lots of cargo room without the 3rd row seat, and with the 2nd row folded, plenty of room to move furniture and other large items. Maintenance has been routine with no major problems. The brake shop refuses to replace the pads because, at 100,00 miles, they are still good. We would really like for our Tahoe to last another 100,000 miles, and can only hope that the current year model at that time will be of the same quality."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Most comfortable, reliable vehicle I ever owned!

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Tahoe is 10 years old, has never been to the shop for any issues (normal scheduled maintenance). Only had electrical issues with heated from seats and gas gauge (after using really cheap gas). I love this vehicle and it still looks beautiful. Inside is roomy and the leather seats are in superb condition. If you take care of this vehicle, don't abuse it, do regular maintenance, this car should last you for a very long time."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

This is a very clean and reliable vehicle.,

By on Friday, January 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable to ride in on trips."

Cons: "Other than being 12 years old."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable, good looking. Dark charcoal in color. New tires and breaks."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

2nd best car I have ever owned

By on Thursday, December 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "My rating is all there is to say."

Cons: "See above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 1996 Tahoe was wrecked and I loved it so I got another one."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

One of the best vehicles I've owned

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable, great heater, fun road trip vehicle"

Cons: "Annoying buzz from On Star mic over drivers head."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this Tahoe, had a Ford and was unhappy, saw the Tahoe on a dealers lot, pulled in and bought it. After the test drive, I knew why you see so many on the road. GREAT vehicle and value."

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Bought it at 33K, great driving workhorse truck

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfort for everyone, good capacity, fair mileage,"

Cons: "fair mileage, ABS brake system."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Had it for ten years, used mostly for work and trips to PA. The only real problem has been the ABS brake system,replaced once at $2100, eats brake pads with a trailer. Engine is bulletproof and the truck is great on long distances. I'd buy another if the new grills didn't look so strange."

1 person out of 8 found this review helpful

this suv is dependable and versatile. i actually

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love it. the only reason i am giving it up is that i am handicapped and it is to difficult for me to get into. i am going to cry when it leaves my driveway!"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great Family vehicle, towing package.

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,806

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice vehicle, very clean."

Cons: "8cyl. Uses, lots of fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very Nice Used Vehicle."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

A Quality, Useful, and Comfortable SUV

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Reliability, Usefulness, Strong"

Cons: "Poor Mileage, Too big for me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have owned this car for two years, and my mother owned it for 6 before me. I love this car! The gas mileage is terrible, its hard to park, and Ive never needed so much space; but it's very comfortable and a very strong car. Very little problems."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great vehicle however some repairs

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Like to drive"

Cons: "transmission, transfer case if magnesium"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Nice Ride!

"I am second owner and have had since 20,000 miles. Had to replaced transmission at 87,000 miles, had to replace heaters in front seat at 95,000 miles. Replaced transfer case 103,000 miles (original transfer case is made out of magnesium and a hole was created by parts rubbing inside transfer case), replaced case with aluminum case and also had to replace clutches in transfer case and a few other parts to make like new. I always kept garaged and changed oil every 3000 and transmission and all other gear oil every 35,000 miles. Never off road 4 wheeling. Have 103700 miles on vehicle now. I had the transmission and transfer case rebuilt by independent transmission shop (Franks Transmissions Boise, Idaho)"

21 people out of 40 found this review helpful

Nice Ride!

Best vehicle I have ever bought!

By on Thursday, October 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've never had one thing break or need replacing due to the vehicle fault."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

One of a Kind

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 343,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great car"

Cons: "kept it too long"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"343,000+ miles with no slippage of the original transmission, original engine-no valve job or any other work. Hint-use synthetic oil and change every 5,000 miles. Change fluids every 50,000 miles in rear diferencial and transmission. Every 2 years coolant in radiator. I got over 220,000 miles on the radiator and never had to work on the a/c or replace it. Not so good-abs went out a few times, had to replace door openers in 2 doors (normal) for these many miles. Replaced rear end-bearing popped out after 220,000 miles+-. Not bad."

