Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1223 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 49 | Next

Dose every thing you-can ask, work or play

By on Saturday, October 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Had the truck for about a year, have runs up and down the road empty or pulling a travel trlr."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Saturday, October 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very reliable truck, truck tows great and I have towed with both the cummins with the allison trans behind it and the powerstroke diesel, the Duramax is by far the best choice in both power and fuel economy."

most reliable truck I have owned

By on Saturday, October 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,345

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Truck has matching Jerico cap, matching visor, dual exhaust. Still gets very good gas mileage. Oil changed every 3,000 miles. Only filled with 93 oct or higher."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Got my moneys worth

By on Thursday, October 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable , basic and easy to fix"

Cons: "dumbest cup holder design ever"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck new. Other that tires and oil changes, the first maintenance I did on this truck was replacing the rear brake pads at 123,000. For about six years I had a regular plow route that paid for the truck in under two. At about 150k all the regular maintenance problems came at once. Starter, Alternator, both power windows, fuel pump, and every single brake line in the truck rotted out. Most of the replacement parts are reasonable in price and easy to install (I can only compare this to my 01 Nissan pathfinder with half the miles, triple the problems, and double the cost to fix them). At 200k now the truck is showing its age. Though the body had no rust or rot at all( its a regular cab, every extended cab I have seen this old has rotted out cab corners). A few complaints about the engineering that should have been common sense, brake lines are run on top of the frame where all the salt and muck from the road cakes up against them. fuel filter is almost impossible to get at, the transmission lines run right under the starter when they could have easily bent them around it, and one of my biggest pet peeves, the absolutely worst design for a cup holder I have ever seen. All in all, the truck has been really good to me. Part of me wants to see if I can get another 200k out of it, and the realistic part of me says its time to get a new one. Two other guys I work with have the same trucks just 5 or 6 years newer, they have the same problems, but they think they are great trucks. The only reason I'm going to buy a Ford next is I made a lot of money with there stock and Chevys are now built by Government motors:). But I would highly recommend this truck if your looking for a used one"

The 6.0 tows awesome

By on Saturday, October 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great tower and very roomy looks great as well. My favorite truck so far"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best vehicle I ever owned!

By on Friday, October 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great vehicle and very reliable"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased new to pull 5th wheel camper. I hated the smell and noise of the diesel so I got the 8.1L gas. This truck handles my 37ft trailer very well. It rides a little rough without a load but I love it. The only downside is gas mileage."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Work Horse.

By on Wednesday, October 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, fun to drive, tons of towing power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my 2003 Chevy 2500HD for several years now and can't get over what a work horse it is. It pulls my fully loaded 4-horse trailer with ease, climbs through rough terrain and is a comfortable ride on the highway. I have a BLM model so there are no power windows and only a tape player - I love it. What a tough vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

strong 6.0 with 410 gears 4 speed auto

By on Wednesday, October 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great driving truck with lots of power for towing"

Cons: "13 to 15 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i added factory cab marker lights,added slide out mirrows,added wheel to wheel 3x5 tubular step bars,hidaway 5th wheel hitch hunter brush guard 21/2 inch leveling kit 285/75r 16" tires"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

This has been a great truck

By on Monday, September 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Big powerful, heavy and safe."

Cons: "Gas milage is 10 in town and 14+ on highway."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"With the 8.1L gas engine and Allison transmission it has plety of power and is smooth and 100% reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

SERVICE BODY TRUCK USED IN COMMERCIAL HVAC

By on Sunday, September 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,810

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"RELIABLE GOOD SERVICE TRUCK HAS BEEN WELL TAKEN CARE OF ONE OWNER,HAS BEEN SERVICED EVERY 3500 MILES.READING SERVICE BODY, HAS BUILT IN LIGHT IN EVERY STORAGE BIN COMPARTMENT,HAS A HEAVY DUTY LIFT GATE BY ANTHONY.HAS BUILT IN TOOL BOX STORAGE IN BED OF TRUCK LADDER RACK,ALL STORAGE COMPARTMENT HAVE A CENTRAL LOCKING SYSTEM,IT HAS THE CHROME DOOR PULLS,HAVE TO SEE TRUCK.TRYING TO SELL BECAUSE I WAS RETIRED 5 YEARS AGO BECAUSE OF AND HEART TROUBLE."

One of the best Chevy's I've owned

By on Thursday, September 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rides and drives great. Good performance."

Cons: "Fuel mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this pickup in 2005 with 32,000 miles on it. I have not had one problem with this vehicle. I recently changed the tranny filter and fluid, put new brakes on the rear, and new plugs. It just keeps on running. Still does not use any oil. Tail pipe is as clean as when I bought it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best duramax yet

By on Sunday, September 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,005

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Power"

Cons: "Interior space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Can't beat the power and reliability. Of this truck"

Great truck!Maximum power and comfort.

By on Monday, September 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power and comfort collide!"

Cons: "Fuel economy, oil usage of 1Q/1200 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck will do anything a person can expect from a pickup. Plenty of power to pull anything you can legally scale. 4-wheel drive engages quick with push button. Cabin comfort is unbelievable, with 6-way power/heated buckets and great visibility. Fantastic all around truck. Fuel economy could be better, but that is the trade off for that much power. Gets 12-13 empty, on the highway. Not sure what it gets at interstate speeds."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best truck I have ever owned!

By on Monday, September 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything you need to do anything you want!"

