Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Chevrolet Suburban 1500 Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $43,603 - $44,742.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $47,295

Fair Purchase Price $44,173
Fair Market Range ($43,603 - $44,742)

Invoice $44,054
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.5 of 10

10/7.5

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 239 Ratings for the 2007 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

one of the top vehicles in my book!

By on Saturday, June 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the second suburban I have owned, They are great to handle in the winter, nice ride,"

9 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Have six kids and I can really fit six kids in it!

By on Saturday, May 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Big, safe, not a mini van, cool"

Cons: "Gas can be a pain ,but worth it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Much better then having a mini van. Is as tough as my Sierra but I can fit my family of eight in the suburban. Cargo area is perfect, and it can haul a lot! After I bought my first suburban I got two of my sister in-laws to by there own, they love there's. If you want something safe, reliable, and will fit a large family then a suburban is a win win."

11 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Third one we've owned, great vehicle

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Has power, comfort, roominess, & elevation"

Cons: "Really?, remove frt bumper to change bulb"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"We owned a pickup & a sedan, each for their individual purposes. Decided to go to one vehicle and the Chevy Suburban fit the bill."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Bought new

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I liked this suburban until the engine blew at only 54,000 miles. NO it was not because it was not maintained. I take very good care of all my vehicles but this one didn't last as others I have had. There was also a problem at about 20,000 miles when the heater went out. That was covered under the normal warranty. The engine was not covered as it was over the five year 100,000 mile drive train warranty. Luckily, I purchased an extended warranty. This is still a very good looking and comfortable vehicle and I like it except the engine blowing."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very Noce Vehicle, Love It

By on Friday, May 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Smooth, Classy, Quiet Ride, Powerful"

Cons: "Pricy, Bad on Gas, Prone to theft, Easy to Speed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

A Leveling Kit was added to the front of the Vehicle

"I love to drive my suburban it is my daily driver and I have cranked 70000 miles on this baby since 2011 and she hasn't needed a single tune up or servicing and Delivers a smooth whisper quiet ride while being pulled by a super powerful V8. I love the plush leather seats and the quality bose sound makes the drive to any destination a breeze. I always put in premium fuel and I always get the oil changed every 2500 miles with high quality synthetic oil. My wife is the driver of this car and She LOVES it, as we switched from a 2007 Yukon XL denali to a suburban we have been just as pleased with the suburban."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

A Leveling Kit was added to the front of the Vehicle

Absolutely LOVE this vehicle!!!

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lots of features that make a long drive better"

Cons: "A little pricey and not the best MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Simply beautiful!!

"We absolutely LOVE this vehicle and would never go with anything else again. We will keep this one til it dies and then replace it with another Suburban. We have a 6 person family, so the room and comfort it offers is insurpassable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Simply beautiful!!

Suburban - perfect large SUV!

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, powerful, tows everything, roomy"

Cons: "Eats gas, 13 to 14 mpg but what do you expect?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Why would you own any other SUV other than a Suburban? I have 3 kids and we drive to most of our vacations (just got back from Disney World!). Enough room for everything in back, drives awesome, handles like a car, you're up high and tons of power. We have horses and trailer everything and it never feels like it's pulling anything. We have a Diamond Anniversary edition and while GM doesn't make much right, one thing they do know how to make is a large SUV!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Suburban - perfect large SUV!

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, powerful, tows everything, roomy"

Cons: "Eats gas, 13 to 14 mpg but what do you expect?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Why would you own any other SUV other than a Suburban? I have 3 kids and we drive to most of our vacations (just got back from Disney World!). Enough room for everything in back, drives awesome, handles like a car, you're up high and tons of power. We have horses and trailer everything and it never feels like it's pulling anything. We have a Diamond Anniversary edition and while GM doesn't make much right, one thing they do know how to make is a large SUV!"

Suburban - perfect large SUV!

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, powerful, tows everything, roomy"

Cons: "Eats gas, 13 to 14 mpg but what do you expect?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Why would you own any other SUV other than a Suburban? I have 3 kids and we drive to most of our vacations (just got back from Disney World!). Enough room for everything in back, drives awesome, handles like a car, you're up high and tons of power. We have horses and trailer everything and it never feels like it's pulling anything. We have a Diamond Anniversary edition and while GM doesn't make much right, one thing they do know how to make is a large SUV!"

Suburban - perfect large SUV!

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, powerful, tows everything, roomy"

Cons: "Eats gas, 13 to 14 mpg but what do you expect?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Why would you own any other SUV other than a Suburban? I have 3 kids and we drive to most of our vacations (just got back from Disney World!). Enough room for everything in back, drives awesome, handles like a car, you're up high and tons of power. We have horses and trailer everything and it never feels like it's pulling anything. We have a Diamond Anniversary edition and while GM doesn't make much right, one thing they do know how to make is a large SUV!"

