Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1996 Chevrolet Tahoe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 404 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 41 | Next

this is the best truck i have owned

By on Friday, July 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 400,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very dependable"

Cons: "has no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would recommend this to and one who wants a Tahoe I bought this in 2004 with 50,000 miles and have put 350,000 miles on it and it steel runs unbelievable excellent the only thing I have done is the usual stuff like new tires and other stuff and I rebuilt the motor and trans but it still has lots of power left and if your looking for some other truck I would consider getting a Gmc or Chevy truck 1996 or newer with a 5.7 v8 vortec or if you want good gas mileage I would get a 5.3 v8 the 4.3 v6 is a good motor but does not have much power if you do a lot of towing like I do but it gets great gas mileage if you like throttle body's I would get a 1995 because that was the best year for that motor and a 1998 0r 99 was the best years for the vortec"

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

amazing truck

By on Friday, May 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "awesome power, great for towing"

Cons: "the door handles break easily, gas guzzler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love this truck, its dependable, clean and flat out awesome. Runs like a champ even after 200,000 miles."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Love the 2 door full size SUV

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,975

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles great. Plenty of towing capacity"

Cons: "Would like bigger brakes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The full size 2 door with the 6.5 turbo diesel and 4 wheel drive is a tough truck to beat!! The interior is comfortable for long trips on the highways and weekends camping or driving on the beach. I've driven through 2 feet of snow without any issues. With a 30 gallon fuel tank and almost 20 MPG I can cruise at 75 MPH for 500 miles between fill ups."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

290000 + miles orig owner

By on Friday, September 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 290,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything: 15 +/- MPG is great for this SUV"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1999 Tahoe 4x4 4 door. Tune up & New Trans at 120k, New fuel pump & alternator @ 225k. Reliable, safe, dependable, average 15 mpg since day 1. Follow maintenance schedule & best vehicle you can own"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Never getting rid of it

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought used in 2004 by trading in a 1997 Tahoe. THese vehicles are big, roomy, comfortable and a pleasure to drive. if regular maintance is done they may last forever. Drive many long trips and average 19 MPG on the highway. Let's not talk about around town mileage. I tow a lot and wouldn't use anything else. The last of the 350 engines so I don't see trading it for a long while."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Love my Tahoe

By on Saturday, January 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun, Sleek, Comfortable"

Cons: "Gas mileage..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 2 door sport Tahoe with 90,000 miles for $7000 and it was definitely worth it. It's stylish, capable of offroading (take it on the beach often), and has a comfortable interior. Just wish it got about 10 more miles per gallon, but hey it's worth it."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best Design!

By on Monday, December 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, practical, plenty of get-up-and-go"

Cons: "only criticism - "barn doors" instead of tailgate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my '98 new, with 6 miles on it, and I'm the only driver, so I've put almost all of it's current 212,000 miles on it. It's a great design whether you're hauling cargo or people. With the back seats folded down, you have a flat bed that's 4 X 6 feet. I've carried a lot of stuff in it! It's been reliable and I love this SUV. I bought an '08 Hybrid Tahoe a couple of years ago because I was concerned about driving my 10-year old car on my 100 mi/day round trip to work every day. The Hybrid offered better gas mileage, but I kept my '98 because it was paid for and still ran well. I still prefer the '98 design to the '08; the '08 doesn't offer the interior hauling capacity of the '98 and I hate the lift tailgate on the '08. I wish GM would go back to most of the '98 design, excpet for the gas mileage; I get 16-17 mpg in the '98 and 22 mpg in the '08. If I can only have one, it will be the '98."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

LOVE IT!!!!

By on Thursday, November 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 209,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good horse power, torque"

Cons: "transfercase broke even my buddys 96 chevy z71 did"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am a proud owner of a 1996 chevy tahoe lt. My most favorite thing about it is that it gets you from point a to point b. The least thing is GAS!!!! The way our economy is right now its ard to buy gas for a SUV that only get 13 to 16 miles to a gallon but i love it."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

roomy, dependable, comfortable, and safe

By on Tuesday, September 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "american"

Cons: "oil companies make it hard to own this vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I carry a full size drumset in my tahoe. I needed four wheel drive for the Ohio winters and late night gigs. This is the perfect vehicle for me.Nothing smaller would do the job."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love My Truck

By on Sunday, July 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very roomy and great in the snow"

Cons: "Gas mieage is harsh"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I never owned a Chevy before but my Tahoe has been a wonderful truck. The interior is extremely roomy and very comfortable. I can put all three of my boys, two of which are over 6' and over 200 pds, in the back seat with plenty of room. It is an absolute BEAST in the snow. I would never let it go except for the gas mileage. 13.5 hurts and these days I don't need a vehicle that will hold 5 people anymore. Overall I have loved this truck and will miss it."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 41 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Tahoe near Honolulu. See local deals