Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2009 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 HD Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 108 Ratings for the 2007 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

Truck is all about pulling.

By on Sunday, July 27, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This truck will do everything a 1-ton should do, pulling or hauling."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Not Worth the Money

By on Monday, March 10, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

"General Motors has somehow fell far below the competition in fuel milage with the 6.6 D. Pulling a 30 foot trailer my fuel milage falls down to between 8 and 9 MPG. Thats terrible compared to Ford and even Dodge. The truch looks and rides good for a 3500 but is way over priced. No with the fuel prices I am sure I have made a bad investment..."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

6.6L disappointment.

By on Saturday, February 09, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is a great riding truck, however, the 6.6L diesel has problems with frequently allowing exhaust fumes to come into the cab of the truck. Very horrible smell! Do it again, i'd save the $8K and NOT buy the diesel. I get 7-8MPG pulling a trailer, 12-14 empty on the highway...not that great for a diesel....especially considering the price of gas vs diesel fuel."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great head turner

By on Friday, February 08, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great rig no complants at all, get a lot of looks plus it does what its supposed to PULL and is quick"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Truck is in great shape, I only used it 2 months.

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is in exultant condition. It has a Kaphide Utility body with a enclosed sliding center, a hitch receiver and a ladder rack."

26 people out of 41 found this review helpful

Good truck. Nothing fancy.

By on Thursday, January 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "No frills work truck. Very quiet smooth diesel."

Cons: "Wish it had more towing capacity."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Compared with the Fords and Rams, the Chevy 3500 HD dually is plain vanilla. Doesn't have the styling of either one of those, but I use this strictly as a hauling and towing vehicle. No King Ranch or Big Horn fur-fru appointments. Where this truck really outshines the others is in the Isuzu-made diesel engine. It's smooth, very quiet and powerful. I routinely haul 20k plus trailer loads and whlie Im pushing the limits of what it can handle - and it feels like it - this truck chugs along as it should. The Fords and Rams have rattle box diesels by comparison. If you like that sound, get one of those. This is my second 3500HD diesel from Chevy and Ive had zero mechanical or electrical problems. But the paint is peeling in a couple of places....not real bad but annoying and the dealer acted like he was doing me a favor by fixing it - within the warrantee period. Sometimes I look at the new 1 ton trucks by Ford and Ram because they have much higher towing capacity than my 2011, but they run almost 70k ! Ouch. Unless I come into some $ or this truck starts crapping out, its a keeper."

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

i like this truck alot

By on Monday, January 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives and rides comparable to my Avalanche LTZ"

Cons: "Give me 50 acres, and i'll turn this rig around."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had bigger trucks with bigger motors while 5th wheeling over the country, but now have settled down on the ranch, and this truck is truly a work truck for me. It is the best riding big truck i have had. the turning radius is a challenge at times, but thats to be expected. whether feeding in the pasture, or hauling horses this truck is dependable, and capable. I equipped it with a large flatbed, and the truck is super versatile."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

delivers incredible towing,good looking,american

By on Tuesday, April 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "proud to drive such quality"

Cons: "not everybody has one"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"most powerful truck I have ever owned. excellent mpg for 1ton vehicle, 19.9 mpg on hwy. quiet ride for a truck, you think you are driving an escalade."

14 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have put 160,000 miles on it towing 18k for about 40k miles, couldnt ask for a better more reliable truck. Very comfy to drive!"

58 people out of 97 found this review helpful

New interior is very impressive, very high quality

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great mileage, overall quality of build is great"

Cons: "Would like fifth wheel hitch for reese system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The new Coca Dune interior is very relaxing and quite luxurious. The LTZ is your best bargain for the buck."

18 people out of 30 found this review helpful

excellent ride, uses little def, pulls like great

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great truck, pulls super great, very smooth with no down shifting, hooked it up with dodges and fords and drug them all around drilling location, would like a little bettter interior, very happy with fuel system, filters last a long time, 50 below zero fires rite up, in snow country hardly ever use 4 wheel drive, low end torque is amazing, comes with really good tires on it, drives straight and smooth not like the lumber wagon dodges, had a new dodge took it back in 3 wks, fuel ecomomy and ride quality"

38 people out of 64 found this review helpful

hate the emmisions and trans leak problem

By on Saturday, October 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "power, fuel milege and looks"

Cons: "emmissions and trans leak problem"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"particulate filter is a pain when driving going into regen approx. each tank of fuel, when hauling cuts power and Allison trans front pump seal leak was a pain had to have it repaired 3 times at dealership. All in all good truck for the money 2008 duramax 3500"

29 people out of 52 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Sunday, February 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great truck drives great rides smooth"

31 people out of 59 found this review helpful

Great power

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great truck"

Cons: "I do get an exhaust smell sometimes in the cab"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great power all you'll ever need even with 10000lbs behind it pulls like you have almost nothing behind you."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

excellent truck

By on Tuesday, November 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "everything except fuel mileage"

Cons: "fuel mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent vehicle, hauls heavy loads in horrible weather like a champ. is always the first one there, with the most reliability. my one complaint is fuel mileage, but what are u really gonna do when ur hauling that much weight..."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Truck!

