Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1997 Chevrolet Suburban 1500

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 428 Ratings for the 1988 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next

Has been the best vehicle ever

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 295,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "roomy comfortable dependable"

Cons: "fuel cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best vehicle ever nice style and roomy inside. It is excellent for winter weather driving.The only down fall it has is the cost to drive around 15 miles per gallon. By far the comfort and reliability makes it worth it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sweet Vehicle

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "4 wheel drive excellent towing capacity"

Cons: "gas mileage,cost to fill gas tank"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the suburban i just got it 3 months ago and it rocks the only thing that is bad is the gas mieage but what can you expect for a heavy suv, the 42 gallon tank is nice and it last awhile on the highway so its bice becasue i travel throughout the us so it will help, i go without filling up longer then my 4 door 4 cyl car i traded it for!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great ride...comfortable and still stylish.

By on Sunday, February 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this jewel for 6 months and I love it. It drives great and it's a beast in 4x4. She's comfortable on long trips and surprisingly affordable on those trips. Not loving the 40 gallon tank when buying gas, but its worth it to throw the family and friends in to go places."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I Love This Truck

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Roomy, comfortable, safe."

Cons: "gas mileage.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great vehicle if you can find one in good condition that has not been abused. The ride is very comfortable. Its very roomy inside.Its very versatile. You can haul a refrigerator in it if you need to. Great for 2 people camping . No tent needed. Just take out the back seat and sleep in it. The 4x4 goes just about anywhere..Gas mileage is poor (15MPG around town) but thats no surprise for a vehicle of this size. Other than that, it's great. I bought mine to be a hunting, camping, haul kids to school vehicle. For that, you can't beat it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 257,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have put over 150000 hard miles on this vehicle both as a passenger car and farm truck at the cost of one fuel pump and one alternator."

Absolutely great vehicle

By on Friday, February 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "none"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Suburban and I would not purchase any other type. These trucks are reliable, comfortable, provide massive seating and carry space. The driver is able to see far beyond normal while driving and through the snowing winters, this vehicle is unsurpassed. When towing, this truck and my previous Suburban tows like there is nothing behind it. I kept my first one for 10 years and this one is going on 14 years, while running like new."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle owned, safety, relibility, comfort.

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Second owner. I have put over 75,000 miles on this vehicle. The only major repairs I had were a warped head(possible prior operator problem), upper ball joints at 100,000 miles and a water pump. I had thoroughly enjoyed almost 200K miles on my 84 Camry and thought that was my best car ever until this Suburban. Strongly reccommend the Suburban for safety, durability, dependability, towing, comfort...whatever. Worth the price if you want a car that will last and perform well, in comfort!"

I would like to eventually own another one newer .

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It has been a great towing vehicle and has great power. I bought it with out power windows so I wouldn't have to worry about electric problems. The only bad thing is, it isn't the most fuel efficient."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great vehicle - use it for everything

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great to drive - not fatiguing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great fuel milage 14 in town 21 hwy-40 gal tank. great tow vehicle. great long range traveler - handles well in all driving conditions - good old fasioned steel with a little plastic -"

street illgeal monster mud truck

By on Saturday, January 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 214,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "wont get stuck"

Cons: "speedo is off by 15 mph"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"street illgeal monster mud truck it has 7 inches of lift with 37 inch super swampers and alloy wheels and a winch on the front bumper and 4x4"

Excellent vehicle for towing and use in winter

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent vehicle for passengers and towing of sporting equipment. I have the LT model with leather and heated seats which is very nice for its time. It doesn't match todays vehicles for new features but it is 12 years old. Mileage is an issue at 15 to 18 miles per gallon. Filling it up can be bad with the cost of fuel and its capacity of 42 gallon tank."

great dependable vehicle

By on Tuesday, January 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 291,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "spacious, and comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've enjoyed owning this vehicle. Even as old as it is, with the high milage that I have, it still rides like a car instead of a truck. Compared to all the other 4 door 4 wheel drive vehicles I'v owned it still gets some of the best gas milage for this type of vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

One of the best I've ever owned

By on Monday, December 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned a 99 Suburban for over 10 years and it has taken my family on many vacations and pulled many thousands of pounds on trailer without missing a beat. I would recommend a well taken care of Suburban to anyone."

