Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2001 Chevrolet Tahoe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 927 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 38 | Next

This is one fantastic vehicle and the best style.

By on Monday, March 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power, handling, fit, paint, A/C and heat, sound"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For a full sized SUV it is: amazingly quiet extremely comfortable an incredible handling car holds a ton of people (literally, seats 9) fantastic A/C and heating easy to drive tows big loads very well and the dog loves it!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Overall Reliable truck

By on Friday, February 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "regular gas, cheap oil changes,routine maintenance"

Cons: "gas guzzler, tall ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I had this from Dec 2003. Minor use as family vehicle from then till Dec 2009. Used only 60k miles (10k a yr) Since then have been using it as main transport. Seats 8 with 3rd row seats. LT with trailer package. 3 yrs ago sudden stalls and low power - spent 1k and change on changing the ABS, distributor etc etc, finally went to another dealer who just replaced the cables in the front for 500$ - no problems since then 2 yrs ago, the transmission went - fixed it for $1500 1 yr ago, the oil pan had to be replaced - Apparently the transmissionshop used a wrong screw of wrong size, so started leaks. $1500 6 months ago, the air ride suspension had to be changed 0 hole so ride a little bumpy in back. $2500 3 months ago, had to service the stability control - various sensors etc etc = 2500 more Total 1000+500+1500+1500+2500+2500 = 9500$ The tires have been changed twice so far = 800$ each time Various maintenance costs for routine stuff - still less than 16k overall in 11 years Total cost 48k +12 = 60k over 11 yrs = 2.5k per year Residual value about 5k = so 55k over 11 yrs = 5k per yr cost of ownership, excluding insurance and routine maintenance Adding insurance 1.5k per yr adn maintenance 500$ a yr = about 7k per year real cost of ownership or about 600$ a month; 20 a day for all included cost Pros - Oil changes cheap Runs on regular gas - save a bit, but gives 17 mpg overall - so it is a wash Runs very well in snow - recent NJ trip with storm - went on 6 in snow on highways - no issues Typical GM style buttons and layout, very easy to use while driving Handles well even in tight spaces Cons Gas guzzler - like all trucks took a bit of getting used to different driving style; now can't go back to a car. No rear camera then"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great utility, family,towing, driving car

By on Friday, February 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value compared to new"

Cons: "Poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Tahoe. We love this car. It turns in a short radius, runs smooth, goes through snow and poor weather, feels safe, has all the convinces of its time including auto ride and load leveling, towed boats and recreational toys with ease, great sound system. Don't want to sell but we are moving. Sad day when this beauty goes. Just put in a new windshield and new sharp wheels. Oh well. Great car, would buy another."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very comfortable, great riding,handling,well made

By on Friday, February 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 283,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "perfect driving machine,with the looks and power"

Cons: "sorry, but no ashtray(anywhere)must be time to qui"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I truly love this vehicle, I could not ask for a better,more reliable,Marty designed vehicle.A pleasure to drive,this truck rides and drives better than my BMW 528i,HONEST."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned

By on Thursday, February 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, good in winter, fun to drive, good price"

Cons: "Needs more cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my Tahoe three years ago. Had searched for one for almost a year. I am very happy with it. They are an excellent vehicle, very roomy, safe, good for long trips, very reliable, in the winter goes great. I would recommend these vehicles to everyone."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

GREAT VALUE

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Very fair condition based on year and mileage"

Cons: "Some minor issues with leaking, interior and A/C"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"As with any vehicle with 200K+ miles on it, this Tahoe has some minor issues with leakage, rear air and minor scratches. Unlike most vehicles with this many miles, it is in very fair condition. The interior has signs of wear and tear but it is not at all unsightly. Willing to sell at much less than low book (KBB) as I have another vehicle and just do not need this one."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love my Tahoe!

By on Friday, February 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, roomy, comfortable, work-horse"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has been my wheels for 9 years. I absolutely LOVE it. It's taken me through several snow storms, -30+ weather with blowing snow and white out conditions. I've hauled a ton of stuff inside the roomy wagon, as well as pulled heavy loads hundreds of miles. I've have the utmost confidence in my Tahoe! I've loved this vehicle from the moment I saw it at the dealership, and will most likely mourn it when it's time to say good-bye."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

really good reliable truck

By on Thursday, February 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "no third row seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I would recommend this truck to anyone looking for a mid size SUV!"

Love this vehicle!!

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Generally top notch."

Cons: "Instrument cluster issue."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Tahoe. Wish it got a little better mileage, but other than that it has been a great vehicle. Handles well, comfortable, versatile, fun to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love all the space (seats 9) and rides smooth

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Seats 9, easy to drive, very comfortable."

Cons: "It does not have the best gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle because of my teenagers. It allows a lot of leg room in the middle seat. Plenty of room all around. We usually have 8 people which includes 2 car seats and no one ever complains that there is not enough room. I have enjoyed being able to take trips out of town, the river, camping in the mountains or to the beach. The 4 wheel drive works well. I originally didn't think it would because it is a push button. I would recommend this to any person as a family friendly SUV."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best purchase and worth the money!

