Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2006 Chevrolet Suburban 2500

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 714 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

450000 kilometres and still going strong

By on Sunday, November 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 450,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 97 Suburban is the third one I have owned. Its the most comfortable ride I own. I will only sell it to get a 2500 series suburban so I can tow a bigger boat. The 1500 tows great to 5000 lbs. and hauls 8 people regularly.I bought it at 270000 Km and put a new tranny in. I rebuilt the front end, ball joints etc.and it is tight and solid. I get 19 mpg with the 5.7 l (350) on the highway fully loaded.It is reliable and has been our best vehicle for years."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great long distance runner

By on Tuesday, November 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "Price is high"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We have owned a suburban for 6 years now and it very reliable. To our surprise, it is the best long distance vehicle I've ever driven, include a 14 hour fun run to Canada."

Great truck but drives like a car

By on Friday, November 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this since new. It has been excellent and never had a problem, except with the radio which was fixed"

New Michelin tires, new brakes all around,

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "everything works inside and out, interior very cle"

Cons: "2001 with 170500 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"front end rebuilt"

wow the power

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this will pull anything and haul 6-7 people comfortable rides like a car great value"

nice truck,wish it was newer..

By on Sunday, November 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "like a 4 dr.pickup with a cap"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Fold down the rear seat and slide in 4x8 material and keep it dry.or set the third rear seat up and you have room for 9 passengers,and a dog..We get a combo mileage of 17mpg,witch is great for what it does, an 4x4 when u need it.."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck ever!

By on Thursday, October 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride, reliabe"

Cons: "Gas but really not as bad as some say."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really can't say enough good things about this truck. Super reliable-comfie ride, handles great! I would buy another if I still needed all the passenger space. I hate to get rid of this one!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Darn good Truck/Suburban

By on Tuesday, October 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 299,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this 2004 Suburban w/44,000 miles on it in Jan, 2006. Since then I have had no major work done on it. I used it to go back and forth to work at several locations, as well as family trips. I put well over 30,000 miles a year on it and kept the oil changed every 5,000 miles. It now has 291,000 miles and still runs great. The a/c works great, but once in a while the actuator doors for the front a/c malfunction, and it blows very hot air. The only thing to do is to pull over, turn the a/c off, turn the engine off, and start over to reset the computer that controls the actuator doors. This is a factory defect, but there is no recall. It is at least $1000 to replace with re-built actuator doors (dampers) that may or may not work any better. Not going to do that. I can pull over within a few miles when I need to. I will probably trade sometime soon, as metal fatigue takes its toll on vehicles and things will start to break. This has really been my best of 4 Chevy/GMC Suburban/Yukon over the last 30 years and I put over 275,000 miles on all of them. The only one I bought new was a 1999 GMC Yukon. I did love the vehicle, but the 4-wheel drive presented some major repairs on two occasions. With that said, I am thinking seriously about a Ford-F150 CNG/LPG pickup for my next purchase. It may be my last. I am very interested, but not enthused or excited. I have to do my research and learn more. I may go back to GMC Yukon. Who knows?"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Lasted along time, only minor hiccups

By on Wednesday, October 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, pulls well, looks great"

Cons: "MPG and Chinese replacement parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Its not mine (parents) and i drive it everywhere. I have the dark blue one and it looks pretty nice. Over all a good vehicle, just trying not to put to much money into it as it is older now. MPG not best but is great for hauling people"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

well worth the money

By on Wednesday, October 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Space, driving comfort, security in bad weather"

Cons: "Don't buy if you want MPG, get a Prius"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 2002 Suburban LT new with almost every option. The leather seat starting to show wear and tear, and body starting to show some rust and paint peeling on rocker panels behind tires, but with 170,000+ miles, it's expected. I did all maintenance regularly (oil change, tire rotations, washing), had no engine or transmission issues, did 1 complete 100K maintenance (plugs, wires, all fluids in transmission, transfer case 4X4, rear end). Besides the expected items (brakes, tires, 1 set of wheel bearing in front, each side) no other issues. Would like to get another one, but really no longer need a larger SUV, as kids are in college and out of the house."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have owned

By on Tuesday, August 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reasonable price, and great value"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased new. Best vehicle I have ever owned (out of over 50 vehicles including European and Asian). Highway ride is great. comfort and convenience - great. Not bad on fuel considering the size and weight. Gets exactly what the sticker said 14 city, 18 highway."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

a GREAT vehicle

By on Monday, August 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price very servicable still"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"we purchased new and had to put a transmission in it at 93,000 miles same as the 2 previous cars between 89,000 and 93,000 miles-all I can say is manufacturing defect we have not had any other problems"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

it is a verry very good car

By on Thursday, August 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I want to keep it for a long time---I want yo know what it is worth"

best vehicle ive ever owned

By on Tuesday, July 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable tows well lots of room and fun to dri"

Cons: "paint on my dashboard is coming off in places"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Grat vehicle ive replaced the ac compresser and a rear bearing other than that nothing. I just looked at the trade in value of 5000.00 lol not a chance you cant touch a vehicle as nice as this for no measily 5000 That just made me decide not to get a new vehicle ill keep my 2002 burb its more dependable than most new vehicles ive seen friends by thanks for helping me make up my mind"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Wednesday, July 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 298,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable"

Cons: "Fuel mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle I have ever owned almost 300,000 miles and still runs great very dependable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I will ALWAYS own a Suburban

By on Sunday, July 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Versatile, easy to handle"

Cons: "MPG isn't all that great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this vehicle, not only is it stylish, it's versatile for passengers and for carrying supplies for my business. There is nothing else like it!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Family Vehicle!

By on Friday, July 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable inside and driving"

Cons: "No smartphone connection; no smartphones in 2004.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I LOVE my Suburban! Although it's nearly 10 years old, it drives nicer and smoother than my husband's 2007 Tahoe. I can fit all my kids gear, groceries, car seats, etc in it and still have plenty of room for everyone. I haven't had any major issues with it. It's very reliable."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Would definately buy another one.

By on Sunday, April 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I would want to buy another one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very good vehicle.

By on Thursday, April 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Spacious, privacy glass"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Drives well and pulls a medium size boat well. The center row of seats split 60/40 to lay flat and the rear seat easily removes. Able to load 4x8 sheets of material just like a truck while keeping it covered from the elements."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Really love my Suburban, don't like the gas prices

By on Saturday, April 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rides nice, dependable, comfortable"

Cons: "Gas Prices are high"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My Chevy Surburban has been very dependable. It makes me wanna take a road trip every time I drive it on the freeway (; It's convient and very comfortable to drive (I love the big vehicals) Don't like the gas prices but $50 to $70 a week and I drive to and from work plus all my extra running each week so not to bad for such a big vehical. I would recommend having a small economy car but I love my Suburban. Me and my friend got our rides on the same day and I haven't had any problems outta mine!!! Thank God but her tahoe she hasn't been as lucky with."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Saturday, April 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Size, reliability, great to drive, comfort"

Cons: "Pitted rims, price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Pricey but worth it. Bought brand new, just waiting for 2014 models to come out and I will be getting a new one. Only complaint is the rims have become pitted and lost some of their clearcoat."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

GREAT SUV would purchase another

By on Saturday, April 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have had this vechile for 11 years and it is GREAT..we have children and it has worked wonderful for us. I would purchase another one ..gas mileage is the only issue but 17 mpg is not bad with all that you get for the dollar. I would recommend to anyone.."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my truck

By on Friday, April 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The suburban has always been one of the best hauling vehicles on the road, the new body style didn't change this. It has plenty of comfort and power whether you are hauling a load or not. Definitely recommend this vehicle to anyone looking to get a full size SUV."

Overall a quality family vehicle.

By on Monday, April 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased a 2005 Z71 new in July of 05. Currently has 108000 miles on it and is a great vehicle. In year 2 the fuel pump needed replacement under warranty. I have had no other issues until this past few months, which prompted me to write this review. My rear tailgate electronic actuator failed along w/ my master cylinder. These were not cheap to fix as both parts and labor was over $1200.00 dollars. This past week I was hearing a intermittent clunking under the car and could not figure out what is was. It was not constant, but was very loud and noticeable when happening. Took it to the shop and they said my universal joints were ready to fall out - replaced . Left shop and within 10 minutes the clunking was back. Returned to shop and I witnessed them test the brakes on the lift. They took off the rear drum and 2 pieces of the emergency brake fell on the floor. All four pads replaced for the first time. Chevy made some very good pads for this truck. In cloing if you ever here a clunk check your brakes."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A GREAT and Reliable Family Vehicle

By on Saturday, March 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and dependable."

Cons: "I have no complaints about this vehicle."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought our 2002 Chevy Suburban at the end od 2001. Since then, we have put 177,000 enjoyable miles on this vehicle. In addition to daily driving, we have taken it on many family vacation trips. The only mechanical problem that we have had is the water pump went out around 130,000 miles. It began to develop a slight leak on the way home from a famliy vacation. However, it did not leave us stranded. We made it home and then to the dealership for repair. Also, I did not have to replace front or back brakes until 175,000 miles. The vehicle still runs like it did the day we bought it, does not burn any oil, and we will be taking it on a 1,200 mile vacation in July. I have no doubt that it will perform flawlessly, like it has since we bought it. I highly recommend this vehicle and would rank it #1 in the 10 or so vehicles that I have owned over the past 20 years."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Suburban 2500 near Honolulu. See local deals