By on Tuesday, October 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great truck all around"

Cons: "no center console"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great fuel mileage, LOTS OF POWER, great handling and very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this truck to anyone interested in quality."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

sadly disappointed

By on Saturday, May 29, 2010

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"Purchased this truck Dec 09, on the way home I started regretting buying it. It has the 6.0 engine and 6 speed auto. I am familiar with the 6.0 engine most of the time great power. This one is the exception. Constantly shifts up and down (mostly down) sounds like a Corvette, runs like Chevette. Took it out two times, got 8.5 mpg empty (no load). Took it out with a trailer still 8.5 MPG. Took the head board off got it to 11.3 MPG (no load ) with the cruise set at 68 on the interstate, it shifts down at the sight of an incline, it shifts to 4th.on 3% grade and 3rd on a 7% grade. I see why it has two gas tanks, it need 4 of them. This is a work truck, 12' flat dump weighs 8000 lbs empty. Maybe I expect too much. It has the 6 speed auto, 6th gear is useless, the only time it gets into 6th is down hill. It has the 3.73 rear end. 323 hp and 373 lb.-ft of torque. I purchased this truck to replace an aging 94 Dodge diesel with a 175 hp. that weighs 8300 lbs empty. There is no comparison, put the old Dodge in 5th gear and go. No back shifting required (empty) and no, my Dodge is not upfitted with performance enhancers. Tried to return it under GM famous 60 return policy, no way. It really sad you cannot buy a truck with a manual transmission. I really think its the whole problem with this one. I parked this one and re tagged the old Dodge."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

2008 3500HD Dooley 4X4

By on Thursday, May 20, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"At 10,000mi I started to get a wheel hop from the rear wheels when I made sharp turns. The dealership changed the gear oil, and told me that should take care of it. It didnt! Then I personally changed it to discover metal fragments in the oil and all over the magnet. I took it to another dealership and showed them what I found and they promptly took care of it. No biggie really. I understand every vehicle cant come off the line perfect. Other than that this truck has been as close to perfect as I believe they can make it. Fuel mileage (diesel) is not the greatest, but for the power in most cases is probably a fair trade. I was born and raised a Ford guy, but things have changed now. Really a good truck."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, October 13, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very comfortable

By on Friday, August 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have been very impressed with this vehicle. It is quiet and has great towing power and stability. I have owned both Ford and Dodge diesels and this is the best."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Good Design, Decent power, Good 4x4 Unit

By on Friday, April 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,850

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Enterior space and versatility"

Cons: "Miles Per Gallon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

2007 Silverado 3500HD Crewcab 4x4 53850 Miles

"No complaints other than it could be better on fuel The best I've ever got out of it was 13 highway Average MPG is around 11 to 12 For a small block gas motor it does decent"

22 people out of 46 found this review helpful

2007 Silverado 3500HD Crewcab 4x4 53850 Miles

I had this truck beefed up!

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Like new truck"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I beefed this truck up to handle my 11.5' Overhead lance camper, it has tie downs for the camper added leaf spring (didn't need it) also has foam filled air bags. B/W turn over ball. Twin receiver for for extended hitch. Leather interior,power slid rear window , K&N cold air intake, custom exhaust gauges. DVD player, Nav."

32 people out of 69 found this review helpful

This is the best truck i have owned.

By on Saturday, June 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,350

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "At $47.500.00 it is well worth it."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I hate that I have to let her go, This truck has everything including a engine brake. We used here to pull a live stock trailer and she never let us down " She can pull anything no joke " My wife drove it more than me she loves the comfort, and the feeling of being safe while driving the truck. Like I said I hate letting her go."

14 people out of 31 found this review helpful

Can't wait to get rid of the vehicle

By on Monday, April 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good power, when it works"

Cons: "Can't get parts or satisfaction from GM"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The truck has 11,000 miles on it. Has been in the shop for the last 30 days. GM is of no help in getting the issue resolved. They think it is a fuel delivery problem. Replacing all the fuel injection componets (if they can find them). I plan to trade this in as soon as I can get it from the dealer. Dealer thinks maybe another week or two, maybe longer before they can get it to me. The truck is stuck out of state. Chevy again, I think not."

10 people out of 25 found this review helpful

very nice truck

By on Tuesday, March 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 326,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this truck for a while now and love the truck. i would say it would pull anything you want to put behind it. also l and I have had no problems with this truck other than the normal over the road maintenance that it need. the two things I would say to be cons it the amount of room in the truck because I'm 6"3 and I would like to have more room. second I would say the winters are hard do to the fuel filter I've had to put in this truck when winter hits. other any that it's a great truck. hope to make this truck as far has it will go."

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 3500 HD Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals