Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Chevrolet Tahoe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 395 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next

Great, extremely reliable truck.

By on Monday, November 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 268,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, dependable, easy to repair and maintain."

Cons: "Chugs gas :("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We bought this truck as a 3rd owner with around 111k miles on it. We only had one major mechanical failure (transmission went out at 186k miles), but got it repaired for a very good price. It has otherwise been a tremendously reliable, dependable, tough, long-lasting vehicle. It's been through numerous blizzards (up to 4 feet of snow), but handles it like a champ. I've never gotten stuck or felt like I would have to be concerned about not getting where I need to be (I work in a hospital and have to be there regardless of the weather). I've even had this truck in 3 feet of flood water (stupid idea, I know) and had no problems with it whatsoever. I will still haul trailers with it and use it as my daily driver. Barely consumes any oil at all, even with having 268k miles on it!"

Good SUV. G

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Had the engine overhauled 3 years ago. Transmission overhauled 4 months ago. A/C good, New battery. Runs smooth. Needs some cosmetic touches inside and out. Trailer Hitch. Leather. Good Truck"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best SUV

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 347,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable"

Cons: "not fuel friendly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck brand new in 1996 and have put many miles on it my wife drove it for the first 15 years and i just drive it back in fourth to work 50 miles a day. We never had a problem just small stuff like light bubs, oil changes and brakes. Have had to replace the tranny at 200,000 miles, fuel pump, and just awhile ago the starter but i have been driving it the past few years and still love it. My wife went to a 2011 suburban. hope to get many more miles outa it."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best truck I've ever owned.

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality and reliability"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this truck since 1999 and believe it or not it still has the original exhust system including the muffler and is as quiet as when I first bought it. I only had a few issues with it over the years, minor when you consider the mileage. Fuel pump, one head gasket, front rotors and of course tires and batteries. If I can I'll keep it for another 15 years. There is no rust anywhere and everything works with the exception of my heated seats. I have owned all makes and models of cars and trucks over the last 50 years and without exception this is the finest vehicle I have ever owned."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Not a bad ride

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice ride and roomy"

Cons: "trany worry's me and 4WD is not reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Like this vehicle BUT the transmission went out, got a rebuilt one and the shifting linkage INSIDE broke and will not go into park and only have R and overdrive. Also the 4Wd will not engage the front wheels"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Tahoe near Honolulu. See local deals