Cons: "Basic maintenance is much more expensive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Towed this 33' horse trailer like it wasn't even there!

"I have always had Chevy's but this was the 1st diesel. The 6.0 Turbo w/ Allison 6 speed transmission never dissapoints me. Engine is very quiet, rides like a dream but has all & more of horsepower, durability & toughness any farm girl could ask for. 1 recomendation: would be a sensor on the turbo. It had some electrical issues from poor wire positioning design the 1st year & then 6 years later the turbo popped. No warning signs or any read out on the OBC (on board computer) just a complete loss of power. Sealed unit is VERY expensive to replace!!! This should be a servicable part just like on any larger diesel, to be more consumer friendly."

Towed this 33' horse trailer like it wasn't even there!

280,000 and still running stong 6.0 gas motor

By on Sunday, August 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "very dependble"

Cons: "13 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my truck was a county work truck I got it very used but still a good truck that has had a lot of punishment but keeps going"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great truck. Great quality. Great value.

By on Friday, August 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"One of the best vehicles I have ever had. Only problem ever was having to replace the water pump. Built solid to last."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

perfect condition

By on Sunday, July 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,899

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "low mileage 35899"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"we only used this truck for pleasure"

Tough Truck

By on Thursday, July 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Strong good pulling machine."

Cons: "Drink gas around 10MPG. But thats ok gets me there"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck used and have owned it for 7 years now. It has been thru the paces of all the nasty weather you can get in North Dakota. Never ever plugged it in and it always sat ouside. I use it strictly for pulling all my stuff, cars on trailers, 4 place snowmobile trailer and my other smaller enclosed trailer. I maintain it but don't baby it. It's never failed me. Runs out way stronger than my 2011 2500 crew cab with 6.0 I use for work. I love this truck! I hate my 2011 model, it is a gutless heap and it's the LTZ decked out one....."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very sad to sell!

By on Saturday, July 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been an absolutely perfect truck! Carries 6 passengers, tons of power, great gas mileage, loves to tow and carry heavy loads (has air shocks), everything you want in a truck! Only complaint is the plastic tailgate handle/latch broke. Absolutely NO other complaints on this awesome truck!"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

300 hp, 500 lb tq, Bose stereo, Leather...

By on Monday, July 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "worth every penny"

Cons: "cd changer doesnt work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck with 90,000. fell I love with the seats. I serviced the transmission, change the oil, and filters as prescribed. I towed my 19ft bass boat 300 miles each way at 58 mph and door to door I got 21 mpg. Not one issue in forty thousand miles. This truck has done everything and anything I ask and it to. I'm confidant it will for years to come."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

300 hp, 500 lb tq, Bose stereo, Leather...

By on Monday, July 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "worth every penny"

Cons: "cd changer doesnt work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck with 90,000. I serviced the transmission, change the oil, and filters. I towed my 19ft bass boat 300 miles each way at 58 mph and door to door I got 21 mpg. Not one issue in forty thousand miles. This truck has done everything and anything I ask and it to. I'm confidant it will for years to come."

Pull a 24" Utility Trailer. Power, unbelievable.

By on Thursday, June 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A truck ride in comfort, yeah!"

Cons: "Would appreciate better gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Was a Ford man all my life (I'm 81).Couldn't wait until the Ford Exhibition came on the lot. What a disappointment. I purchased my Silverado in 2002 with 20,000 miles on the odometer. Pulling a load or just cruising along, rides like a Cadillac. Only wish the gas mileage was better."

Pull a 24" Utility Trailer. Power, unbelievable.

By on Thursday, June 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A truck ride in comfort, yeah!"

Cons: "Would appreciate better gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Was a Ford man all my life (I'm 81).Couldn't wait until the Ford Exhibition came on the lot. What a disappointment. I purchased my Silverado in 2002 with 20,000 miles on the odometer. Pulling a load or just cruising along, rides like a Cadillac. Only wish the gas mileage was better."

Worst money pit ever

By on Monday, June 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 214,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Brakes last long time"

Cons: "Duramax diesel unreliable motor and huge costs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Bought this new in April 2001. This a lb7 duramax diesel. At 120,000 miles injectors go bad and gm would not cover $5200 for this repair in 2008. 6 wheel bearing repairs 4 lhf and 2 rhf. Cost $2400.00 total . Water pump repair $700 in 2009. Computer goes out $500 2011. Water pump is leaking and head gasket is bad $ 4000 June 2013. Another wheel bearing going bad $500. This is the worst chevy truck that I have ever bought. Being a gm owner all my life I find it unbelievable that gm would not stand behind the quality of their product after they promoted this truck as the best truck ever. The diesel motor and Allison transmision costs $7200.00 more than the gas when you buy the truck . Put over $ 15000 in maintenance cost on this truck with a diesel motor. Not worth it ."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

05 6L never sell

By on Sunday, June 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "its all fun, an made of real heavy duty steel"

Cons: "rear window leaked"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"what a great vehicle, has always done as asked, I was getting 10 mpg maybe 12 on hwy and just did tune up at 160000 and I getting 15 mpg , blew my mind. just wires plugs and K&N cleaning. however it is 2wd and if grass is wet and camper hooked up I ain't goin no where. would highly recommended this truck i'll never sell it. wahooo 50% increase in gas milage for 250.00 tune up. gonna buy the mechanic dinner."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 49 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals