Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1996 Chevrolet Tahoe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 404 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 81 | Next

this is the best truck i have owned

By on Friday, July 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 400,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very dependable"

Cons: "has no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would recommend this to and one who wants a Tahoe I bought this in 2004 with 50,000 miles and have put 350,000 miles on it and it steel runs unbelievable excellent the only thing I have done is the usual stuff like new tires and other stuff and I rebuilt the motor and trans but it still has lots of power left and if your looking for some other truck I would consider getting a Gmc or Chevy truck 1996 or newer with a 5.7 v8 vortec or if you want good gas mileage I would get a 5.3 v8 the 4.3 v6 is a good motor but does not have much power if you do a lot of towing like I do but it gets great gas mileage if you like throttle body's I would get a 1995 because that was the best year for that motor and a 1998 0r 99 was the best years for the vortec"

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

amazing truck

By on Friday, May 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "awesome power, great for towing"

Cons: "the door handles break easily, gas guzzler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love this truck, its dependable, clean and flat out awesome. Runs like a champ even after 200,000 miles."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

290000 + miles orig owner

By on Friday, September 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 290,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything: 15 +/- MPG is great for this SUV"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1999 Tahoe 4x4 4 door. Tune up & New Trans at 120k, New fuel pump & alternator @ 225k. Reliable, safe, dependable, average 15 mpg since day 1. Follow maintenance schedule & best vehicle you can own"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Love the 2 door full size SUV

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,975

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles great. Plenty of towing capacity"

Cons: "Would like bigger brakes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The full size 2 door with the 6.5 turbo diesel and 4 wheel drive is a tough truck to beat!! The interior is comfortable for long trips on the highways and weekends camping or driving on the beach. I've driven through 2 feet of snow without any issues. With a 30 gallon fuel tank and almost 20 MPG I can cruise at 75 MPH for 500 miles between fill ups."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Never getting rid of it

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought used in 2004 by trading in a 1997 Tahoe. THese vehicles are big, roomy, comfortable and a pleasure to drive. if regular maintance is done they may last forever. Drive many long trips and average 19 MPG on the highway. Let's not talk about around town mileage. I tow a lot and wouldn't use anything else. The last of the 350 engines so I don't see trading it for a long while."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 81 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Tahoe near Honolulu. See local deals