Go

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1271 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 51 | Next

hd2500 diesel pickup

By on Wednesday, January 21, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Wonderful Truck no problems , 16 city mpg and 23 highway not bad for a 7,000 truck, pulls a 34ft trailer with no effort."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, January 10, 2009

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"good truck for hauling but struggles on pulling a 30 foot camper around 10000 lbs up grade. gas milage around 13 unloaded 9 pulling camper."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

RUNS AND RUNS

By on Thursday, July 31, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I OWN 4 IN MY BUSINESS WITH 340,000 MILES, 280,000 MILES, 220,000 MILES, AND 185,000 MILES ON THEM AND STILL STRONG."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, May 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Sunday, May 4, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I work this truck hard. I fill it with dry wall to the top of the bed. 66K miles and never a problem. This is a 2001 6.0 gas 2500 silverado. Lately its been abused by running 1.6 mile trips daily. I've pulled a 13,000 pound trailer with a Bob cat (trailer and tractor total weight). This truck pulls great. It stops great. I had a Toyota before this, and there is no comparison between an American tough built truck and a Toyota toy truck. The Japanese can make all kinds of claims, but until you've tried both for a few years each you can't make a good decision on what is better. I owned the Toyota for 7 years and the Chevy for 7 years. The Chevy has not had one visit to the shop except for maintenance. My Toyota had the transmission out 7 times, Mass airflow sensor go out, temp sensor kept going out which made the engine surge all the time. The Chevy is flawless. The Japanese used to say just turn the key and go. My Chevy is the same and better yet. I really think the US quality of cars and trucks has surpassed the Japanese cars and trucks. The fuel milage is better on my Chevy that the Tundra. Ok I did have to spend some money on my truck. I wore out a set of tires. I had to put new tires on the truck. With as hard as I pull and carry with this truck, I don't blame the poor tires for wearing out. I love my Chevy truck."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Friday, May 2, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this vehicle new in Dec 2002 and have not had any problems with one minor exception of having to have the instrument panel computer reflashed. Was a warranty item and in and out withing 15 minutes. The vehicle has been used to pull a ProAir Nautique ski boat and a loaded cargo trailer without any problems. With the Duramax, I have been easily able to maintain highway speeds as high as 70+ mph pulling a loaded trailer and 4 passengers for 600 plus miles from NC to FL. Would tell you the actual speed but that would be over the speed limit! Fully recommend this vehicle with the Duramax and Allison Transmission. Around 18 MPG highway without load."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

this is the one to buy

By on Tuesday, April 1, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i have had mine for two years and have had no problems love everything about it, i have friends with fords and dodges and when we tow atvs out to the mountins my 03 chevy duramax always leads in power up the mountins and beats them in fuel mileage too. best truck to buy and i have driven all of them."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2002 2500 Duramax

By on Saturday, January 19, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've owned the truck since new and have maintaineded it per GM's schedule. My only problems have been with the diesel engine, (Isuzu). In the shop twice in 2007. At 70,000 miles I had problems with 4 of the glow plugs, fuel rail and an air leak in the fuel filtering system. The good news is GM did the work and all under warranty, no questions asked. Next time it will be the 6.0L gasoline Vortex Max. Everything else has been flawless. I like the truck and the solid road and off road manners it has. This is my first new American made vehicle, and I've been very satisfied even though everyone I knew recommended foreign makes. I'll buy another GM truck when its time to trade."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, January 17, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This truck pulled a 12,000lb shipping container over 900 miles. Fuel mileage was around 10 miles per gallon. It usually runs 19 on the highway."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

like a rock

By on Thursday, January 17, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"never had such a large 4wd that acted so agile,strong..will rip a tree right out of the groud plow through deep mud and still roll well down the highway with 410 gears @ about 15mpg"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

good truck

By on Friday, January 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"togh reliable and nice looking. bought this vehicle used with 20000 miles on it and have since put 60000 more on it i tow daily cars and boats havent yet had a problem with it. only complaint is the gas mileage i get about 13 miles to gallon with my 411 gear ratio"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

No job too big!

