Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1997 Chevrolet Tahoe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 404 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next

Best SUV ever!

By on Tuesday, April 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 247,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable and reliable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this Tahoe used in 2003, it had 120,000 miles on it at that time. The insurance agent for the dealership was its first owner. I was very skeptical about buying a vehicle with this many miles, but I knew the dealership in Minnesota and the price I paid for a fully loaded Tahoe, was unmatched here in Washington. This Tahoe has been very reliable, the maintenance has been kept up on it and to this day, the Tahoe still has its original exhaust system; the transmission and engine are in excellent running order; I'm truly amazed! It looks good too!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best rig I ever have driven

By on Friday, April 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great comfort, a pleasure to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Some vehicles are lemons...this 1995 Tahoe is a Peach!...a perfect peach! We have traveled over 300,000 road miles and it is still driving smooth and comfortable. A very good rig!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

It is a great suv

By on Friday, March 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 256,165

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"It runs smooth. handles nicely. Can fit all kinds of items in the back and passengers comfortably. It handles accidents pretty well, it does keep you safe when someone sideswipes you. Great view through the windows all around. Manny"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle,it's a TANK!

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive,rugged"

Cons: "Not very good on gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 99 Tahoe 4 yrs ago,few problems.It had 90000miles on it when I bought it.Did have an issue with the oxygen sensor,but didnt keep it from running.Ive heard it tends to be an issue with these-the light comes on just ignore it.A very sound vehicle with a strong Chevy truck motor.Yes,you don't get one for gas mileage,but it makes up for it by being a TANK-big(but not to big to be manageable)heavy,and Solid.A bunch of hood up front.I can testify to its toughness-I got clobbered by a car the other day.The car took the brunt of it for sure!about like hitting a brick wall!The Tahoe had surprisingly little damage,because of age and mileage totalled.Looking for another one!"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this truck

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable and nice to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One of the best vehicles I've owned. It was all original up to two years ago. Some how got a hole in the plastic side tank of the radiator, then last had to replace the fuel pump and now the water pump. Not bad for 16 years old and over 200k miles."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

VERY SAFE. Just saved my wife's life yesterday

By on Friday, December 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It will save your familys life."

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Gas mileage is not good but if you ever get in an accident this is the car you want protecting your family. Used it to go to work and back not high usage the last few years. It had 192,000 miles on it when it was totaled yesterday. We are looking for another one again."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

A few minor issues

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfortable ride"

Cons: "Terrible fuel economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I only bought this vehicle 2 months ago from a local "private" dealer. When I buy a used vehicle, I already go in knowing to expect some issues. So far, I've had to get a 4 wheel alignment done and the inspection of the vehicle found that the fuel gauge needs to be replaced (not the float), brake fluid and power steering fluids are dirty and need to be flushed and bled, and the rear drum brakes need a manual adjustment. Not so bad since I only paid $2600 for it. Fact is that I NEED something tall like this as I have a very bad back and getting in and out of a regular car is too difficult.This is perfect for that, and the seat heaters are nice to have as well. I used to own a 2005 Grand Prix and loved it, but it was just killing me getting in and out of it and long drives were murder on my back. While I know I have some things to fix here, for now, I can at least calculate my mileage using the proper methods, so I won't run out of fuel. UNFORTUNATELY, I find that I only get about 10mpg city and about 13mpg on the highway. Not great mileage,so I thank God that gas prices are at a major low right now. Only $2.69 in my area. Still, with a 30 Gal tank, you can figure how much it costs to drive. I really only use it for trips to the store or to take my daughter and her husband to work. Overall, a decent truck for the cost."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Sunday, December 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had since 2000 no problems still going. Great Vehical"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Have owned 8 of these in the last 40 years

By on Wednesday, December 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great solid vehicle"

Cons: "Not made in 2 doors since about 2000"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent value, for the price Kelley gives of just over $3100 I would buy 10 that are in the shape mine is in. The ones I have priced at that price were all run down, but you get what you pay for. I get 2-3 compliments every time I take it out as these are becoming rare to find in 2 doors in great shape. These are extremely reliable vehicles that are both useful, good looking and comfortable. Great for long hwy trips. Parts are readily available at good prices and the vehicle is easy to work on. I started with a new '73 Blazer and was very disappointed when GM quit the 2 door full size Blazers, Tahoes, Yukons and Jimmys."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great, extremely reliable truck.