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Versital, roomy, dependable, tough, PAID FOR!"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I test drove a 2014 Cadillac SUV because I thought I wanted a new car. I got back in my old Tahoe and it drove as well or even better than the new Cadillac. I have decided to drive my Tahoe another year or so because it is paid for and still runs and drives like a champ! Even if I do purchase a new car, I will keep the Tahoe as my beach buggy."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

We have been truely Blessed with this truck

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 317,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, dependable, stable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this vehicle new in Oct 2000. So far mostly minor repairs and maintenance. Only major issue - ABS computer failed at 85K and was replaced only to fail again at 200K. Rear seal just started leaking 20K ago - first oil leak. Starting to see some rot on the rear liftgate, but otherwise the finish is good. I would highly recommend this truck to anyone."

Best vehicle I have owned!

By on Thursday, January 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great ride, solid feel, reliable, easy to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great dependable and comfortable ride"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I have had this Tahoe over 10 years

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable ride and great in snow"

Cons: "city driving gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this has been a great truck 180000 miles still looks great the only problems I have had has been the usual maintenance items brakes,water pump, and 2 wheel bearings. I would buy it again."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Favorite Vehicle I've Ever Owned

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, roomy, excellent A/C, great for travel."

Cons: "Gas mileage could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2005 Tahoe is a great vehicle. It is roomy, comfortable, and easy to drive. The A/C is fantastic and includes rear air for passenger comfort. We have enjoyed our Tahoe as both a family/around town vehicle and for travel. There is lots of cargo room without the 3rd row seat, and with the 2nd row folded, plenty of room to move furniture and other large items. Maintenance has been routine with no major problems. The brake shop refuses to replace the pads because, at 100,00 miles, they are still good. We would really like for our Tahoe to last another 100,000 miles, and can only hope that the current year model at that time will be of the same quality."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Most comfortable, reliable vehicle I ever owned!

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Tahoe is 10 years old, has never been to the shop for any issues (normal scheduled maintenance). Only had electrical issues with heated from seats and gas gauge (after using really cheap gas). I love this vehicle and it still looks beautiful. Inside is roomy and the leather seats are in superb condition. If you take care of this vehicle, don't abuse it, do regular maintenance, this car should last you for a very long time."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

This is a very clean and reliable vehicle.,

By on Friday, January 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable to ride in on trips."

Cons: "Other than being 12 years old."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable, good looking. Dark charcoal in color. New tires and breaks."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

2nd best car I have ever owned

By on Thursday, December 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "My rating is all there is to say."

Cons: "See above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 1996 Tahoe was wrecked and I loved it so I got another one."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

One of the best vehicles I've owned

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable, great heater, fun road trip vehicle"

Cons: "Annoying buzz from On Star mic over drivers head."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this Tahoe, had a Ford and was unhappy, saw the Tahoe on a dealers lot, pulled in and bought it. After the test drive, I knew why you see so many on the road. GREAT vehicle and value."

9 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Bought it at 33K, great driving workhorse truck

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfort for everyone, good capacity, fair mileage,"

Cons: "fair mileage, ABS brake system."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Had it for ten years, used mostly for work and trips to PA. The only real problem has been the ABS brake system,replaced once at $2100, eats brake pads with a trailer. Engine is bulletproof and the truck is great on long distances. I'd buy another if the new grills didn't look so strange."

1 person out of 10 found this review helpful

this suv is dependable and versatile. i actually

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love it. the only reason i am giving it up is that i am handicapped and it is to difficult for me to get into. i am going to cry when it leaves my driveway!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great Family vehicle, towing package.

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,806

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice vehicle, very clean."

Cons: "8cyl. Uses, lots of fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very Nice Used Vehicle."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

A Quality, Useful, and Comfortable SUV

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Reliability, Usefulness, Strong"

Cons: "Poor Mileage, Too big for me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have owned this car for two years, and my mother owned it for 6 before me. I love this car! The gas mileage is terrible, its hard to park, and Ive never needed so much space; but it's very comfortable and a very strong car. Very little problems."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great vehicle however some repairs

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Like to drive"

Cons: "transmission, transfer case if magnesium"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Nice Ride!

"I am second owner and have had since 20,000 miles. Had to replaced transmission at 87,000 miles, had to replace heaters in front seat at 95,000 miles. Replaced transfer case 103,000 miles (original transfer case is made out of magnesium and a hole was created by parts rubbing inside transfer case), replaced case with aluminum case and also had to replace clutches in transfer case and a few other parts to make like new. I always kept garaged and changed oil every 3000 and transmission and all other gear oil every 35,000 miles. Never off road 4 wheeling. Have 103700 miles on vehicle now. I had the transmission and transfer case rebuilt by independent transmission shop (Franks Transmissions Boise, Idaho)"

21 people out of 40 found this review helpful

Nice Ride!

Best vehicle I have ever bought!

By on Thursday, October 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've never had one thing break or need replacing due to the vehicle fault."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 38 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Tahoe near Honolulu. See local deals