Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Chevrolet Sonic Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $13,874 - $14,231.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $14,995

Fair Purchase Price $14,053
Fair Market Range ($13,874 - $14,231)

Invoice $14,640
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.7 of 10

10/7.7

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 132 Ratings for the 2012 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next

The Sonic is a very dependable, economical, car.

By on Friday, April 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, seating, utility."

Cons: "Interior needs more refinement."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It offers a great deal of utility and capability in a small package. An American made great value."

very basic car

By on Friday, April 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,800

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "sharp looking"

Cons: "Hard to reach cupholders, no cd player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Just a very basic car for lots of money. The 6 speed transmission can't decide what gear to be in when trying to go up hills.At times the steering hesitates. It doesn't get any where near the suggested gas mileage. The value dropped $5,000 when I drove it off the lot."

Careful!

By on Monday, April 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Beautiful, cool features, audio options+!"

Cons: "doesn't handle well, frequent servicing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"This particular model from Chevy is very classy. If you want a beautiful car with great features and great interior-this is it. However, with only 2 years and 35000 miles, I had to take it to the shop to get parts replaced TWICE. The car was practically brand new but wasn't made with reliable parts. Consider getting this car if you have a trustworthy mechanic who will check your caps etc... The car does not handle very easily. It's been checked and checked- there's nothing wrong with the driving mechanics, it's just super heavy as far as small cars go and going fast is a wobbly ordeal."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Can't wait to get rid of it

By on Monday, March 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Low price, comfortable seating, spacious trunk"

Cons: "Too many to describe here"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Although the car is comfortable in terms of seating, it constantly feels as though it's in the wrong gear and the engine is laboring. It hesitates, the ride is choppy and there have been constant mechanical issues - everything from Check Engine lights that come on for no reason to CV joint failure and engine failure. The interior is attractive enough, but things are spaced badly and the OnStar button on the rear view mirror makes it a challenge to adjust the mirror without hitting the button."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

One Year Review - SO NICe!!!

By on Sunday, March 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Power, US Made, FUN, MPG's. VALUE!!!"

Cons: "No Center Console, Dash Glare, Factory Tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I took my time deciding on a vehicle to replace my 93 Cherokee. Things I focused on were American-Made, Price, Comfort, Power, and Storage space. First car I tried over the 8 month search was the Sonic. I tried many others after in the same $$$ ballpark and they just didn't compare to the Sonic. I went back to the Sonic, and it still felt almost perfect. I went for the hatchback because I wanted rear storage access, like I had with my Jeep. Only things it didn't have that I wanted was a center console and AWD. I picked up a 2013 LT 1.4T AT with 56 miles on it for 16K. UNDER my target price. Last one on lot and I feel I stole it. I now find I like it without the console that I "thought" I wanted. No AWD, but someday I may move up to the related TRAX. Comfort AND power. With the 1.4L Turbo, I drive it like a kid, so I don't get the MPG's I could, but they are still 3 times better than my Ole Jeep. Standard was wicked fun to test, but I'm older and went with the Auto to save the workout on my hips and shoulders. There are days though I wish I had the Manual :) I have had a few issues though; 1.Brake problem. The issue I had is not common and happens to almost any type car. It was resolved. 2. A water leak on passenger side, but it was addressed in a Bulletin and fixed. 3. Water pump hasn't died (YET), but it's a known issue and Chevy sent a letter to us that points out they will cover it up to 100K miles. 4. Glare off my gray Dash. But a black dash mat fixed that and looks awesome too. Polarized Glasses worked too. 5. Stock Tires. They may be OK for most, but they are horrible in the snow. I worried it was the car, but with GOOD ALL-Seasons, the car handles a LOT better. I did HATE the car for a while. But the reason wasn't the car itself, it was the incompetent dealership I went to for service first round. They didn't fix some of the things I listed above first try, and actually caused more issues. VERY frustrating. Once I brought the car to a GREAT Dealer, with Competent Techs, it was fixed professionally first try. I LOVE the car again!!! It's been great since the few issues I did have got addressed. There's a nice Sonic Owners forum on the web where I learned a lot more about the car and read shared stories. I am really surprised The Sonic is not more popular than than it is, but I'm glad in a way. The price would probably have been higher if this gem was more popular. If you're looking, at least take it for a drive. I think anyone will find it comfortable and Wicked Fun!!!!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.