Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2003 Chevrolet Suburban 2500

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 723 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

2003 Suburban Z71

By on Saturday, March 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "lots of room, great pick up, high quality"

Cons: "steering wheel not in center of driver"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this vehicle. Great family hauler. Z71 has a harder ride than the other versions. Next time I would get the cushioned suspension. Also I thought it was odd that the steering wheel is not in the center of the driver. Driver sits to the left of the steering column. Went from an Expedition to the Suburban for the room. Have three children."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Dependable auto for families with safety in mind.

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Large, Safe"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Performing the routine maintance over the years proved it to be a dependable safe auto for the family. Outside of routine maintenance we had a fuel pump go out. Overall a good family auto."

Worst vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfort, room, power."

Cons: "Just way too much maintenance."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The good news is it's never left us stranded anywhere. The bad news is it needs $700 worth of repairs on a quarterly basis. Pretty sure the on-star system is GM's way of uploading problems to the vehicle. I'm amazed the check engine light bulb hasn't burned out yet. But it is comfortable, plenty of power, can haul a ton of people with all the outdoor gear you need."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The best vehicle that I have ever owned!

By on Wednesday, February 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great design, performance, comfort &reliability."

Cons: "Gas mileage is only 14 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I highly recommend the Chevrolet Suburban for anyone who needs an full sized SUV. Everything about this vehicle has been perfect starting with its design and including everything in between to performance and reliability. It's shameful to see what the value service are offering for my truck's value. A mere 10% of what I paid new eleven years and 200,000 ago, but that's okay with me, because this vehicle is worth so much more than that and I will probably keep it til my days here are gone. It's that good! Congratulations Chevy for figuring it out."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love my truck

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck in 03 with 25,000 miles and I have never regretted my purchase. It has been an extremely reliable vehicle. I have over 175,000 miles with a $600 repair in 05 otherwise its just normal maintenance. The interior is roomy and comfortable and seats 8 with plenty of leg and headroom for all. Ok, so the gas mileage isn’t that great, 14MPG but I have a heavy foot. The power is there when you need it and it drives like a Cadillac. I wouldn’t change a thing."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

An amazing vehicle

By on Saturday, December 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "excellent vehicle mechanically"

Cons: "leather wears out over the years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our truck will turn 11 years old this coming year and we are so thankful that we purchased it used 9 years ago. It has been an amazing family/ work truck over the years with little mechanical or other issues. Keep the oil changed and regular yearly maintenance and you will have an amazing vehicle that holds its' value well!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Tuesday, December 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"well spent money.best vehicle i ever owned."

1 person out of 7 found this review helpful

This has been a great vehicle;taken great care

By on Thursday, December 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 286,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very dependable and smooth riding;great seats"

Cons: "paint on hood in bad shape and a few small dents"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"the vehicle has been very dependable and I would go anywhere in the USA with it right now.It does have some paint repair and it bhas TV for children to watch while traveling."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Overall comfortable and reliable workhorse.

By on Thursday, November 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable, reliable, adaptable and safe."

Cons: "Other than fuel economy, none."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Purchased second hand, this vehicle has been a joy to own. It's been most convenient in a wide variety or ways. It hauls the entire family comfortably on outings and vacations. With the 3rd seat removed and the center seats folded down, it can haul more than a full size pickup safely and out of the weather. It's truly a Texas limousine with the leather seating. As a hauler, it pulls my trailer with ease. As a daily driver, it performs any job asked of it. It's also a safe vehicle to be in. I've owned many Suburbans and find this to be the best so far. I truly don't want to see this vehicle go as the new ones cost way too much and are probably extremely expensive to service."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

450000 kilometres and still going strong

By on Sunday, November 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 450,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 97 Suburban is the third one I have owned. Its the most comfortable ride I own. I will only sell it to get a 2500 series suburban so I can tow a bigger boat. The 1500 tows great to 5000 lbs. and hauls 8 people regularly.I bought it at 270000 Km and put a new tranny in. I rebuilt the front end, ball joints etc.and it is tight and solid. I get 19 mpg with the 5.7 l (350) on the highway fully loaded.It is reliable and has been our best vehicle for years."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great long distance runner

By on Tuesday, November 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "Price is high"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We have owned a suburban for 6 years now and it very reliable. To our surprise, it is the best long distance vehicle I've ever driven, include a 14 hour fun run to Canada."

Great truck but drives like a car

By on Friday, November 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this since new. It has been excellent and never had a problem, except with the radio which was fixed"

New Michelin tires, new brakes all around,

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "everything works inside and out, interior very cle"

Cons: "2001 with 170500 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"front end rebuilt"

wow the power

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this will pull anything and haul 6-7 people comfortable rides like a car great value"

nice truck,wish it was newer..

