Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2003 Chevrolet Suburban 1500

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 717 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

very good vehicle

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My vehicle is comfortable; I really enjoy the features. I would recommend the vehicle to anyone."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Drove for 13 years, loved every minute!

By on Saturday, January 10, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: gave to daughter

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "gas was expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was wonderful! Never any problems mechanically, reliable and comfortable. Was an adjustment living without it!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned!

By on Saturday, January 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, great family and work SUV"

Cons: "Fuel mileage typical of an SUV"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2003 Suburban 1500 4WD Indigo Blue Gray Leather interior

"This car has served our family well since late 2003, on long trips, moving kids to college, hauling car pools, trips around town and making deliveries for my business. The 4WD is a life saver in bad weather! Other than regular maintenance, I've never had to take this car to the shop for any problems. Reliable, comfortable to drive, great for 7 passengers, even on long trips. They just don't make cars like this any more. Even on the gas mileage, I would get up to 18 on the highway. The kids have moved on and I don't need a car this big any more, until the grand kids come along!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

2003 Suburban 1500 4WD Indigo Blue Gray Leather interior

The ultimate SUV

By on Tuesday, November 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 350,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great road trip vehicle"

Cons: "Drinks excessivly in town."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is simply wonderful. 14 years and other than the fuel pump (replaced three times) which was finally recalled, four batteries, one service (Note the truck has over 350,000 miles), and regular oil changes no problems. I wish I could buy this same truck again today (she is getting old)."

19 people out of 34 found this review helpful

Great Tow Vehicle

By on Saturday, November 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great Tow Vehicle. I tow a 8000 lbs travel trailer"

Cons: "Fuel Economy. I get about 7-10 MPG when towing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've owned this truck almost a year. Took a chance buying from an auction. I bought this vehicle because it was 3/4 ton and had enough power to pull a 28 foot travel trailer I had recently purchased. I replaced a 1/2 ton Ford Expedition I felt would be under powered since I live in the Mountains. After Normal maintenace, Engine oil, Trans fluid,antifreeze, hoses, belt replacements, tune up, replaced 1 motor mount,So far after 6 camping trips this year towing my travel trailer with about 5-7 people a trip, I've had no problems. And thats towing thru 95+ degrees this past summer. My main issue is the fuel economy. But, I've come to the conclussion you have to pay to play."

5 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Great Dependable Vehicle

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Dependable"

Cons: "Nothing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've been having this since it was brand new. Wonderful vehicle. Still running too. 243000 miles and never had to do any big things to it. just normal (brakes, u joints, and oil changes)!"

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great version of the Suburban

By on Sunday, November 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "really feel safe in this truck, love the 4wd."

Cons: "only 13 mpg, but I didn't buy it for that reason."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"All the goodies, only about 14500 miles per year and runs like a top."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great vehicle for large families.

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, spacious, reliable, safe./"

Cons: "not the best for pulling trailers."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The suburban has held up well over the past 11 years. I've put a new water pump, power steering pump and new front-end bearings and assembly. It consistently gets 13 mpg. It's very comfortable and quite spacious. We have packed our family of 5 in the suburban with suitcases and 2 dogs (and their kennels) and done some long road trips. I've pulled trailers many times and feel that the 1500 is a little under-powered for trailering much weight; it likes to downshift quite a bit."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have drove

By on Saturday, October 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Rides like a dream down the road and makes family trips great."

13 people out of 22 found this review helpful

One owner; needs $500 in repairs; great family car

By on Friday, October 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent family car; one owner; needs some small repairs"

Great heavy mover, whether people or trailing.

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,530

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great for moving people or supplies"

Cons: "Problem driving d/t over all size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have a large family and can move all 8 at one time. I fix 4 foot by 8 foot plywood or drywall in to the back with rear seat out and middle seat down, no other SUV can do that. Pulling a heavy trailer (5'000 to 7,000 lbs.) is easy. if you are a driver who do not do well with big vehicles then this is no the vehicle for you. You need to be comfortable with it's over all size and be able to think ahead about you surroundinggs"

3 people out of 10 found this review helpful

A Great 4 WD all Luxuries.

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great Vehicle for All Use"

Cons: "Big Engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Still Love it!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Rides like a Cadillac!

