Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2012 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 HD Crew Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 100 Ratings for the 2007 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

I had this truck beefed up!

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Like new truck"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I beefed this truck up to handle my 11.5' Overhead lance camper, it has tie downs for the camper added leaf spring (didn't need it) also has foam filled air bags. B/W turn over ball. Twin receiver for for extended hitch. Leather interior,power slid rear window , K&N cold air intake, custom exhaust gauges. DVD player, Nav."

15 people out of 31 found this review helpful

Truck is in great shape, I only used it 2 months.

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is in exultant condition. It has a Kaphide Utility body with a enclosed sliding center, a hitch receiver and a ladder rack."

19 people out of 33 found this review helpful

excellent ride, uses little def, pulls like great

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great truck, pulls super great, very smooth with no down shifting, hooked it up with dodges and fords and drug them all around drilling location, would like a little bettter interior, very happy with fuel system, filters last a long time, 50 below zero fires rite up, in snow country hardly ever use 4 wheel drive, low end torque is amazing, comes with really good tires on it, drives straight and smooth not like the lumber wagon dodges, had a new dodge took it back in 3 wks, fuel ecomomy and ride quality"

32 people out of 56 found this review helpful

Fantastic truck! N0 problems in 7 years!!

By on Saturday, January 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fuel, comfort, ability to tow!, OnStar, Sirius."

Cons: "Reading speedometer in bright daylight."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great for pulling trailers. No Machanical issues except that I had to replace the batteries at 4 years and I'm on my second set of tires. Very comfortable to drive, no diesel soot to wash off trailer after a cross country drive and its quite compaired to other diesels...no more birds at traffic lights."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I pull heavy loads with this truck weekly (dump trailer and 25' gooseneck flat bed). The truck has been extremely reliable and is comfortable to drive. Great off road and on road. Great truck for contractors."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

i like this truck alot

By on Monday, January 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives and rides comparable to my Avalanche LTZ"

Cons: "Give me 50 acres, and i'll turn this rig around."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had bigger trucks with bigger motors while 5th wheeling over the country, but now have settled down on the ranch, and this truck is truly a work truck for me. It is the best riding big truck i have had. the turning radius is a challenge at times, but thats to be expected. whether feeding in the pasture, or hauling horses this truck is dependable, and capable. I equipped it with a large flatbed, and the truck is super versatile."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Powerfull, dependable, economical for large truck

By on Tuesday, July 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, powerful, comfortable, every option"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I use this vehicle for every day driving and for pulling a 5th wheel. It delivers all the power needed, even through the Rocky Mountains. The ride is comfortable. Has been very dependable. My only negative is that I have been driving for 50 years and this is the only vehicle that I ever replaced a wheel bearing, it appears the bearings are not sized properly."

13 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Love this truck, 5ft 7"wife drives it when she can

By on Friday, April 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Tows what ever you want it to"

Cons: "Parking it at the Mall can be a challenge"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased this truck to tow our 36ft 5th wheel with three slides, washer/dryer, three friges, three flat screen TVs, and more stuff then you can believe your wife can pack in it. This is got to be my 10th truck I've owned along with travel trailers, and Motor Homes. We work out of town and use our travel trailers and motor homes as second homes. This is the first truck I've owned that can tow a trailer this size like its not there and at amazing speeds. The only problem I've had thus far is the fuel gage sending unit, and the warranty cover that. The crew cab has lots of room and we have the 8ft bed, lots more room."

16 people out of 20 found this review helpful

delivers incredible towing,good looking,american

By on Tuesday, April 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "proud to drive such quality"

Cons: "not everybody has one"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"most powerful truck I have ever owned. excellent mpg for 1ton vehicle, 19.9 mpg on hwy. quiet ride for a truck, you think you are driving an escalade."

14 people out of 23 found this review helpful

5 months and 18,000 miles I still love this truck

By on Thursday, September 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "more power than you will ever need"

Cons: "I got the CCLB so it's a long truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I tow though the mountains in Colorado all the time and this truck is great towing up the hills and even better going down them. I can set the cruise at 65mph and it will stay between 60 and 70mph going up and down the mountains on I70. This truck is one of the most comfortable vehicles I've ever had."

18 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Best Money You Can Spend

By on Thursday, July 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "More power then You'll ever need"

Cons: "None so far"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 3rd dually, first one a 2005 Dodge with the 5.9L. Great engine, poor drivetrain. 2nd a 2008 Chevy 6.6L.This truck would pull a coal train but got poor mileage. Traded it for a 2011 Chevy 2500 with the 6.0L Loved the lower payments but the constant downshifting drove me crazy when towing. Just bought the new 2012 Chevy LTZ with the 6.6L After breaking it in hooked a 30' trailer with 17 round bales weighing about a thousand pounds a piece to it. Hay and trailer weight around 23,000 pounds. The Duramax pulled this load 150 miles at 65 MPH. The exhaust brake helped alot slowing the load down. This truck could have pulled another 10,000 pounds with no problem. The 2012 in my opinion is the best produced in resent years. I love this truck!"

20 people out of 30 found this review helpful

Can't wait to get rid of the vehicle

By on Monday, April 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good power, when it works"

Cons: "Can't get parts or satisfaction from GM"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The truck has 11,000 miles on it. Has been in the shop for the last 30 days. GM is of no help in getting the issue resolved. They think it is a fuel delivery problem. Replacing all the fuel injection componets (if they can find them). I plan to trade this in as soon as I can get it from the dealer. Dealer thinks maybe another week or two, maybe longer before they can get it to me. The truck is stuck out of state. Chevy again, I think not."

