Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Chevrolet Tahoe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 391 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

Excellent vehicle!

By on Wednesday, December 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable and classic"

best car Ive owned

By on Saturday, December 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "nice and roomy great comfortable ride"

Cons: "15 miles per gallon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used 10 years ago and it is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned. And I am 65 years old. smooth ride greatt in the snow and mud. hauls a boat or trailer. Im currently looking at gettng a newer Tahoe."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Design!

By on Monday, December 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, practical, plenty of get-up-and-go"

Cons: "only criticism - "barn doors" instead of tailgate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my '98 new, with 6 miles on it, and I'm the only driver, so I've put almost all of it's current 212,000 miles on it. It's a great design whether you're hauling cargo or people. With the back seats folded down, you have a flat bed that's 4 X 6 feet. I've carried a lot of stuff in it! It's been reliable and I love this SUV. I bought an '08 Hybrid Tahoe a couple of years ago because I was concerned about driving my 10-year old car on my 100 mi/day round trip to work every day. The Hybrid offered better gas mileage, but I kept my '98 because it was paid for and still ran well. I still prefer the '98 design to the '08; the '08 doesn't offer the interior hauling capacity of the '98 and I hate the lift tailgate on the '08. I wish GM would go back to most of the '98 design, excpet for the gas mileage; I get 16-17 mpg in the '98 and 22 mpg in the '08. If I can only have one, it will be the '98."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love this truck. No new age plastic!

By on Sunday, December 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good solid truck for the money"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1998 was one of the last years for solid built trucks. I don't care for the newer trucks with all the plastic parts on the outside. The Tahoe is a workhorse that gets the job done with regular maintence will last for a lifetime!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this truck

By on Sunday, December 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "All around great everyday, multi-purpose truck"

Cons: "Gas mileage- not great/not bad"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven this truck everywhere. It has all the power you could ever want and the interior space of a bigger vehicle. I live on a farm near the beach. From mud to sand dunes, my Tahoe has never let me down. It has that classic four wheel off road style, that you just can't find anymore. This is a great truck for work or play."

I love my taho

By on Thursday, December 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great ride, room comfort and 4x4"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is a excelent driver and you cant even come close to beating the stock 4x4 capabilities !"

i have a 97 tahoe 2-door model and I LOVE IT!

By on Sunday, December 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,454

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort,mobility,reliability,stylish"

Cons: "gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"reliable,powerfull,"

best vehicle i have owned

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 166,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort"

Cons: "gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great comfort and hauls everything I need along with kids and pets"

Convenience and comfort, but guzzles gas.

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,400

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort and convenience"

Cons: "Guzzles gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This has been a great car. It's amazing, all that I can fit in it. Mine is a V8 and there is plenty of power to haul a trailer. I have had to make a couple of repairs, such as the fuel pump (covered by warranty), and an idling arm in the front. The car is incredibly comfortable and convenient, however the downside is it uses a lot of gas and the front doors have the potential to sag when it gets older"

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

nic e ride but a litle wore out

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"interior leather ripped"

A work horse with tons of room

By on Thursday, November 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Room and reliable"

Cons: "mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hauled people and stuff all over the country. Not great mileage but life is not fair. Comfortable, reliable, solid. Hate to see it go, kind of like losing a cool grandparent."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle

By on Tuesday, November 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very roomy and comforatble on long or short trips."

Cons: "Not great on gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It has been a great vehicle for my family. Does not get great gas mileage but for a big car it does better than I thought. It is roomy and comfortable in the front and rear. I can say that I love my car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great all around truck and i get 24mpg.

By on Monday, November 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good MPG for a full size v8. Seats 7"

Cons: "Need a Beffer susp for models equiped with tow pak"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My 95 Chevy Tahoe Unlifted on 33 tsl's

"With 3rd row seats i can take the whole family i use my tahoe as a family truck work truck and play truck. Unlifted with 33s, i play on weekands and tow all week with it. I have installed 3rd row seats so i can take every one with me.. With the install of a K"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My 95 Chevy Tahoe Unlifted on 33 tsl's

good good truck of course its a chevy good power

By on Saturday, November 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good power, comfort and reliability"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very reliable and comfortable pulls horse trailers like nothing too bad mine is 2wd :("

Lover this truck

By on Saturday, November 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 310,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought used and put on 270000miles and still like it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

it's the baddest truck i own

By on Friday, November 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 224,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drive's good"

Cons: "door handles is a problem"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my tahoe ,it get r done"

Excellent car, have loved owning it for 12 years

By on Thursday, November 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car for the outdoor enthusiast who bikes, sk"

Cons: "Not such good MPG."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car for the outdoor enthusiast who hikes, bikes, skiis, etc. Also good for hauling limber and towing a trailer/RV."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

well it is a chevy

By on Monday, October 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great truck"

Cons: "notorious for the broken door handles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great truck very reliable if somethin were to go wrong it always somethin minor i love this truck the 4x4 is specracular in this truck stafs right up day after day an let me just say if i was a car i wouldnt put Up with the way i drive"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

beast

By on Monday, October 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "never gets stuck,looks great,"

Cons: "v8 is not that good on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"rare truck hard to find"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this vehicle

By on Monday, October 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this vehicle for over ten years and have over 200k miles on it. I've replaced 2 fuel pumps and 1 tranny. It still looks and run like new. It is a beast! I love it! It is the best vehicle i have ever owned."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I LOVE IT!!

By on Saturday, October 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfy, Roomy, Smooth ride."

Cons: "Gas Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just got this tahoe from a friend recently and i love it!! My mom has one and i drove it every once in a while but never thought id own one!! Its super roomy, Super comfy"

Great Truck

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Gas Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this 99 chevy tahoe this is the 2nd one I have owned, and it has been very reliable, maintance is low, an it runs forever, but the mileage is the only down fall."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great family vehicle!

By on Monday, October 17, 2011

I owned and sold this car
Reason: gas mileage

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had the vehicle for 11 years. Comfortable ride for a 4x4. Nice convenience items. Strong reliable engine"

Best Car!

By on Friday, October 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my car since 2000, and it's the best car I have ever owned."

Nice suv

By on Wednesday, October 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "very easy to drive"

Cons: "it has everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The vehicle is a very nice and some wat economic vehicle but overall i think it is very comfortable and convienent."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Tahoe near Honolulu. See local deals