great truck for snow towing and all around driving

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great in snow, roomy"

Cons: "flaking paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is one of the best investments i have ever made. it can haul anything and holds 8 people. the bg block 454 has more power than i ever needed and allows higher speeds without lugging the motor. i have never gotten stuck in the snow and have taking it hunting several times. the interior is very roomy."

great truck for snow, towing and all arounddriving

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great in snow, roomy"

Cons: "flaking paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is one of the best investments i have ever made. it can haul anything and holds 8 people. the bg block 454 has more power than i ever needed and allows higher speeds without lugging the motor. i have never gotten stuck in the snow and have taking it hunting several times. the interior is very roomy."

The best truck on the road!!

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great on trips out of town"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Suburban.It does every thing I ask it to do and then some. It's roomy for long trips. I love having the pulling power of the 350 V8. It's great on gas. I get close to 20mpg's while towing our camper. No complaints here. I'll buy another after this one too."

Love my Chevrolet Suburban

By on Tuesday, December 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All around great vechile to own and drive"

Cons: "short stops can change the gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"it has a 45 gallion tank, great 4x4 drive, great all around, fits plenty of people and huals lots of stuff like for camping, fishing, trips. everyone thinks it stinks on gas mileage but it doesn't. I have taken mine in 4x4 drive, in heavy snow going as slow as needed for 60 miles and stayed on the same amount of gas that was put in before going and coming back 60 miles didn't waste anything either. To give everyone a ideal about the gas mileage, i drove 210 miles on the same tank of gas, it didn't go below that at all. I love that it has heat and air all through out and a seperate control for the back, so people can control the temperature. it has everything, power windows, power seats, speed, control, awesome radio"

Good luck with your electric cars

By on Friday, December 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great for trips , also the whole family fits"

Cons: "No cons .Just like one of the family"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still a very reliable car. Very comfortable"

Best vehicle I ever owned

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable"

Cons: "I wish it was better on gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable, comfortable and spacious, the size of the vehicle makes you feel safe."

Like a tank

By on Sunday, December 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 400,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Durability"

Cons: "Gas guzzler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This suburban is perfect. Fits a whole band, Can drive for hours and is indestrucable. I commute for three hours daily and its rarely broken down. The best part though is the body and the spaciousness."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my suburban.

By on Saturday, December 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "gas mileage is terrible"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is very comfortable and safe on the roads."

Great vehicle. Only owner. Highway miles.

By on Thursday, November 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Clean, leather, power everything, custom stero, 10 disk CD changer, tow package, 1/2 ton, XM Radio, bucket seats front, 3rd seat, custom wheels, oversized tires, needs new set of tires, luggage rack."

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Love my Suburban

By on Sunday, November 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable, Roomy,"

Cons: "Steering wheel is not heated :("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The second Suburban I have owned and this one is by far the best in its class! No problems with comfort, reliability, and the leather seats are a must with children. Would purchase another one, just with lower miles. The 4WD, especially the Auto 4WD is a must in my area, the ABS system is a lifesaver on icy roads. Roomy, comfortable no matter what seat/area, towing, roof rack, and rear heating/AC, the bar has been set high in this vehicle and giving it up will be like losing a family member. Even with only 2 kids at home I still don't want to downsize!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best vehicle ive ever owned

By on Thursday, November 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,555

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very reliable vehicle"

Cons: "gas milage sucks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

my beast

"this vehicle has gottin me outta a few slumps snow banks mudd hail storms and much more if i ever had a chance id buy anoter one every day"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

my beast

Very dependable, roomy, and comfortable

By on Thursday, November 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great ride, comfortable, roomy, handsome"

Cons: "gas guzzler, cloth seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our family of 5 has gone on many trips cross country since getting our used suburban in 1999. First from Milwaukee to Phoenix, to the east coast, north and south from Wisconsin to Texas and back many times. We hauled a large trailer with absolutely no problems. We love the space and dependability, height, and GMC quality. Our mechanic wants it cuz he knows how well we've taken care of it. It has needed transmission work twice, the courtesy lights no longer work, but with regular upkeep, it's been a great ride. With only one kid at home now we're wondering if we should keep the gas guzzler (one downside)."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Suburban 1500 near Honolulu. See local deals