11 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Best truck to own

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Tahoe. It has been in my family since we cought in new in 2004 and it has never needed any mantanince (Besides brake pads and oil of course). About 3-4 times a year strangers will offer to buy my car. It is nice looking and is reliable."

12 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Great, safe vehicle. Room for seven passengers !

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Powerful and safe!"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A great family 4WD,with a full frame and cargo room. Plenty of power with a 5.3 Liter V8. I would certainly buy another Tahoe! This one only has 150,000 miles and going strong!"

9 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Very reliable, comfortable SUV

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 263,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great ride, power and reliability."

Cons: "Trans may be weak link."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned my Tahoe for ten years and have 260,000 miles on it! It has "Autoride" which adjusts suspension for rough or smooth roads. Very comfortable leather seats with great lumbar adjustments. Has been very reliable except the transmission which was replaced at 170,000 miles. (Not complaining I guess.) Had a front wheel bearing go at 200,000 and the fuel pump at 220,000 mi. New water pump at 250,000 and a driver's window regulator at the same time. Otherwise, just the usual maintenance. Has the original exhaust! Gets 18 mpg hiway, not bad considering what it is. Be sure to get the 5.3L V8, much better than the older 4.8L. Best vehicle I have ever owned."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Love love love this car!

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Plenty of space for a family of 5 with friends too"

Cons: "Purchase price a bit high and gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my very first brand new car. My husband and I saved for a long time and purchased the car outright. It was a bit expensive but our children were at the age where they were starting up sports and outings with friends. We went back and forth about buying this or the suburban. Money was tight and the suburban was more, obviously, so we went with the Tahoe. I have had this car for 11 years. No huge problems just your basic maintenance. I would buy it again but I can't justify a bigger car anymore. Kids are all grown with their own cars now, but if I needed another full size I would not hesitate. Only dislikes are price and gas price when filling up."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Sunday, September 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Have always loved driving it!"

Cons: "Have to remove 3rd row seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new in 2001. Taken several trips across country. Minor repairs over years. With 6 grand kids I can take them all, even with car seats. Would definitely buy again"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

have absolutely loved this truck

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,555

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this has been the best truck that i have ever owned. have had no major problems of any kind. only minor repairs such as alternator replacement."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Exceptional ride,comfort,reliability

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is probably the most well designed Suv I've ever owned, I am a retired Chrysler Master Technician who ha s always driven Chevy trucks,the comfort,reliability,features,handling and appearance even after 12 years of normal service,brakes,tires,belts,t/stat/front wheel bearings,for a 110,000 mile vehicle has exceeded my expectations"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great for traveling, towing, families and pets

By on Saturday, August 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, fun to drive, spacious"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My only real complaint is gas mileage, but it's comparable to other SUVs and trucks. The Tahoe is super comfortable, easy to drive, handles turns and hills well, spacious, and has a convenient setup. I've traveled over half the U.S. with kids and pets, and we can even sleep in it comfortably. Awesome vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best car i ever owned

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, pleasure to drive."

Cons: "gas usage not that good but worth the extra cost."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought car new in '01. has given great service. best car to take a long trip with, comfort and handling. will hate to part with it when the time comes."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best SUV ever

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable ride. lots of power"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love this SUV. I have been all over the united states in this vehicle . We love going camping and traveling. I decided to get a compression test done on my car to see how the life of the engine was. I was told that it was still as good as new. 185 psi was new when i got it and i averaged 180 still today. I believe i can still get another couple hundred thousand out of it."

18 people out of 24 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I owned and sold this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives great, has lots of room. Just wonderful."

Cons: "I have no cons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the 2nd Tahoe I have owned. The first is a 2001 Tahoe LS, which we still drive and which has 280,000 miles on it. My oldest son and his wife borrowed it for a couple of years when they were in college, then my youngest son has driven it for the past 2 years. It is reliable and just great to drive. The 2005 is mine and it has been to and from Texas more times than I can count. I will never buy anything other than a Chevy Tahoe. They are hands down the best."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Tahoe near Honolulu. See local deals