Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2009 Chevrolet Suburban 2500

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 242 Ratings for the 2007 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

Best Vehicle Ever! Love it so much we bought two!

By on Tuesday, January 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best Vehicle Ever! Love it so much we bought two!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

4.5 rating! Safe and Very reliable, great handling

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "love the amount of space even with 8 people."

Cons: "I wish I had back up sensor with my LT. version"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you need room this is the car for you. This care has plenty of power to pull a heavy load and still maintain 19 mpg on the highway at around 65-75 mph. We have had our suburban for one year now and we love it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love My Truck

By on Thursday, January 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very safe, very comfortable truck, excellent ride"

Cons: "Low gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My only wish for this truck is better gas mileage. We did a lot of highway traveling and it was very comfortable for long rides. Minimal blind spots. Very safe vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle, will buy another one.

By on Tuesday, January 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lots of room, looks great."

Cons: "A little pricey."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this suburban for 5 years. It is a great vehicle to own and drive. I will be trading sometime this year and will be buying another suburban. I wish they were a little cheaper, but are worth the money."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Outstanding all-around truck

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything about it!"

Cons: "Seats attract lint. Get leather if you can."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have put over 120K miles on my Burb- whether it's towing toys, stop and go LA traffic, or hauling kids around, this vehicle hits the mark for everything I need."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good people mover

By on Wednesday, December 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great people hauler. Not bad on gas for size."

Cons: "Need to watch front tire wear. Power door locks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My wife and I have 5 kids so the Suburban is a natural fit for us. We used to have smaller SUVs and always had to use a car carrier to handle our gear on trips. The suburban's space can't be beat. Would buy again. Need to watch front tire wear with the 20-inch wheels. Although alignment was in tolerance front tires wore on the inside of the tire. Had our local mechanic "straighten up" the wheels and wear was improved. Had to have door actuators replaced around 36K miles. Our dealer agreed to splitting costs since it was over warranty period. Still an expensive fix. Gas mileage in 13 to 20 mpg range."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

LOVE IT, 6.0 LITER MOTOR HAS PLENTY OF POWER

By on Saturday, December 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "VERY FUN TO DRIVE, LOTS OF ROOM"

Cons: "17 MPG ON HIGHWAY BUT DIDNT BUY IT FOR MILEAGE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"VERY QUITE, RIDES VERY WELL AND DOES NOT HAVE THE BODY ROLL THE 1500 DOES"

LOVE IT

By on Monday, December 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE MY SUBURBAN! GOOD GAS MILEAGE FOR AN SUV. SEATS 8. ALWAYS HAVE ROOM FOR ALL OF OUR BOYS AND THEIR FRIENDS. FOOTBALL, BASEBALL, BASKETBALL, TOWING THE BOAT, MOTORCYCLES CAMPING, TAKING THE DOGS TO THE BEACH. NO MATTER WHAT I HAVE ENJOYED MY SUBURBAN."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

excellent vehicle

By on Monday, December 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quiet smooth ride, good milage"

Cons: "haven't found any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"own a Tahoe and and a Suburban love both probably the best vehicles I have ever owned. The suburban has plenty of room and handles like a much smaller vehicle. Very quiet and a smooth ride. I would definitely buy again."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Getting another one!!!

By on Monday, December 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased new in 2003. I must admit I have not kept up with scheduled maintenance. This truck has with stood all my abuse. No major problems even with my abuse. Buying a new one today."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best large family car I ever owned.

By on Sunday, December 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Joy to drive on long trips"

Cons: "None that I have found so far"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everything I needed. Power and space to carry family of 7 with 3 children seats and haul 28 ft. 6500 lb. travel trailer to Lake Tahoe"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my car have had same car for years

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If my children were still at home and I needed the space I would buy another. I have had a Suburban for the past 15 years and have loved them all."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

dont buy it

By on Tuesday, December 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "room"

Cons: "reliability is very poor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Owned this vehicle for 40k miles. Engine and electrical are not reliable and will cost you significant money for repairs. No more GM products for this guy."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Exceeds my expectations!

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Most everything"

Cons: "Fuel economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 3rd Suburban, first of the newer body style. I've had nothing but positive experiences from all of my Burbs. They are not the greatest on fuel economy, however I didn't buy it with that in mind. We tow a 25ft boat 60 miles almost each weekend during the summer with no problems and it looks good doing it too!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

not chevy's best

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,500

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great look"

Cons: "not reliable, uncomfortable,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"certainly not Chevy's best. My 2003 suburban was far superior to this one. The 2009 has a lot more toys on it but the 2003 drove better, was more reliable and a lot more comfortable. I wish I had my old one back. I have had 6 suburbans and 2 Tahoes since 1999 so they are nothing i haven't experienced before."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Big car but worth it

By on Sunday, November 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Interior Laid out well . Big car, roomy, powerful"

Cons: "Should put 60/40 in rear seat, not buckets"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 2nd suburban and I have owned 2 Tahoes. As they are priced about the same, I would choose the extra room in the suburban over the shorter Tahoe. At $55,000 , it's a lot of money but there's a lot of car. The rear seats should be a bench, NOT buckets. With the third row seats out, it only holds 4 passengers."

