Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1997 Chevrolet Tahoe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 404 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

this is the best truck i have owned

By on Friday, July 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 400,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very dependable"

Cons: "has no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would recommend this to and one who wants a Tahoe I bought this in 2004 with 50,000 miles and have put 350,000 miles on it and it steel runs unbelievable excellent the only thing I have done is the usual stuff like new tires and other stuff and I rebuilt the motor and trans but it still has lots of power left and if your looking for some other truck I would consider getting a Gmc or Chevy truck 1996 or newer with a 5.7 v8 vortec or if you want good gas mileage I would get a 5.3 v8 the 4.3 v6 is a good motor but does not have much power if you do a lot of towing like I do but it gets great gas mileage if you like throttle body's I would get a 1995 because that was the best year for that motor and a 1998 0r 99 was the best years for the vortec"

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

amazing truck

By on Friday, May 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "awesome power, great for towing"

Cons: "the door handles break easily, gas guzzler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love this truck, its dependable, clean and flat out awesome. Runs like a champ even after 200,000 miles."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Love the 2 door full size SUV

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,975

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles great. Plenty of towing capacity"

Cons: "Would like bigger brakes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The full size 2 door with the 6.5 turbo diesel and 4 wheel drive is a tough truck to beat!! The interior is comfortable for long trips on the highways and weekends camping or driving on the beach. I've driven through 2 feet of snow without any issues. With a 30 gallon fuel tank and almost 20 MPG I can cruise at 75 MPH for 500 miles between fill ups."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

290000 + miles orig owner

By on Friday, September 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 290,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything: 15 +/- MPG is great for this SUV"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1999 Tahoe 4x4 4 door. Tune up & New Trans at 120k, New fuel pump & alternator @ 225k. Reliable, safe, dependable, average 15 mpg since day 1. Follow maintenance schedule & best vehicle you can own"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Never getting rid of it

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought used in 2004 by trading in a 1997 Tahoe. THese vehicles are big, roomy, comfortable and a pleasure to drive. if regular maintance is done they may last forever. Drive many long trips and average 19 MPG on the highway. Let's not talk about around town mileage. I tow a lot and wouldn't use anything else. The last of the 350 engines so I don't see trading it for a long while."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Love my Tahoe

By on Saturday, January 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun, Sleek, Comfortable"

Cons: "Gas mileage..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 2 door sport Tahoe with 90,000 miles for $7000 and it was definitely worth it. It's stylish, capable of offroading (take it on the beach often), and has a comfortable interior. Just wish it got about 10 more miles per gallon, but hey it's worth it."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best Design!

By on Monday, December 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, practical, plenty of get-up-and-go"

Cons: "only criticism - "barn doors" instead of tailgate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my '98 new, with 6 miles on it, and I'm the only driver, so I've put almost all of it's current 212,000 miles on it. It's a great design whether you're hauling cargo or people. With the back seats folded down, you have a flat bed that's 4 X 6 feet. I've carried a lot of stuff in it! It's been reliable and I love this SUV. I bought an '08 Hybrid Tahoe a couple of years ago because I was concerned about driving my 10-year old car on my 100 mi/day round trip to work every day. The Hybrid offered better gas mileage, but I kept my '98 because it was paid for and still ran well. I still prefer the '98 design to the '08; the '08 doesn't offer the interior hauling capacity of the '98 and I hate the lift tailgate on the '08. I wish GM would go back to most of the '98 design, excpet for the gas mileage; I get 16-17 mpg in the '98 and 22 mpg in the '08. If I can only have one, it will be the '98."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

LOVE IT!!!!

By on Thursday, November 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 209,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good horse power, torque"

Cons: "transfercase broke even my buddys 96 chevy z71 did"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am a proud owner of a 1996 chevy tahoe lt. My most favorite thing about it is that it gets you from point a to point b. The least thing is GAS!!!! The way our economy is right now its ard to buy gas for a SUV that only get 13 to 16 miles to a gallon but i love it."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

roomy, dependable, comfortable, and safe

By on Tuesday, September 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "american"

Cons: "oil companies make it hard to own this vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I carry a full size drumset in my tahoe. I needed four wheel drive for the Ohio winters and late night gigs. This is the perfect vehicle for me.Nothing smaller would do the job."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love My Truck

By on Sunday, July 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very roomy and great in the snow"

Cons: "Gas mieage is harsh"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I never owned a Chevy before but my Tahoe has been a wonderful truck. The interior is extremely roomy and very comfortable. I can put all three of my boys, two of which are over 6' and over 200 pds, in the back seat with plenty of room. It is an absolute BEAST in the snow. I would never let it go except for the gas mileage. 13.5 hurts and these days I don't need a vehicle that will hold 5 people anymore. Overall I have loved this truck and will miss it."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this truck!