By on Monday, November 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 268,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, dependable, easy to repair and maintain."

Cons: "Chugs gas :("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We bought this truck as a 3rd owner with around 111k miles on it. We only had one major mechanical failure (transmission went out at 186k miles), but got it repaired for a very good price. It has otherwise been a tremendously reliable, dependable, tough, long-lasting vehicle. It's been through numerous blizzards (up to 4 feet of snow), but handles it like a champ. I've never gotten stuck or felt like I would have to be concerned about not getting where I need to be (I work in a hospital and have to be there regardless of the weather). I've even had this truck in 3 feet of flood water (stupid idea, I know) and had no problems with it whatsoever. I will still haul trailers with it and use it as my daily driver. Barely consumes any oil at all, even with having 268k miles on it!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good SUV. G

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Had the engine overhauled 3 years ago. Transmission overhauled 4 months ago. A/C good, New battery. Runs smooth. Needs some cosmetic touches inside and out. Trailer Hitch. Leather. Good Truck"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best SUV

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 347,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable"

Cons: "not fuel friendly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck brand new in 1996 and have put many miles on it my wife drove it for the first 15 years and i just drive it back in fourth to work 50 miles a day. We never had a problem just small stuff like light bubs, oil changes and brakes. Have had to replace the tranny at 200,000 miles, fuel pump, and just awhile ago the starter but i have been driving it the past few years and still love it. My wife went to a 2011 suburban. hope to get many more miles outa it."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best truck I've ever owned.

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality and reliability"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this truck since 1999 and believe it or not it still has the original exhust system including the muffler and is as quiet as when I first bought it. I only had a few issues with it over the years, minor when you consider the mileage. Fuel pump, one head gasket, front rotors and of course tires and batteries. If I can I'll keep it for another 15 years. There is no rust anywhere and everything works with the exception of my heated seats. I have owned all makes and models of cars and trucks over the last 50 years and without exception this is the finest vehicle I have ever owned."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Not a bad ride

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice ride and roomy"

Cons: "trany worry's me and 4WD is not reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Like this vehicle BUT the transmission went out, got a rebuilt one and the shifting linkage INSIDE broke and will not go into park and only have R and overdrive. Also the 4Wd will not engage the front wheels"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Does it all reliably and comfortably"

Cons: "Needs 4 wheel disc brakes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this as a"program" vehicle in 1999. It has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. My only complaints have been the variable power assisting the steering and the brakes could be a bit stronger. However, I have been able to easily address both of these. Chevy bypass kit for the steering issue, and slotted and vented rotors for the brakes. I still take this on road trips all over the southwest. It rides better than the Lincoln's and BMWs that are my "daily drivers". Easily 40,000 miles have been towing heavy scout trailers, bass boat and now tot box trailer. It never complains. Gas mileage isn't great, but the thing weighs 5,200 lbs. Considering that, my average of 14 mpg doesn't seem too bad. Now considering a 2015, but hate to give up an old friend!"

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ive Ever Owned Thus Far

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Great Vehicle"

Cons: "Cup Holders In Front of A/C Vents"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No complaints whatsoever"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Most dependable vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Thursday, July 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything - handling, dependability, comfortable."