By on Sunday, November 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "like a 4 dr.pickup with a cap"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Fold down the rear seat and slide in 4x8 material and keep it dry.or set the third rear seat up and you have room for 9 passengers,and a dog..We get a combo mileage of 17mpg,witch is great for what it does, an 4x4 when u need it.."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck ever!

By on Thursday, October 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride, reliabe"

Cons: "Gas but really not as bad as some say."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really can't say enough good things about this truck. Super reliable-comfie ride, handles great! I would buy another if I still needed all the passenger space. I hate to get rid of this one!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Darn good Truck/Suburban

By on Tuesday, October 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 299,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this 2004 Suburban w/44,000 miles on it in Jan, 2006. Since then I have had no major work done on it. I used it to go back and forth to work at several locations, as well as family trips. I put well over 30,000 miles a year on it and kept the oil changed every 5,000 miles. It now has 291,000 miles and still runs great. The a/c works great, but once in a while the actuator doors for the front a/c malfunction, and it blows very hot air. The only thing to do is to pull over, turn the a/c off, turn the engine off, and start over to reset the computer that controls the actuator doors. This is a factory defect, but there is no recall. It is at least $1000 to replace with re-built actuator doors (dampers) that may or may not work any better. Not going to do that. I can pull over within a few miles when I need to. I will probably trade sometime soon, as metal fatigue takes its toll on vehicles and things will start to break. This has really been my best of 4 Chevy/GMC Suburban/Yukon over the last 30 years and I put over 275,000 miles on all of them. The only one I bought new was a 1999 GMC Yukon. I did love the vehicle, but the 4-wheel drive presented some major repairs on two occasions. With that said, I am thinking seriously about a Ford-F150 CNG/LPG pickup for my next purchase. It may be my last. I am very interested, but not enthused or excited. I have to do my research and learn more. I may go back to GMC Yukon. Who knows?"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Lasted along time, only minor hiccups

By on Wednesday, October 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, pulls well, looks great"

Cons: "MPG and Chinese replacement parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Its not mine (parents) and i drive it everywhere. I have the dark blue one and it looks pretty nice. Over all a good vehicle, just trying not to put to much money into it as it is older now. MPG not best but is great for hauling people"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

well worth the money

By on Wednesday, October 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Space, driving comfort, security in bad weather"

Cons: "Don't buy if you want MPG, get a Prius"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 2002 Suburban LT new with almost every option. The leather seat starting to show wear and tear, and body starting to show some rust and paint peeling on rocker panels behind tires, but with 170,000+ miles, it's expected. I did all maintenance regularly (oil change, tire rotations, washing), had no engine or transmission issues, did 1 complete 100K maintenance (plugs, wires, all fluids in transmission, transfer case 4X4, rear end). Besides the expected items (brakes, tires, 1 set of wheel bearing in front, each side) no other issues. Would like to get another one, but really no longer need a larger SUV, as kids are in college and out of the house."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have owned

By on Tuesday, August 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reasonable price, and great value"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased new. Best vehicle I have ever owned (out of over 50 vehicles including European and Asian). Highway ride is great. comfort and convenience - great. Not bad on fuel considering the size and weight. Gets exactly what the sticker said 14 city, 18 highway."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

a GREAT vehicle

By on Monday, August 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price very servicable still"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"we purchased new and had to put a transmission in it at 93,000 miles same as the 2 previous cars between 89,000 and 93,000 miles-all I can say is manufacturing defect we have not had any other problems"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

it is a verry very good car

By on Thursday, August 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I want to keep it for a long time---I want yo know what it is worth"

best vehicle ive ever owned

By on Tuesday, July 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable tows well lots of room and fun to dri"

Cons: "paint on my dashboard is coming off in places"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Grat vehicle ive replaced the ac compresser and a rear bearing other than that nothing. I just looked at the trade in value of 5000.00 lol not a chance you cant touch a vehicle as nice as this for no measily 5000 That just made me decide not to get a new vehicle ill keep my 2002 burb its more dependable than most new vehicles ive seen friends by thanks for helping me make up my mind"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Wednesday, July 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 298,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable"

Cons: "Fuel mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle I have ever owned almost 300,000 miles and still runs great very dependable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I will ALWAYS own a Suburban

By on Sunday, July 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Versatile, easy to handle"

Cons: "MPG isn't all that great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this vehicle, not only is it stylish, it's versatile for passengers and for carrying supplies for my business. There is nothing else like it!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Suburban 2500 near Honolulu. See local deals