Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2006 Chevrolet Suburban 1500

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 691 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next

great car for active lifestyle at shore, mountains

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "big, heavy, safe, lots of inside room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"holds lots of toys (kayaks, skis, dogs, surf boards, etc. great in snow; big and safe"

Still Rolling Along

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 263,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very Drivable, handles well,"

Cons: "Going to the gas pump and body rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased my 2002 Suburban LT as a leftover the dealers wife was driving with 5500 miles on it. I was going to get the base model, but salesman told me to take it for a test drive and my wife loved the heated seats. It was only a $1000 more, had many extras and still had 0% financing . I have driven the car now for over 13 years, and I do quite a bit of driving. The truck currently has 263,000 miles on it, and still runs great. It was a great vehicle while my kids were involved in travel sports (ice hockey, cheerleading and one still playing travel baseball). The only major problems have been with the fuel pump twice. It went bad at 30,000 miles, but was under warranty. It when again at a little over 100,000 miles and cost about $1000 to fix. Other than that, it has been routine maintenance… brakes, tires and water pump. For the most part, it has started every day I have had it other than the fuel pump issues. I still drive it daily. Over last few year, it has begun to leak oil (quart every 2000 miles), the driver's quarter is rusting and the paint is bubbling in a few spots, the front window motors do not work, and I have to put the fuse in and out the few times a year I need 4 wheel drive. I dad on my son's travel baseball team just had to junk his 2002 Suburban at over 350,000 miles. At this point, I drive with the title in the car just incase it should die. I will sign it over to the tow truck drive on the spot. My wife would like it gone due to the oil leak, but it's part of the family. I do not plan to put any major money back into it, but plan to drive it until it dies. It has been a great car if you don't think about the $46,000 in gas I have spent while driving this vehicle. I would love to get another, but will most likely not because of the sticker price and the cost of gas today. I will definitely miss it when it does go, but kids are older and it did far more than I ever expected from this vehicle."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

awesome

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "nice . Very comfortable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love my suburban purchase 2006 has been garaged and very we'll taken care of'"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A real Disappointment

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy & great handling"

Cons: "Horrific repair record"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We bought the car new because we needed a large vehicle for long family trips. I love the way it drives and handles. It's roomy and comfortable and we can haul a ton of whatever we want. But it's reliability is horrible. It has not been used everyday at any time, only for long trips and local use when needing its capacity. Less than 8,000 mi per year. As soon as the extended warranty expired at 60 k miles, it began to break down. And note it has been maintained as per Chevy owners manual by the dealer to this day. First it was the front air bag sensor at $700, then the speedometer cluster at $600, then the windshield washer / wiper at $300. All things that should not be failing at 70k miles after 8 years of little use. I love the car but will not spend my hard earned money on another one. Next big family car will be a Toyota Sequoia. Sorry USA MADE, but you failed."

"The mpg is good. In Very Good Condition

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable, reliable, adaptable and safe."

Cons: "Other than fuel economy, none."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This vehicle has been a joy to own. It's been most convenient in a wide variety or ways. It hauls the entire family comfortably on outings and vacations. With the 3rd seat removed and the center seats folded down.Love It Because Its Lifted."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable tough truck!

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great performance and Very comfortable!"

Cons: "Passes everything but a gas station"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I'm very pleased with this truck. If you got something to haul weather it would be people or a camper this is it. I just don't like the gas mileage while driving around empty, i would think this could be improved upon. I do have the K&N filter system and that helps a little but this is a thirsty truck."

one owner

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great family truck"

Cons: "gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"good truck"

Love it!

By on Wednesday, June 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned this suburban for 2 years now and we absolutely love it. There is so much room in the back for storage. The seats in all three rows are very comfy and similar to the front ones. We haven't had one mechanical issue with it though we have had minor electrical issues but I think that is to be expected out of a 8 yr old vehicle. It rides very smooth and we readily use the luggage rack on top for strapping all sort of things down from kayaks to boards. I am not sure how it would pull a trailer as we have a truck for those jobs."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my Suburban very much!!!

By on Saturday, May 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It is still a beauthful vehicle."

Cons: "We have bad Streets and it drives like a truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It burns no oil and still gets over 17 miles to the gallon, I drive 35 min each way to work and back and I love this car/truck."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This was my dream car and I have loved it.

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best vacation car ever!"

Cons: "Poor gas milesage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Perfect family car, lots of room for everything!! Upgrades are awesome. Really bad gas mileage but what can you expect with a large family size car, 4WD, off road tires. I am very happy with this Suburban and would buy another one if I had the opportunity."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "space, comfort, reliability"

Cons: "mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought new and have driven every day since purchase. Comfort, space and reliability are excellent. Our family has vacationed, camped, boated with this beast for the past 9 years. Although family nearly grown, I'll buy another."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love the Suburbans

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great product, reliable and maintains value"

Cons: "price starts high, Autoride expensive to repair!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our third Suburban. We have lots of boys, and these vehicles are a great purchase. The only complaint I have is the cost to fix the autoride system, when it goes out. We drive these vehicles until they have over 200000 miles on them (we travel a lot). The ride is good, the Ford makes a more comfortable seat though. Easy to fix, usually inexpensive to fix, and a person who can work on a vehicle can usually maintain without a shop or specialized tools. When you hit 175,000 on these vehicles you will start dumping money in them, if you are not prepared or want this trade off way before this to maintain a good trade in value. You will replace front end, and transmission on these around this time. If you have towed with you can count on replacing rear end as well. Love the roomy interior. We will be buying a new suburban this summer."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Just overall a great vehicle.