Cons: "Only gas mileage. All else is +++++."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the second owner of this truck, getting it at about 30,000 miles. I am happy to say, it is one of the safest and dependable vehicles I have ever had the pleasure to drive. I've kept up with all the vehicle maintenance (this is a must) and have driven this car on many trips to other states without any problems. I see so many of these older trucks on the road, so I know they are great vehicles. Would recommend this one to anyone looking for an older "ride" that really checks every box. Rear air, good a/c, great stereo. Only drawback is gas mileage. V-8 engine is really peppy but gas mileage isn't the greatest. Still, I love this truck!"

The best thing ive ever owned

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 236,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "not the best on gas but i have 33 so pretty good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

My chevys

"i have a 97 lt 4x4 with 33 x 11.50 s tvs led tail lights subs been one of the most dependable things i ever owned only change the oil and breaks once in almost 2 years had 224000 when i got it and now has 236 no problems runs great Alot of power?? (vortec 350) 4x4 is great with the m/t tires has alot of room just alot around great truck my kids love it"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

My chevys

Can't beat it.

By on Saturday, February 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive for a large vehicle"

Cons: "Only one useable cupholder in the car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is by far the most reliable car I've ever had. It has kept my faith in GM (and I've had some of their stinkers). This Tahoe is easy to drive, comfortable and still looks good after 15 years. I will drive it until the wheels fall off, which will be awhile."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

a good vehicle,dependable and reliable

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 370,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "easy to drive/park great size handles well"

Cons: "needs rear ac."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven this truck for 300,000 miles and have never regretted buying it.it served as family car, work truck and vacation vehicle. always starts, it has never left me stranded. just service and normal maint. has been all it required through its time with me. when tuned it gets aprox 19.8 mpg on the road ,not bad for a vehicle this size.it needs a rear ac system as the single dash unit struggles to cool it on hot summer days but that is the only complaint I have."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Love the 2 door full size SUV

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,975

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles great. Plenty of towing capacity"

Cons: "Would like bigger brakes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The full size 2 door with the 6.5 turbo diesel and 4 wheel drive is a tough truck to beat!! The interior is comfortable for long trips on the highways and weekends camping or driving on the beach. I've driven through 2 feet of snow without any issues. With a 30 gallon fuel tank and almost 20 MPG I can cruise at 75 MPH for 500 miles between fill ups."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

only thing about this vehicle is the 4 wheel drive

By on Friday, January 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,567

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "roomy barn doors are awesome gas impressed me"

Cons: "4x4"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"but all in all a wonderful ride i still think the dodge durango has a better 4x4 system stereo system is awesome too"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I ever owned

By on Tuesday, December 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great value , safe , roomy"

Cons: "Gas mileage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Like a trusty pocketknife or comfortable pair of shoes it always fits , bought new when my son was born , he will now be driving this and we all feel this truck is part of the family. Have had Shelbys, Caddies , and scores of other cars , but this one can fill any bill . Best investment on a vehicle ever made ."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Will miss driving my Tahoe!

By on Saturday, November 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "See above"

Cons: "Gas mileage could be improved"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Always felt secure with its' performance. Reliable, dependable, comforable."

Just can't part with it

By on Wednesday, October 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Reliability, styling, utility"

Cons: "Fuel mileage isn't stellar"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our 99 2 door Tahoe Sport is the best running and most comfortable vehicle we have ever had in our family. It has always run perfectly and problems have typically been minor. The problems we have experienced are seemingly common: power lock mechanisms get "weak" and have to be replaced (under $100.00), several of the guages on the instrument cluster stopped working ($75.00 to rebuild), The driver side catalytic converter triggered an SES light ($150 to replace both with aftermarket units), AC compressor leaked ($200.00), and the pitman/idler arms needed to be replaced from normal wear ($200.00). Other than that, everything else has been general maintenance. We installed a lift kit and aftermarket wheels/tires. They look awesome. Pulls a 22' boat with no problem. Cruises on the highway with no problem. Handles offroad situations in 4WD with no problem. A friend of our family has an identical vehicle with almost 400k miles on it and it runs just as smoothly as ours. Truly like a rock."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Tahoe near Honolulu. See local deals