Good and dependable vehicle, great for long trips

By on Monday, November 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good for long rides"

Cons: "Size as many parking spots are compact size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2007 LTZ Suburban

"Solid"

2007 LTZ Suburban

BEST SUV EVER CREATED

By on Monday, November 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very luxurious and lots of room for the family"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 08 Suburban is absolutly the best suv ever created. It has great features such as Leather, Sunroof, Navigation, DVD, Rear Audio controls with wireless headphones for all the kids, and a Rear Backup Camera with Parking Sensors that is very helpful in the city. Another great thing about the Suburban is there is lots of room for the whole family. Everywhere i go the Suburban turns many heads and is way better looking and more luxurious than that sorry looking Ford Expedition. If you want a luxury suv with power to back it up then the Suburban is for you."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

lots of room put a little over priced

By on Friday, November 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "big,lots of people,lots of room,lots of towing"

Cons: "could be equiped better, little over priced"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"there is plenty of room for the whole family. you also get a huge trunk with three rows of seats. You can also tow the boat for a family vecation. but it is a little pricy for not being that well equiped."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Enjoying my Suburban

By on Tuesday, November 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handles great for such a big rig."

Cons: "Heating/Cooling controls are low and cumbersome."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you need a large SUV with great towing capacity, these suburbans are hard to beat. The smooth ride and comfort is outstanding on the newer models. Be sure to get the backup camera - a nice feature for parking this large model in the city. Power folding quad seats are nice for the little ones traversing to the back seat. I am really enjoying this suburban. It is a pleasure to drive and I highly recommend. On the downside, however, don't be fooled by the V8/V4 power management to save gas. It seems like a gimmick. My older 1999 gets about the same fuel economy with no fancy electronic engine management. It may also have something to do with the newer models being about 800 lbs heavier...Anyway, I didn't buy a Suburban to get great gas mileage, but a little better mileage would always be welcome. Overall, really love the vehicle, though."

Great S.U.V.

By on Sunday, November 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle with plenty of room for 8. Quality meets comfort with the Suburban and I would recommend this suv to anyone interested in purchasing this size vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Never leave anything at home!

By on Monday, October 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Tows everything"

Cons: "Eats gas like a rabid grizzly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this for towing capacity. Pull everything out there with no trouble including similar vehicles on totes. Regular service with a trusted mechanic has kept troubles to minor inconveniences. Replaced front door lock mechanisms around 35000 miles. Jc, you don't have a 2500 if you have flex engine."

this 2009 chevy suburban is better the 2009 ford

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,987

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this truck is good for people how likes to be out doors . the gas is not bad for a truck this big . the best mpg is on the hwy is about 18 or 19 ."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The "Beast". And it earns that reputation!

By on Monday, October 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Go anywhere"

Cons: "A little stiff when not weighed down."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded a 6 year old Suburban 1500 for this new Suburban 2500. Both were LT models, so the subtle luxuries were pretty much expected. This new one hauls about 2x the overall load, but, I really didn't need that much, so the ride is a bit on the firm side, as opposed to my old living room on wheels. The massive 6 liter engine provides a deep throated roar, even under light acceleration. Awesome power to go with that sound. Awesome, that is, until it is time to fill 'er up. Awesome comes with a little wallet sting, but, only slightly less fuel efficient than my older one with the 5.3 liter engine. Real life, maybe 1.5 MPG less on the highway, and maybe 1.0 MPG less in combined driving. The new 2500 sits up quite a bit taller than the old 1500, so much so, that you can jam your ankle if not ready for that first step. With the beefier suspension, however, you feel like you can take it off road, anywhere, and find your way back to civilization, no matter what. ...If it only had wings! The kids love the DVD with headsets"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Too much money for the headaches it has caused!

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Big truck feel/function in an SUV."

Cons: "Extras not worth buying! Chevy can't fix their own"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Bad battery that checks good, cost thousands and Chevy dealer couldn't find. Minor parts failed: passenger door handle, 12V outlet cover, etc. Windshield wiper are not standard = more$. Carpets impossible to keep clean even after treated. Occasional DVD gets stuck. Navigation system easily replaced by off-the-shelf system for a lot less. That flex engine with cylinders off to save gas = B/S (13 mpg average). The engine burns an extra quart of between oil changes. Otherwise, exactly what we expected in a Suburban."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Suburban 2500 near Honolulu. See local deals