Great all around vehicle

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Room, ride, quiet, versatile for towing & luggage"

Cons: "Big truck to park"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 4th Suburban. I have had 80,000 miles of worry free ownership. All I have had to do is regular maintenance. It rides like a big car, tows like a big truck, and gets better gas mileage than my son's V6 Nissan pickup. I have no complaints at all about this vehicle."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

GREAT ROONINESS great power BE GREAT FOR FAMILY

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"WELL TAKEN CARE OF AND KEPT WELL. HAS SERVED ME WELL."

Why didn't I own one sooner!

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Room, confidence, reliability, options"

Cons: "No bluetooth in 2008 for phone, only OnStar mins"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely wish had I had bought a Suburban years before I bought this one. I was always a minivan driver when we started a family. The gas mpg for the Suburban (4WD) only averages about 3 miles less per gallon than a 2WD, 6 cylinder minivan. I have had this vehicle for years, and reliability and flexibility have left nothing wanted. Plenty of space for passengers and storage. Power to tow just about anything you wish to, while very stable on the road when towing. Every option to make your time on the road, and around town, comfortable and confident. Although they are expensive initially, they have lasting value and reliability. I plan to have this vehicle as long as it will have me.."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Friday, February 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive lots of room for a family trip"

Cons: "Does not hold it's value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Just cost too much for repairs and doesn't hold it's value! For it too be 7 years old paid almost 60k and now only worth 15k......."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

love the vehicle hate the gas mileage

By on Saturday, November 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,600

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"we went from a 06 escalade esv with the vortex max to the 07 suburban with the 6.0 with cylinder deactivation and must say the escalade got much better mpg than this suburban ever thought of. We have owned this for 11 months and I would go back to the older model today if I could"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Drives like a car..tows like a truck

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Suburbans are great vehicles for anyone with a large, active family. Reliable, driveable and comfortable for the entire family. Also; the gas mileage is typically better than listed on websites...usually closer to 17 City/19 HW."

Best vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Saturday, October 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the sense of security of such a large SUV. The handling is very sporty for the size of the vehicle. We use it a lot for traveling and the kids and we have plenty of room. I will absolutely buy another when we're ready to trade it in."

Tahoe and Suburbans are the best overall vehicles.

By on Friday, September 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, good visibility(I'm 6'2")"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Having driven many vehicles over 45 years, the Suburban has been the most pleasant and reliable I have had. Our 2013 Suburban LTZ (towing and 4WD) meets all our family local and long trip needs, comfortably. I especially like the air ride feature for towing equalizaton and for my Rheumatoid arthritis. Being 100% disabled and sometimes needing to drive for 8-10 hours is no problem. All the safety features add a degree of relaxation as well (lane-change warning in side view mirrors; back-up warning and view is great in parking lots). Using the bluetooth feature with my cell phone is a stroke of genius: hands free driving and focus on the road at all times. I had a 2011 LTZ and probably will get a 2015 or later model. They just keep getting better!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Nice and comfy replacement for my last Suburban

By on Friday, September 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Roomy, Nice interior and exterior style"

Cons: "No fold flat seats, no tail gate option, no diesel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very nicely done interior, looks great, rides nice, exterior looks good too. Easy to haul lots of people and 4 x 8 sheets from the hardware store. A few things I do not like are first the second row seats do not fold flat like my last one, there is no tailgate (so sorry auto makers do not offer that anymore) and that there is hesitation when you first press on the gas pedal. I also wish they offered a diesel engine!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Worth it

By on Monday, July 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks mean, fun to drive, roomy, economical for V8"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Needed something big enough for the family and big enough to tow. With the 5.3 I can tow our 29' travel trailer with no issue at all, have all three rows full of people and everyone comfortable. When it's just the immediate family and no trailer, the 18+ MPG around our little neck of the woods (rural area), is great for my wallet."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Must have rolled off the assembly line on Friday

By on Saturday, June 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Large capacity"

Cons: "Abysmal quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car is one of the many reasons why I will never buy another GM Obamacar. I have been replacing the entire vehicle piecemeal ever since I bought it. Both front wheels tried to fall off one time."

4 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Loved the car for the first year

By on Monday, May 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,500

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "size and comfort, power, style, looked good"

Cons: "Poor electrical systems and motors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Great out of the box, but all door locks, rear hatch, side window defrost, tow gear, electric windshield heater, CD player broke between 9 months and 3 yrs. Engine quit at 126,000 miles."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great for my entire family- haven't had any issue

By on Sunday, April 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fuel economy for the size; space; features"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle! I haven't had any issues with it in four years of driving it. It has plenty of space and great features. Fuel economy is close to 20 mpg in the warmer months."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Biggest waist of money ever!

By on Sunday, March 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,059

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "It handle surprisingly well for how big it is."

Cons: "Engine and transmission failing!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The engine was poorly designed and they could have done a better fuel program that would meet each customers need. Its also really big so not a city vehicle at all. And lastly Transmission problems."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

great ride!!

By on Tuesday, March 05, 2013

I don't own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "absolutely wonderful ride the last of a dyingbreed"

Cons: "nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"why on gods green earth wold ANYONE buy an 80k dollar toyota land cruiser whe they could have the suburban and all of the reliability comfort room style wonderful driving dynamics and overall quality along aith the best resale in the business. for 57k!!! nuff said!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.