Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Chevrolet Sonic Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $14,230 - $14,529.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $14,995

Fair Purchase Price $14,380
Fair Market Range ($14,230 - $14,529)

Invoice $14,640
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.7 of 10

10/7.7

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 102 Ratings for the 2012 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 7 8 9 ... 11 | Next

Awesome car, Fun, Fast and excellent 40 plus MPG.

By on Sunday, December 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Value, great MPG, great fun to drive."

Cons: "Wish I had a center arm rest."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Decided to sell my 2001 Jeep Cherokee because of fuel economy and started to do the research. I really wanted to stick with domestic so my search was narowed to the Chevy Sonic and the Ford Fiesta and I did not want to wait for the Dodge Dart. Drove the Fiesta and the Sonic and there was no comparison, the Chevy rode better, was quicker, quiet and very comfortable. My research led me to order a sedan LT with the 1.4 Turbo, six speed manual. We have now driven over 5000 miles with a combined fuel avearge of 40MPG since we bought the car. If you are in the market for a subcompact car you really need to check out the Sonic. This car has exceeded all of our expectations and for someone who had not owned a GM vehicle for years it has created a new confidence that we can build a car in Michigan, USA, that can compete with the best in the world. Nice job Chevrolet, and thanks to the Lake Orion workers who have built a world class car. Keep it up!"

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Best of Both Worlds

By on Thursday, November 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fuel Mileage, Looks, Fun to Drive"

Cons: "Cup Holders, Some Cheap Plastic,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've had my sonic for approximately 6 months and I'm a satisfied customer. I have the turbo 1.4L and would highly recommend this motor over the 1.8. It's only a 750.00 dollar option, but gives better fuel mileage and more power. If styling and buying an American made product are two high concerns, then look no further. Assembled in Lake Orion Michigan by American workers with a look and stance that clearly sets it apart from its predecessors. It has four fully functional doors, but has the sportiness look of a two door. It was motorcycle inspired and has a gauge cluster as well as a set of headlights that are unlike anything else on the market. I'm currently averaging 42 MPG and have had zero problems. I've recently installed a performance tune and I'm now at 178 Horsepower and 198 ft lb of torque. All of this while still averaging 40MPG. Anyone looking for a great commuter car that has a little get-up and most of all "American Made," look no further. This car will go down in history as the "sleeper" that was overlooked."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

30+ MPG and a Very Smooth Ride!

By on Saturday, October 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 750

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my Sonic LT sedan (1.8 engine, 6-speed sutomatic) a month ago and I must say I have enjoyed driving it thus far. I traded in my 2002 impala for this car for the higher mpg's and was ready to downsize. After test driving the car, I knew I had to have it. I have driven the car about 750 miles so far and am consistently getting 30+ mpg. At the last fill up, I had a combined 30.5 mpg (70% highway 30% city). This was my manual calculation. The onboard computer recorded 31.4 so the calculations were very close. Of course, I have been driving rather conservatively, usually going 60-65 mph. I love how the car drives. The engine has great power for a car of this size and it drives very smoothly. Also, the steering is light but not too light. The car is great on the highway as well as the city streets. I really like the features that the LT has. I like the bluetooth, the cruise control, and all the cubby holes to store certain items. The interior looks great and the cloth seats are very comfortable. Overall, I am very pleased with my purchase. It is an awesome looking car with a decent amount of power under the hood."

16 people out of 16 found this review helpful

28,000+ miles average mpg I'm getting 34!

By on Wednesday, October 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great little car. Can park it anywhere."

Cons: "Buy cruise, save speeding ticket costs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I only wish I had bought cruise. I cost me a speeding ticket; so fast so quiet it's easy to have to "back off" when just talking and driving! Combined city and highway with 93 octane clean gas my dashboard computer says 34.1 mpg. With the rear seat folded down I even hauled 4- 3' by 3' new windows, stacked, with the rear hatch closed. Lots of behind the front seat space. My wife wants me to buy her one; with cruise."

16 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Very happy with my Sonic

By on Monday, October 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, plenty of pep, comfortable on trips."

Cons: "A little hesitant going uphill."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my 2012 Sonic LT turbo in feb of 2012 and have loved driving it. I've taken it on 2 long trips (florida to missouri in march (1200 miles) and florida to michigan in july (1300 miles)) it was a pleasure to drive, deceptively comfortable and great on gas. Also, much more space inside than you would think. The Sonic is practical, sporty, and has plenty of pep too. I would highly recommend it."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Fantastic car.

By on Friday, August 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, great features"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A fantastic car. Mileage is fantastic, but the turbo 1.4 still has plenty of get up and go. It is super fun to drive, and handles great. Ride is smooth and quiet, and the manual transmission is super smooth and easy to work. If you can't drive a manual, leaning on this car would be easy. Comes with lots of great features, I love the second glove box with USB and auxiliary. The leatherette seating is comfortable and looks great. The layout of the console is great, and gauge cluster is fantastic (I thought it would look tacky in person). The hatchback has good space in the rear for a small car, and the floor can be lowered for more space. The cargo cover stores easily. Overall build quality is good, obviously there is a lot of plastic. It is to be expected, the car starts at a very low price. That being said, everything looks great. Nothing looks cheap, buttons feel solid. Plus, no one really touches their dashboard, so it doesn't matter if it is plastic! I've only had it for 1000 miles, so I can't really comment on reliability. My only complaint is that the bluetooth doesn't show song information from my iPhone, although I could just be doing something wrong. Overall, I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a small hatchback that is fun to drive and gets great fuel economy. I test drove the Veloster and Focus as well, and I thought the Sonic looked the best and was the best to drive. I really can't recommend it enough!"

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great vehicle for the price!

By on Friday, August 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "No cruise control, cup holder placement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought the LS Base Model Sonic for my daughter back in May. Immediately took it on vacation, putting 1,900 miles on it. Was pleasently surprised on it's comfort and handling. I have a bad back and have difficulty with long drives and the seats in the Sonic gave me no problem. Back seat comfort was adequate as well as the leg room. Gas mileage on the highway is fantastic. Only wish it had a bigger gas tank and cruise control. Only issue I have is with a defect in the paint on the hood; looks like a chemical stain underneath the clearcoat. Pointed out to the dealership two months ago and still waiting for a response."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

VERY DISAPPOINTED

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
1/10

Cons: "DONT BUY THIS CAR"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"1st I've had problems with this car from day 1. While driving during moderate to heavy rain storms the visibility is very dangerous. Translation - I do not drive this car during moderate rain storms. The dealer has witnessed this and concluded there is a definite problem - Quality 2nd party wiper blades are not available. Also the wiper blade speed is slow at fastest point - If considering this car test it during a moderate to moderate/heavy rainfall. 2nd Chevy has definitely found a problem with voice command. I am from Michigan and speak very clearly. This system is all screwed up. Sometimes it works - Sometimes it doesn't. The dealership showed me a notice put out by the manufacturer that there is definitely a problem. 3rd Also, there is a major problem with hands free bluetooth which is an additional issue which the dealership acknowledged there have been many complaint. 4th The front end slightly shimmies"

9 people out of 27 found this review helpful

Does it get better?

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,167

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage"

Cons: "front seats have to sudden high lift on sides."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Now, I have reveiwed this car before in the first couple thousand miles but got better news with some updates! First I changed the first oil change using valvoline dura blend (half synthetic) and on the hwy at 60mph I got an increase of 4-5 mpg bringing it to 51-52mpg. Now this is in the best conditions with no a/c on. It seems to cost 7-10 mpg loss with a/c running on hwy. Then I thought, why not go with full synthetic. Well, I am happy to report that in the same conditions that I am now getting 55-56mpg @ 60 mph on hwy. I have no idea the horsepower increase but I feal the difference on take off and 2+3 gears. Note: I have a 1.4 turbo with six speed manual trans. Looking forwared to the winter testing!"

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Love the hill start assist!

By on Monday, August 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great all around, fun to drive, 40+MPG"

Cons: "quirky power delivery at times with 1.4turbo 6spd"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Sonic LT 1.4L turbo, 6spd, with connectivity cruise package, plus some other options. MSRP: $18,155 Paid: $17,995 I wanted a small hatchback that wasnt too ugly. I dislike the stylings of many of the new cars that try to "stand out" with funky shapes and designs. I'm 6'1" and I have plenty of head and legroom in both front and back seats. I decided on the LT trim line because I'm not a fan of leather seats, but i wanted all the bells and whistles. I'm 27 and this is my first brand new car. The Sonic makes a statement with little things like the headlights and rear door handles. Girls think it looks "cute" and guys say it looks "mean" Living in Duluth, MN I was hesitant about buying another manual, but the hill start assist is a life saver. In my old car i was constantly squeling the tires to not drift backwards into the car behind me. No worries anymore, I confidently drive downtown everyday and take my time when accelerating from hill stops."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 7 8 9 ... 11 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.