Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1997 Chevrolet Tahoe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 391 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next

Not a bad ride

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice ride and roomy"

Cons: "trany worry's me and 4WD is not reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Like this vehicle BUT the transmission went out, got a rebuilt one and the shifting linkage INSIDE broke and will not go into park and only have R and overdrive. Also the 4Wd will not engage the front wheels"

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Does it all reliably and comfortably"

Cons: "Needs 4 wheel disc brakes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this as a"program" vehicle in 1999. It has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. My only complaints have been the variable power assisting the steering and the brakes could be a bit stronger. However, I have been able to easily address both of these. Chevy bypass kit for the steering issue, and slotted and vented rotors for the brakes. I still take this on road trips all over the southwest. It rides better than the Lincoln's and BMWs that are my "daily drivers". Easily 40,000 miles have been towing heavy scout trailers, bass boat and now tot box trailer. It never complains. Gas mileage isn't great, but the thing weighs 5,200 lbs. Considering that, my average of 14 mpg doesn't seem too bad. Now considering a 2015, but hate to give up an old friend!"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ive Ever Owned Thus Far

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Great Vehicle"

Cons: "Cup Holders In Front of A/C Vents"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No complaints whatsoever"

Most dependable vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Thursday, July 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything - handling, dependability, comfortable."

Cons: "Only gas mileage. All else is +++++."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the second owner of this truck, getting it at about 30,000 miles. I am happy to say, it is one of the safest and dependable vehicles I have ever had the pleasure to drive. I've kept up with all the vehicle maintenance (this is a must) and have driven this car on many trips to other states without any problems. I see so many of these older trucks on the road, so I know they are great vehicles. Would recommend this one to anyone looking for an older "ride" that really checks every box. Rear air, good a/c, great stereo. Only drawback is gas mileage. V-8 engine is really peppy but gas mileage isn't the greatest. Still, I love this truck!"

The best thing ive ever owned

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 236,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "not the best on gas but i have 33 so pretty good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

My chevys

"i have a 97 lt 4x4 with 33 x 11.50 s tvs led tail lights subs been one of the most dependable things i ever owned only change the oil and breaks once in almost 2 years had 224000 when i got it and now has 236 no problems runs great Alot of power?? (vortec 350) 4x4 is great with the m/t tires has alot of room just alot around great truck my kids love it"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

My chevys

Can't beat it.

By on Saturday, February 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive for a large vehicle"

Cons: "Only one useable cupholder in the car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is by far the most reliable car I've ever had. It has kept my faith in GM (and I've had some of their stinkers). This Tahoe is easy to drive, comfortable and still looks good after 15 years. I will drive it until the wheels fall off, which will be awhile."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

a good vehicle,dependable and reliable

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 370,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "easy to drive/park great size handles well"

Cons: "needs rear ac."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven this truck for 300,000 miles and have never regretted buying it.it served as family car, work truck and vacation vehicle. always starts, it has never left me stranded. just service and normal maint. has been all it required through its time with me. when tuned it gets aprox 19.8 mpg on the road ,not bad for a vehicle this size.it needs a rear ac system as the single dash unit struggles to cool it on hot summer days but that is the only complaint I have."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Love the 2 door full size SUV

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,975

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles great. Plenty of towing capacity"

Cons: "Would like bigger brakes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The full size 2 door with the 6.5 turbo diesel and 4 wheel drive is a tough truck to beat!! The interior is comfortable for long trips on the highways and weekends camping or driving on the beach. I've driven through 2 feet of snow without any issues. With a 30 gallon fuel tank and almost 20 MPG I can cruise at 75 MPH for 500 miles between fill ups."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

only thing about this vehicle is the 4 wheel drive

By on Friday, January 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,567

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "roomy barn doors are awesome gas impressed me"

Cons: "4x4"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"but all in all a wonderful ride i still think the dodge durango has a better 4x4 system stereo system is awesome too"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I ever owned

By on Tuesday, December 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great value , safe , roomy"

Cons: "Gas mileage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Like a trusty pocketknife or comfortable pair of shoes it always fits , bought new when my son was born , he will now be driving this and we all feel this truck is part of the family. Have had Shelbys, Caddies , and scores of other cars , but this one can fill any bill . Best investment on a vehicle ever made ."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Tahoe near Honolulu. See local deals