Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2005 Chevrolet Suburban 1500

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 714 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 72 | Next

The ultimate SUV

By on Tuesday, November 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 350,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great road trip vehicle"

Cons: "Drinks excessivly in town."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is simply wonderful. 14 years and other than the fuel pump (replaced three times) which was finally recalled, four batteries, one service (Note the truck has over 350,000 miles), and regular oil changes no problems. I wish I could buy this same truck again today (she is getting old)."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great Tow Vehicle

By on Saturday, November 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great Tow Vehicle. I tow a 8000 lbs travel trailer"

Cons: "Fuel Economy. I get about 7-10 MPG when towing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've owned this truck almost a year. Took a chance buying from an auction. I bought this vehicle because it was 3/4 ton and had enough power to pull a 28 foot travel trailer I had recently purchased. I replaced a 1/2 ton Ford Expedition I felt would be under powered since I live in the Mountains. After Normal maintenace, Engine oil, Trans fluid,antifreeze, hoses, belt replacements, tune up, replaced 1 motor mount,So far after 6 camping trips this year towing my travel trailer with about 5-7 people a trip, I've had no problems. And thats towing thru 95+ degrees this past summer. My main issue is the fuel economy. But, I've come to the conclussion you have to pay to play."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Dependable Vehicle

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Dependable"

Cons: "Nothing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've been having this since it was brand new. Wonderful vehicle. Still running too. 243000 miles and never had to do any big things to it. just normal (brakes, u joints, and oil changes)!"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great version of the Suburban

By on Sunday, November 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "really feel safe in this truck, love the 4wd."

Cons: "only 13 mpg, but I didn't buy it for that reason."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"All the goodies, only about 14500 miles per year and runs like a top."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Great vehicle for large families.

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, spacious, reliable, safe./"

Cons: "not the best for pulling trailers."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The suburban has held up well over the past 11 years. I've put a new water pump, power steering pump and new front-end bearings and assembly. It consistently gets 13 mpg. It's very comfortable and quite spacious. We have packed our family of 5 in the suburban with suitcases and 2 dogs (and their kennels) and done some long road trips. I've pulled trailers many times and feel that the 1500 is a little under-powered for trailering much weight; it likes to downshift quite a bit."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have drove

By on Saturday, October 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Rides like a dream down the road and makes family trips great."

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

One owner; needs $500 in repairs; great family car

By on Friday, October 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent family car; one owner; needs some small repairs"

Great heavy mover, whether people or trailing.

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,530

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great for moving people or supplies"

Cons: "Problem driving d/t over all size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have a large family and can move all 8 at one time. I fix 4 foot by 8 foot plywood or drywall in to the back with rear seat out and middle seat down, no other SUV can do that. Pulling a heavy trailer (5'000 to 7,000 lbs.) is easy. if you are a driver who do not do well with big vehicles then this is no the vehicle for you. You need to be comfortable with it's over all size and be able to think ahead about you surroundinggs"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

A Great 4 WD all Luxuries.

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great Vehicle for All Use"

Cons: "Big Engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Still Love it!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Rides like a Cadillac!

By on Monday, October 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 290,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive"

Cons: "Gas Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just love it!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 72 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Suburban 1500 near Honolulu. See local deals