10 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Best Truck I Have Ever Owned

By on Sunday, March 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Duramax Diesel Power, great trasmission, hd frame"

Cons: "No 4wd indicator in dash, not enough cubbies"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"And I have owned a lot of em. This truck is powerful, quiet, reliable and hauls our 3500 pound slide in camper with a quad trailer on back with no issue. It returns about 19 mpg highway with the diesel engine and gives 13 loaded down. It tracks and handles excellent. The diesel exhaust brake, new heavy duty frame and bigger brakes and larger heavy springs make this truck truly HD yet still have a decent ride. I have 12000 miles on the truck and have had to return to the dealer only to have a defective mirror heater replaced. At first I thought the urea system would be a pain, but actually it is no more trouble than dealing with window washer fluid. Power is OUTSTANDING and the Allison shifts smooth as glass. Comfort is great with excellent seats, visibility, climate control and audio system. A HD truck like this is not for everyone, but it works great for our needs. I love it."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

awesome truck for hauling trailers

By on Friday, March 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought this truck new. traded in 02 chevy 2500hd diesel with allison trans. the engine and trans are great have no problems pulling my fifth wheel camper or any other trailer with this truck have hauled trailers upto 10tons over mountains without any problems. will replace this truck with another just like it. best riding one ton truck i have ever driven"

This was the worst truck I have ever owned

By on Saturday, March 17, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Lots of problems

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good looks nice interior liked On -Star"

Cons: "Very bad truck bad quality would not recommend"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The Duramax gave me problems first time I pulled a boat . The truck makes all types of popping noises not very solid . Went back to Ford"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Quite, Comfortable, Easy to Drive, Poor Mileage

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very Nice Ride"

Cons: "Poor Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best riding one ton I have ever been in. Great seating support for long distance trips. This one is loaded and very comfortable, tons of power, great acceleration but very quite, strong brakes. Disappointed in the mileage loaded and empty. 4WD works great. Extended Cab Model very easy to work out of. Would buy another."

This truck has power to spare and highly refined

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Strong and confident with the most refined interio"

Cons: "Everybody wants more mileage, 15/18"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Power is unbelievable, quietness is without compare, comfort is wonderful, has the best seats and interior in the game, also the duramax and allison trans combo is without compare."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great power

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great truck"

Cons: "I do get an exhaust smell sometimes in the cab"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great power all you'll ever need even with 10000lbs behind it pulls like you have almost nothing behind you."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Unreliable junk.

By on Saturday, December 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"These trucks have trans and serious brake problems. Many trips to the dealer with no fixes. This will be my 2nd and my last Chevy."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Sunday, December 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power, refinement, fit, finish"

Cons: "Built in trailer brake controller inadequate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded in a 2006 3500 HD w/ diesel for this one because of the added towing capacity and exhaust brake feature. I use this truck for towing a triple axle deck-over flatbed with lumber. Total weight runs 20-22k #. Since I'm pushing the max towing limit with this truck it definitely labors but holds it own. I also plow snow in the winter with it. It does that effortlessly. The miles I have on it are low but hard ones. The engine is quiet and super clean running. The usual rattle that comes from the Fords and the Dodges simply isn't there with this engine but the diesel purr is there if you listen closely. The interior is the same as a well equipped Suburban. Same platform. Same seats, etc. One major gaffe is that they give you a built in brake controller but it doesn't support electric over hydrualic brakes. Hey Chevy...when you are towing over 20k#, what kind of brakes do you think those trailers have?? DUH!!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great truck. Great resale value.

By on Saturday, December 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great power and comfort"

Cons: "big"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great truck. Reliable and powerful. Actually fun to drive. Only drawback is its size. Hard to park and hard to garage."

I will miss driving this vehicle

By on Saturday, November 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2008 chev Silverado 3500 SRW 4wd crew LT1

"In addition there is a 70 galleon diesel tank behind the cab. Also, there is a Husky sliding 5th wheel hitch in the bed of the truck. totally ready to pull a trailer. The listed price on this truck was 46,750.00 dollars. What's not so great is pulling a 33ft 5th wheel up mountains. I get 9 to 10 miles per gallon. That's to be expected. On the highway I can get 12 to 13.5 miles per gallon driving at 60 miles per hr. pulling a 33ft Excell 4 season camper. The reason getting out of camping is because of our health. We are going to miss it...I will sell this truck for 29000.00 dollars."

2008 chev Silverado 3500 SRW 4wd crew LT1

excellent truck

By on Tuesday, November 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "everything except fuel mileage"

Cons: "fuel mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent vehicle, hauls heavy loads in horrible weather like a champ. is always the first one there, with the most reliability. my one complaint is fuel mileage, but what are u really gonna do when ur hauling that much weight..."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

awesome truck

By on Tuesday, November 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "fuel mileage was low"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Awesome Chevy Truck - Decked out !

"I do wish they would tune them better for the fuel mileage, but overall this has been a really good truck. There was a few times where it needed warranty work, but the dealer always took care if it. I would definately buy another one in the future !"

Awesome Chevy Truck - Decked out !

Best vehicle ever made!

By on Friday, October 14, 2011

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just one awsome truck"

Cons: "No cons at all"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This would be the pickup I would chose if I could chose and pickup in the whole world. I personaly think that it is better than any Ford will ever be."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 3500 HD Crew Cab near Honolulu. See local deals