By on Thursday, January 10, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This truck is very reliable and dependable for whatever job needs to be done. The HD package can't be beat when it comes to handling and control when empty or loaded. With the added 4 wheel drive, you can get just about anything anywhere. The only downside is the wide turn radius with the extended cab and long box together."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good truck, poor mpg

By on Wednesday, January 9, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My only complaint is gas mileage. Empty it gets 12, with a loaded trailer less than ten. Can't afford to drive it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

buy the diesel

By on Tuesday, January 1, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Great power and fuel economy. Buy the 6.6L turbo diesel. Check the resale, vehicle holds the initial upcharge for the 6.6L for the life of truck. I get close to 20mpg highway and average better than 17 around town. More torque than anything out there. Pulls my 5th wheel like it isn't even there. Great truck!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Pickup on the Road

By on Monday, December 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am not emotionally attached to this vehicle (in fact, it is more truck than I need and I would sell it to the right person). I have the Duramax diesel. While I am sure there are many good vehicles on the road, this truck is spectacular. It gets over 20 mpg on the road, has excellent towing ability, is comfortable to drive, is well deisnged - adults can sit in the rear seats (club cab version) indefinitely in comfort. Generally, it is quiet (for a diesel), does not smell of fuel, warms rapidly and performs well in cold weather (I use it mainly in Utah and Idaho), and is relatively maintenance free. I have pulled horse trailers through storms, pulled a variety of utility trailers, mainly on good roads, pulled ATV trialers across switchbacked mountain two-track roads, driven through several ATV only tracks, and made tracks all through the desert. I have never had a problem escept as noted below. The only flaws of which I am aware include (1) recalls associated with instrument panel, middle rear seatbelt, and talegate cables, - all handled by GM without cost or hassle, (2) some reported incompatibilities with the trailer wiring harness."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Overall, a really good truck

By on Monday, September 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"(01 2500 HD CC 4x4; 6.0L) I've had this truck for about a year now. I have to say that it runs great and does everything I need it to. Only complaint I have is the paint quality sucks. I think the paint chips everytime a bug hits it. Oh yeah, the lights for the radio keep going out. Minor things but still annoying. However, for work this truck does great! With 285's on it I get 13-14 around town. Not bad for a landyacht..."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Looks bad but still runs like new

By on Tuesday, August 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Been in one major and two minor accidents and truck is still running down the road trouble free. Has 170,000 miles. Have had this truck since 11/00. Been in the shop once for a warranty repair, Cranksensor."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

worker

By on Friday, July 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"AS by my review I give this truck all 5's. It works harder than any other midsize truck on the market. I think the Cumnmins engine in the Dodge gets too much attention solefully on the name cummings alone. I am a 20 yr exp diesel mechanic who ahs worked on all the big engines as well as the small(short time as a Ford Diesel Tech) The torque,power and all around performance from this truck cannot be beat. I would hook it up against any other stock diesel engine out there. This engine is a HUGE improvement over the 6.2L diesel GM used to have, there is no comparison. Hats off to the engineers at GM for marrying the perfect couple. DuraMax and Allison. Winning combo"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I so glad I bought this

By on Monday, July 9, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I went from Dodge, to Ford to Chevy. I like the fact that the Dodge has the Cummins Engine, but the Chevy has the Allison Tranny. I liked the looks of the Ford. I thought, how can I get a Ford with a Cummings engine and Allison Tranny. My wife didn't like the size of the Dodge or Ford. They seemed to big. The Chevy road like a car (even though it was the 2500 HD Deisel). After a few try-outs, and months of negotiating, (because they want allot more for the Chevy) we settled on the 2500 HD Deisel. I am so happy with it and glad I took the time to buy the Chevy. I have NOTHING but great things to say about it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

most comfort

By on Monday, July 9, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"has the best miles per gallon,tows 10,000-12,000 pounds with ease,and still gets good mileage"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice Truck

By on Sunday, July 8, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I just love my truck. It has been a very stong good reliable truck. It is a truck that I can trust to get the job done!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

What was expected

By on Saturday, July 7, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I owned 3 trucks in my life and my father had 1. I can say out of 2 Dodge trucks and a Toyota Tacoma the Chevrolet Silverado by far was the best investment. I do a lot of towing business wise, machinery, loam, gravel etc.... and never had an issue with pulling. At 13 mpg it hurts the wallet, but also got 13 mpg while towing too so it evens out. It does get better milage that the Triton 5.4 liter..... The only time it was in the shop was for routine oil changes, brakes etc.... The turning radius isn't bad for an extended cab with an eight foot bed either. I replaced the air filter 3 times, the last time I put in a K&L air filter and it increased engine performance. I will definatley by another GM truck...."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best truck

By on Friday, July 6, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"best truck i have ever owned and i love how it handles i would recommend it to anyone who knows what a diesel is about"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great step up from regular half ton trucks

By on Saturday, September 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great step up truck"

Cons: "hard to work on. ride quality of an amish buggy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"no complaints.. everything was extra heavy duty, making it a pain to work on."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Still in great condition and runs great

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great work truck"

Cons: "Asking $4,500.00 KBB value is $6,700.00"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has been an outstanding truck"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 51 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement