Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2006 Chevrolet Suburban 2500

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 725 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

Z71 1500 full tow package 5.3 Vortex 327 Auto Tra

By on Monday, March 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good overall car dependable"

Cons: "I can not complain about it,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the sweetest drive I have ever owned. It rides like a Cadlac sweet ride all leather seats. Four bucket and one bench in back. I get 17 miles to the gallon out on the Hwy around town it doesnt do good on gas around 13. I love it for the ride heated seats full sterio system built in."

Best vehicle I've ever owned, hate to let it go

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 325,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I wish gas mileage was a little better"

Cons: "There are none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle I've ever owned, hate to let it go, but with the mileage, which is mostly interstate driving, I have to replace it. Wish I could afford a used Suburban about 3-4 years old, great vehicles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Comfortable & excellent for trips.

By on Monday, March 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased used in 2001 from rental company. Almost no repairs, just routine maintenance costs. Some minor electrical malfunctions (left passenger window & sometimes sticks on high heat). Some in-town driving but used for all road trips. Seats comfortable with no resulting back pain: we're in our 80s so comfort is an important issue. If a major problem develops, we'll get another Chev or GMC suburban, used."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck ever!

By on Saturday, February 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lots of power, looks good, carries everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still love the style of this year Suburban. You can keep the later models. This thing has hauled everything from new calves to food to hay and can plow through snow and mud. With routine maintenance, it's still going strong, hopefully for another 100k miles."

Best SUV ever built.

By on Wednesday, February 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sherman tank with heated seats and gobs of torque."

Cons: "Mileage (or lack thereof)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased the Burb new in 01 primarily as my river commuter and tow vehicle. As the years have gone by I prefer driving this over my late model truck or my BMW as my daily drive. Easy to drive excellent power and more comfortable than my sofa. Other than regular maintenance the only parts ever replaced were a water pump and an alternator at 125000. These were only changed because I figured this to be cheap insurance on a 14 year old car."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Friday, February 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Comfortable drive, plenty of room for tall people like myself, sturdy and dependable"

best vehicle ever

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "7.3 diesel, power, western hauler conv. well maint"

Cons: "250k"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"great vehicle 1 owner"

Great vehicle I have had it for 10 years

By on Wednesday, February 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great reliable vehicle"

Cons: "Not the best fuel economy but the comfort and ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this vehicle for 10 years . Still drives great and looks good even after 193000 miles."

very good vehicle

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My vehicle is comfortable; I really enjoy the features. I would recommend the vehicle to anyone."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Drove for 13 years, loved every minute!

By on Saturday, January 10, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: gave to daughter

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "gas was expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was wonderful! Never any problems mechanically, reliable and comfortable. Was an adjustment living without it!"

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned!

By on Saturday, January 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, great family and work SUV"

Cons: "Fuel mileage typical of an SUV"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2003 Suburban 1500 4WD Indigo Blue Gray Leather interior

"This car has served our family well since late 2003, on long trips, moving kids to college, hauling car pools, trips around town and making deliveries for my business. The 4WD is a life saver in bad weather! Other than regular maintenance, I've never had to take this car to the shop for any problems. Reliable, comfortable to drive, great for 7 passengers, even on long trips. They just don't make cars like this any more. Even on the gas mileage, I would get up to 18 on the highway. The kids have moved on and I don't need a car this big any more, until the grand kids come along!"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

2003 Suburban 1500 4WD Indigo Blue Gray Leather interior

The ultimate SUV

By on Tuesday, November 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 350,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great road trip vehicle"

Cons: "Drinks excessivly in town."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is simply wonderful. 14 years and other than the fuel pump (replaced three times) which was finally recalled, four batteries, one service (Note the truck has over 350,000 miles), and regular oil changes no problems. I wish I could buy this same truck again today (she is getting old)."

20 people out of 36 found this review helpful

Great Tow Vehicle

By on Saturday, November 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great Tow Vehicle. I tow a 8000 lbs travel trailer"

Cons: "Fuel Economy. I get about 7-10 MPG when towing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've owned this truck almost a year. Took a chance buying from an auction. I bought this vehicle because it was 3/4 ton and had enough power to pull a 28 foot travel trailer I had recently purchased. I replaced a 1/2 ton Ford Expedition I felt would be under powered since I live in the Mountains. After Normal maintenace, Engine oil, Trans fluid,antifreeze, hoses, belt replacements, tune up, replaced 1 motor mount,So far after 6 camping trips this year towing my travel trailer with about 5-7 people a trip, I've had no problems. And thats towing thru 95+ degrees this past summer. My main issue is the fuel economy. But, I've come to the conclussion you have to pay to play."

6 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Great Dependable Vehicle

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Dependable"

Cons: "Nothing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've been having this since it was brand new. Wonderful vehicle. Still running too. 243000 miles and never had to do any big things to it. just normal (brakes, u joints, and oil changes)!"

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great version of the Suburban

By on Sunday, November 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "really feel safe in this truck, love the 4wd."

Cons: "only 13 mpg, but I didn't buy it for that reason."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"All the goodies, only about 14500 miles per year and runs like a top."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great vehicle for large families.

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, spacious, reliable, safe./"

Cons: "not the best for pulling trailers."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The suburban has held up well over the past 11 years. I've put a new water pump, power steering pump and new front-end bearings and assembly. It consistently gets 13 mpg. It's very comfortable and quite spacious. We have packed our family of 5 in the suburban with suitcases and 2 dogs (and their kennels) and done some long road trips. I've pulled trailers many times and feel that the 1500 is a little under-powered for trailering much weight; it likes to downshift quite a bit."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have drove

By on Saturday, October 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Rides like a dream down the road and makes family trips great."

13 people out of 22 found this review helpful

One owner; needs $500 in repairs; great family car

By on Friday, October 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent family car; one owner; needs some small repairs"

Great heavy mover, whether people or trailing.

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,530

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great for moving people or supplies"

Cons: "Problem driving d/t over all size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have a large family and can move all 8 at one time. I fix 4 foot by 8 foot plywood or drywall in to the back with rear seat out and middle seat down, no other SUV can do that. Pulling a heavy trailer (5'000 to 7,000 lbs.) is easy. if you are a driver who do not do well with big vehicles then this is no the vehicle for you. You need to be comfortable with it's over all size and be able to think ahead about you surroundinggs"

3 people out of 10 found this review helpful

A Great 4 WD all Luxuries.

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great Vehicle for All Use"

Cons: "Big Engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Still Love it!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Rides like a Cadillac!

By on Monday, October 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 290,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive"

Cons: "Gas Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just love it!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Reliable and Comfortable

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Cargo and passenger space, comfort"

Cons: "Parking is a challenge"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My 2002 Suburban is a workhorse. It's been extremely reliable, has not caused problems outside of normal aging, and is very comfortable."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Love this car---been great since bought in 2006.

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Hugs road, easy to handle, no serious problems"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Dependable, easy to drive, fab storage space, comfortable interior---no problems, great car."

4 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Been an awesome vehicle

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has always been awesome. Bought it brand new. One owner. Has never been in the shop for maintenance with the exception of a transmission switch a few years back. Rock solid truck. Always babied and in garage with maybe 15K miles past 5 years. I would never sell, but moving into 5th wheel from trailer. I need a pickup."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Lemon without the Lemonaide

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great ride; love to drive long distances"

Cons: "lots of repairs; repairs are all expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We've sunk in at least $10K since buying new. Fuel pump, AC twice, All the front gauges, cannot release the spare tire, lots of rust... Now we are trading in for reliability and going with Toyota where we've previously had a lot of success."

3 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Suburban 2500 near Honolulu. See local deals