By on Monday, October 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 290,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive"

Cons: "Gas Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just love it!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Reliable and Comfortable

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Cargo and passenger space, comfort"

Cons: "Parking is a challenge"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My 2002 Suburban is a workhorse. It's been extremely reliable, has not caused problems outside of normal aging, and is very comfortable."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Love this car---been great since bought in 2006.

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Hugs road, easy to handle, no serious problems"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Dependable, easy to drive, fab storage space, comfortable interior---no problems, great car."

4 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Been an awesome vehicle

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has always been awesome. Bought it brand new. One owner. Has never been in the shop for maintenance with the exception of a transmission switch a few years back. Rock solid truck. Always babied and in garage with maybe 15K miles past 5 years. I would never sell, but moving into 5th wheel from trailer. I need a pickup."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Lemon without the Lemonaide

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great ride; love to drive long distances"

Cons: "lots of repairs; repairs are all expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We've sunk in at least $10K since buying new. Fuel pump, AC twice, All the front gauges, cannot release the spare tire, lots of rust... Now we are trading in for reliability and going with Toyota where we've previously had a lot of success."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Perfect for me

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "still dependable after 13 years"

Cons: "in-town MPG low"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this vehicle new. It has hauled boxes for workshops, car parts, materials for 3 volunteer organizations, and suitcases for vacations ever since. The last long trip I made was from Texas to Indiana 2 years ago, and there were no problems whatsoever. Fuel mileage is low in all-town driving (about 13-14 MPG), but I can get 19 MPG on all highway driving. It is comfortable to drive and as a passenger, even in the back seats. Lots of storage room."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This was the first of 3 Surburbans.

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: New Surburban (08)

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "See below"

Cons: "See below"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"They are expensive to buy, expensive to run, expensive to fix. I'm okay with that. I've driven from to coast to coast in it. I'd do it again in a heartbeat. I'm self-employed, it hauls my gear. I ride in comfort. I've given a overall rating of 9/10. No one walks on water."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned!

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car new and has been a joy to own. Never has broke down and really no major issues. Still has the factory headlights, but did replace one taillight. Dependable and so nice to drive. Wish they still made them this good."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fantastic Vehicle !!!!!

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Towed everything under the sun and them sum with know problems!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

THe car does not run need major work

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The car does not run needs major work done inside,body workand under the hood"

4 people out of 11 found this review helpful

BEST VEHICLE EVER

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT PRICE,FUN TO DRIVE,WELL FRONT AND BACK A/C"

Cons: "NO BACK AREA T.V"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I ENJOY THIS VEHICLE I BOUGHT USED TO GIVE TO A FAMILY MEMBER BUT I CHANGED MY MIND-- I AM 71 YRS OLD AND ALREADY BUYING A 2014 EQUINOX SO I DON'T NEED THIS VEHICLE-- IT IS SO NICE TO USE, I WENT TO WASHINGTON TAKING FAMILY KIDS AND ADULTS (9) WITH IN CAR SPACE FOR LUGGAGE SO DID NOT NEED TO USE THE ROOF RACKS. I SEE A LOT OF THESE CARS ON THE ROAD SO THERE ARE A LOT OF FAMILYS THAT CAN GET GOOD USE OUT OF THEM.I BOUGHT AN EXTRA ITEM AFTER I BOUGHT IT- A LIGHTED RAIL RACK SO CHILDREN AND SOME ADULTS CAN IN EASIER. MY GRANDCHILDREN REALY ENJOYED IT"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The vehicle for Texas

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive been all over the country with this."

Cons: "they have a new style change alot to the worst"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great Truck Still have not changed brakes, they are just now at the wear mark, Drive this vehicle every where. just replaced the water pump, hoses, fan clutch, Drove it 30 miles when pump went out never got super hot. I have to change a piece of leather on driver side because its worn. Getting ready to do another 100,000 mile tune up, on my third set of Michelin tires 70,000 mile tires which go over that. I tow a boat once a month for 800 miles. Looking at the new ones and they changed the a lot which I do not like. so hopefully this has another 200,000 left"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "love the SIX cd holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My black chevy surburan has been hands down the best, most solid vehicle I have ever owned. 12 years and 210000 miles later the ride is still so quiet on the highway! Unbelievable! So much leg room when you have the four bucket seats! GREAT road trip vehicle. I don't even want to sell it but our kids are in college and we just don't need this size vehicle any longer."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Suburban 1500 near Honolulu. See local deals