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Best truck I've ever had. Love the comfortable ride. Plenty of leg and elbow room. Would be great to get better gas mileage. Tough enough to hit a deer @ 60 mph with only body damage & all passengers safe!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love My Truck

By on Friday, May 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 410,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, easy to drive"

Cons: "Cup holder in front of AC/heat vent;"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have been the only owner/driver of this vehicle. Original engine w/410000 miles - shooting to hit 500000!! This truck is not replaceable!! Wish they still made this truck with the same engine!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Friday, March 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Really great and fun! Lots of room for anything"

Cons: "mpg could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my Tahoe! Its very reliable and has never broke down before. Although its getting old its still very functional and very spacey. It doesn't have the best gas mileage, but it is a big car. I use it to get around and to haul all my equipment around. LONG LASTING!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Nice ride! Very dependable

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great value, Very comfortable, Strong"

Cons: "Gas mileage,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ours has a special order 3rd row seat so is seats 7 very comfortably. Very well maintained and very dependable. A little heavy on the gas but that is to be expected with a strong, hard working vehicle like the Tahoe. Tows just about anything with ease! We love it!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great all around truck and i get 24mpg.

By on Monday, November 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good MPG for a full size v8. Seats 7"

Cons: "Need a Beffer susp for models equiped with tow pak"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My 95 Chevy Tahoe Unlifted on 33 tsl's

"With 3rd row seats i can take the whole family i use my tahoe as a family truck work truck and play truck. Unlifted with 33s, i play on weekands and tow all week with it. I have installed 3rd row seats so i can take every one with me.. With the install of a K"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My 95 Chevy Tahoe Unlifted on 33 tsl's

Wouldnt trade it for anything

By on Monday, January 24, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i absolutely love my tahoe. i bought a 99 2dr 4wd tahoe about three years ago. i just love everything about it. i am payin way tooo much for it but honestly its worth EVERY penny! very comfty, power everything, go on long trips, heavy duty, drives wonderful dependable. stylish. man the compliments i get every single day. best vehicle ever. 4wd very powerful. goes thru anything easily. sounds good with pipes. towes anything. usual repairs, lasts forever, eye catcher. everything i wanted in a vehicle. all around awesome wonderful truck. chevy really did it right this time!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

really is rock solid

By on Tuesday, November 30, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"bought a 97 2wd Tahoe. Typical "issues" with a used car at first. Needed tierod ends, 4 tires, and an alignment. 1 week later, needed a water pump (cheap part and easy to install). Gets about 13-15mpg around town, but an impressive 22.3mpg on the highway (not a 4wd). Vehicle is heavy as lead and feels very safe. Very comfy, too. I have a bad back, and I can drive this truck for HOURS without getting tired. Keep the trans serviced and the oil changed, and this truck with last longer than those beloved lil Hondas."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Outstanding

By on Monday, September 21, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I wish they still made trucks like this. Bought it used with about 128,000 miles on it; its primary use was to tow lawn equipment on a daily basis. It is now at 298,000+ miles, and the engine is still outstanding. Haven't had any major issues until recently: the transmission is giving out (not suprising since it's been towing equipment a majority of the miles), some electrical components are failing (again, not surprising...it's almost at 300,000 anyway), and a few suspension components need to be replaced. Other than that, this has been an extremely reliable car. I've only had one breakdown, and that was caused by old deteriorating battery cables..."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

96 Tahoe LT

By on Friday, November 21, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Around 100,000 miles this vehicle needed a lot of repairs: fuel, pump, water pump, PS pump, intake gasket, electrical issue and a water leak. Its a great truck, but it has cost me a small furtune to keep running."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Honestly the best vehicle I've ever had

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, powerful, Good Offroad"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wounldn't trade my Tahoe for anything else in the world"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best suv ever!

By on Saturday, January 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 360,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort and power"

Cons: "Low gas milage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's got 360000 miles on the original engine and transmission and works great. With 4 weel drive I can get to work even when the roads are flooded out."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good "ole dependable"

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good looking, paid for and dependble"

Cons: "in-town mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this 99 when it was 3 years old with 37000 miles. It still gets incredible highway mileage and I won't complain about the in town mileage because it is paid for, looks great and still rides great. Insurance rates are low so buying another vehicle just because of gas mileage does not make economic sense to me. I would rather top off the tank once in a while instead of having car payments and higher insurance. Pick your battles- this vehicle has never let me down and fantastic in the snow. WIth the "run forever motor" let's see how long she'll make it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle

By on Tuesday, November 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very roomy and comforatble on long or short trips."

Cons: "Not great on gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It has been a great vehicle for my family. Does not get great gas mileage but for a big car it does better than I thought. It is roomy and comfortable in the front and rear. I can say that I love my car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

awesome vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 05, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I`ve owned my 99 Tahoe since 2001 and have had very little trouble except for the intake gaskets,water pump,and alternator all at around 70,000 miles other then that it has been one of the best vehicles I have ever owned. I don`t know if I`ll ever get rid of it. It has over 128000 miles on it now and it is still going strong!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The Best

By on Friday, April 10, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Wouldn't trade it for anything!! Love the ride!! Got 165K on it and still looks new! Interior mint! Bought in 2004 with 43K on it for $12K. Stole it!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Tahoe near Honolulu. See local deals