Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Chevrolet Sonic Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $20,408 - $20,955.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $22,435

Fair Purchase Price $20,682
Fair Market Range ($20,408 - $20,955)

Invoice $21,354
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.7 of 10

10/7.7

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 129 Ratings for the 2012 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Can't wait to get rid of it

By on Monday, March 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Low price, comfortable seating, spacious trunk"

Cons: "Too many to describe here"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Although the car is comfortable in terms of seating, it constantly feels as though it's in the wrong gear and the engine is laboring. It hesitates, the ride is choppy and there have been constant mechanical issues - everything from Check Engine lights that come on for no reason to CV joint failure and engine failure. The interior is attractive enough, but things are spaced badly and the OnStar button on the rear view mirror makes it a challenge to adjust the mirror without hitting the button."

One Year Review - SO NICe!!!

By on Sunday, March 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Power, US Made, FUN, MPG's. VALUE!!!"

Cons: "No Center Console, Dash Glare, Factory Tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I took my time deciding on a vehicle to replace my 93 Cherokee. Things I focused on were American-Made, Price, Comfort, Power, and Storage space. First car I tried over the 8 month search was the Sonic. I tried many others after in the same $$$ ballpark and they just didn't compare to the Sonic. I went back to the Sonic, and it still felt almost perfect. I went for the hatchback because I wanted rear storage access, like I had with my Jeep. Only things it didn't have that I wanted was a center console and AWD. I picked up a 2013 LT 1.4T AT with 56 miles on it for 16K. UNDER my target price. Last one on lot and I feel I stole it. I now find I like it without the console that I "thought" I wanted. No AWD, but someday I may move up to the related TRAX. Comfort AND power. With the 1.4L Turbo, I drive it like a kid, so I don't get the MPG's I could, but they are still 3 times better than my Ole Jeep. Standard was wicked fun to test, but I'm older and went with the Auto to save the workout on my hips and shoulders. There are days though I wish I had the Manual :) I have had a few issues though; 1.Brake problem. The issue I had is not common and happens to almost any type car. It was resolved. 2. A water leak on passenger side, but it was addressed in a Bulletin and fixed. 3. Water pump hasn't died (YET), but it's a known issue and Chevy sent a letter to us that points out they will cover it up to 100K miles. 4. Glare off my gray Dash. But a black dash mat fixed that and looks awesome too. Polarized Glasses worked too. 5. Stock Tires. They may be OK for most, but they are horrible in the snow. I worried it was the car, but with GOOD ALL-Seasons, the car handles a LOT better. I did HATE the car for a while. But the reason wasn't the car itself, it was the incompetent dealership I went to for service first round. They didn't fix some of the things I listed above first try, and actually caused more issues. VERY frustrating. Once I brought the car to a GREAT Dealer, with Competent Techs, it was fixed professionally first try. I LOVE the car again!!! It's been great since the few issues I did have got addressed. There's a nice Sonic Owners forum on the web where I learned a lot more about the car and read shared stories. I am really surprised The Sonic is not more popular than than it is, but I'm glad in a way. The price would probably have been higher if this gem was more popular. If you're looking, at least take it for a drive. I think anyone will find it comfortable and Wicked Fun!!!!"

Love this vehicle!

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,765

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas mileage and comfortable seats."

Cons: "Don't really have any at this point."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love my Chevy Sonic. The gas mileage is awesome. I'm averaging about 40 mpg on the hwy. It's actually roomy inside and the seats are incredibly comfortable. I am constantly getting compliments on how pretty the car is. For it to be a small vehicle, it has a real sporty look. Good value for the money!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great city car

By on Tuesday, March 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have driven cadillac, buick, saab and vw. this is one of my favorite cars"

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Excellent mileage, dependable, cute, luv it

By on Monday, February 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value"

Cons: "Noted blind spot in rear corners when backing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

Red hot like the color "Inferno Orange"

"Have to get used to closeness on slots of gears with shifter as changing gears can be awkward making me think I am in one gear and learn I am in different gear. Seats are flexible and adjust easily. Excellent gas mileage gauge range from 37.5 to 40.5. Fun to drive, handles great, excellent temperature control for heat and cooling. Bluetooth could be better on confirming phone numbers to dial. Receive many compliments on 'cuteness'."

9 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Red hot like the color "Inferno Orange"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.