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You absolutely cannot beat the Suburban. Perfect combination of size, performance, usability, toughness. Looking for another one now."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Good mileage

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I see many get gas mileage around 18 MPG on these. I own a 2001 1500 RWD, and when driving on the highway I normally get between 22 and 25 MPG. Just a stock 5.3 with no modifications."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2001 z-71 with 224.000 miles and love it!

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 224,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "looks, size, ride, stability"

Cons: "stereo button lights gave out & cant replace"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle is very reliable, 224,000 miles with the orginal drivetain and still going strong.Very stylish with z-71 trim. The only thing i would need to do before taking a cross country trip is fill it with gas. comfy ride and gets around great on icy snowy road conditions, just select auto 4x4 and it engages as required. I average 18mpg on the highway which is very acceptable considering the size of vehicle. Only normal maintainence items have needed attention. Dont be affraid of one of these with alot of miles if it has good maintainece records."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

This vehicle is in outstanding condition.

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great vehicle to travel in. Plenty of room."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"New brakes, New Plugs, and wiring. New belts, and hoses, New universal joints, New front wheel bearings, excellent tires. Exterior and Interior in excellent condition."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

05 suburban

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "love the self tinting side mirrors -no longer avai"

Cons: "MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned a 99 gmc yukon xl, 2002 sub (both 1/2 T) and now this 05. I rate the 05 the best but all three have been excellent. Never a single problem with any of the 3. I tow 2 atvs on a single axle 3500 rated trailer occasionally. Mostly out west, Colo, MT, AZ and, yes, the gas consumption while towing, especially in the mountains, is about 10-12 mpg with the 5.3 liter v-8. Not sure what the rear end ratio is. I'm about to retire soon and want to upgrade to a newer model. KBB has my estimated value at 11,500 to a private party; about $2000 less for trade in value (very good-excellent condition). A difficult decision to make to sell/trade in with only 85k on it knowing it will probably go much more and the value will drop slower in the next year or two. Best vehicles ever owned since 1965."

Rust free! In garage or Florida in Winter months.

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good car, runs great"

Cons: "All bells and whistles no anti locking brakes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A good hauler and clean"

2003 Suburban Z71

By on Saturday, March 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "lots of room, great pick up, high quality"

Cons: "steering wheel not in center of driver"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this vehicle. Great family hauler. Z71 has a harder ride than the other versions. Next time I would get the cushioned suspension. Also I thought it was odd that the steering wheel is not in the center of the driver. Driver sits to the left of the steering column. Went from an Expedition to the Suburban for the room. Have three children."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Dependable auto for families with safety in mind.

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Large, Safe"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Performing the routine maintance over the years proved it to be a dependable safe auto for the family. Outside of routine maintenance we had a fuel pump go out. Overall a good family auto."

Worst vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfort, room, power."

Cons: "Just way too much maintenance."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The good news is it's never left us stranded anywhere. The bad news is it needs $700 worth of repairs on a quarterly basis. Pretty sure the on-star system is GM's way of uploading problems to the vehicle. I'm amazed the check engine light bulb hasn't burned out yet. But it is comfortable, plenty of power, can haul a ton of people with all the outdoor gear you need."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The best vehicle that I have ever owned!

By on Wednesday, February 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great design, performance, comfort &reliability."

Cons: "Gas mileage is only 14 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I highly recommend the Chevrolet Suburban for anyone who needs an full sized SUV. Everything about this vehicle has been perfect starting with its design and including everything in between to performance and reliability. It's shameful to see what the value service are offering for my truck's value. A mere 10% of what I paid new eleven years and 200,000 ago, but that's okay with me, because this vehicle is worth so much more than that and I will probably keep it til my days here are gone. It's that good! Congratulations Chevy for figuring it out."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love my truck

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck in 03 with 25,000 miles and I have never regretted my purchase. It has been an extremely reliable vehicle. I have over 175,000 miles with a $600 repair in 05 otherwise its just normal maintenance. The interior is roomy and comfortable and seats 8 with plenty of leg and headroom for all. Ok, so the gas mileage isn’t that great, 14MPG but I have a heavy foot. The power is there when you need it and it drives like a Cadillac. I wouldn’t change a thing."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

An amazing vehicle

By on Saturday, December 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "excellent vehicle mechanically"

Cons: "leather wears out over the years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our truck will turn 11 years old this coming year and we are so thankful that we purchased it used 9 years ago. It has been an amazing family/ work truck over the years with little mechanical or other issues. Keep the oil changed and regular yearly maintenance and you will have an amazing vehicle that holds its' value well!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Tuesday, December 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"well spent money.best vehicle i ever owned."

1 person out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Suburban 1500 near Honolulu. See local deals