Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1250 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next

good truck

By on Friday, January 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"togh reliable and nice looking. bought this vehicle used with 20000 miles on it and have since put 60000 more on it i tow daily cars and boats havent yet had a problem with it. only complaint is the gas mileage i get about 13 miles to gallon with my 411 gear ratio"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

No job too big!

By on Thursday, January 10, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This truck is very reliable and dependable for whatever job needs to be done. The HD package can't be beat when it comes to handling and control when empty or loaded. With the added 4 wheel drive, you can get just about anything anywhere. The only downside is the wide turn radius with the extended cab and long box together."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good truck, poor mpg

By on Wednesday, January 09, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My only complaint is gas mileage. Empty it gets 12, with a loaded trailer less than ten. Can't afford to drive it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

buy the diesel

By on Tuesday, January 01, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Great power and fuel economy. Buy the 6.6L turbo diesel. Check the resale, vehicle holds the initial upcharge for the 6.6L for the life of truck. I get close to 20mpg highway and average better than 17 around town. More torque than anything out there. Pulls my 5th wheel like it isn't even there. Great truck!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Pickup on the Road

By on Monday, December 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am not emotionally attached to this vehicle (in fact, it is more truck than I need and I would sell it to the right person). I have the Duramax diesel. While I am sure there are many good vehicles on the road, this truck is spectacular. It gets over 20 mpg on the road, has excellent towing ability, is comfortable to drive, is well deisnged - adults can sit in the rear seats (club cab version) indefinitely in comfort. Generally, it is quiet (for a diesel), does not smell of fuel, warms rapidly and performs well in cold weather (I use it mainly in Utah and Idaho), and is relatively maintenance free. I have pulled horse trailers through storms, pulled a variety of utility trailers, mainly on good roads, pulled ATV trialers across switchbacked mountain two-track roads, driven through several ATV only tracks, and made tracks all through the desert. I have never had a problem escept as noted below. The only flaws of which I am aware include (1) recalls associated with instrument panel, middle rear seatbelt, and talegate cables, - all handled by GM without cost or hassle, (2) some reported incompatibilities with the trailer wiring harness."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Overall, a really good truck

By on Monday, September 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"(01 2500 HD CC 4x4; 6.0L) I've had this truck for about a year now. I have to say that it runs great and does everything I need it to. Only complaint I have is the paint quality sucks. I think the paint chips everytime a bug hits it. Oh yeah, the lights for the radio keep going out. Minor things but still annoying. However, for work this truck does great! With 285's on it I get 13-14 around town. Not bad for a landyacht..."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Looks bad but still runs like new

By on Tuesday, August 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Been in one major and two minor accidents and truck is still running down the road trouble free. Has 170,000 miles. Have had this truck since 11/00. Been in the shop once for a warranty repair, Cranksensor."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

worker

By on Friday, July 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"AS by my review I give this truck all 5's. It works harder than any other midsize truck on the market. I think the Cumnmins engine in the Dodge gets too much attention solefully on the name cummings alone. I am a 20 yr exp diesel mechanic who ahs worked on all the big engines as well as the small(short time as a Ford Diesel Tech) The torque,power and all around performance from this truck cannot be beat. I would hook it up against any other stock diesel engine out there. This engine is a HUGE improvement over the 6.2L diesel GM used to have, there is no comparison. Hats off to the engineers at GM for marrying the perfect couple. DuraMax and Allison. Winning combo"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I so glad I bought this

By on Monday, July 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I went from Dodge, to Ford to Chevy. I like the fact that the Dodge has the Cummins Engine, but the Chevy has the Allison Tranny. I liked the looks of the Ford. I thought, how can I get a Ford with a Cummings engine and Allison Tranny. My wife didn't like the size of the Dodge or Ford. They seemed to big. The Chevy road like a car (even though it was the 2500 HD Deisel). After a few try-outs, and months of negotiating, (because they want allot more for the Chevy) we settled on the 2500 HD Deisel. I am so happy with it and glad I took the time to buy the Chevy. I have NOTHING but great things to say about it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

most comfort

By on Monday, July 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"has the best miles per gallon,tows 10,000-12,000 pounds with ease,and still gets good mileage"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice Truck

By on Sunday, July 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I just love my truck. It has been a very stong good reliable truck. It is a truck that I can trust to get the job done!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

What was expected

By on Saturday, July 07, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I owned 3 trucks in my life and my father had 1. I can say out of 2 Dodge trucks and a Toyota Tacoma the Chevrolet Silverado by far was the best investment. I do a lot of towing business wise, machinery, loam, gravel etc.... and never had an issue with pulling. At 13 mpg it hurts the wallet, but also got 13 mpg while towing too so it evens out. It does get better milage that the Triton 5.4 liter..... The only time it was in the shop was for routine oil changes, brakes etc.... The turning radius isn't bad for an extended cab with an eight foot bed either. I replaced the air filter 3 times, the last time I put in a K&L air filter and it increased engine performance. I will definatley by another GM truck...."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best truck

By on Friday, July 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"best truck i have ever owned and i love how it handles i would recommend it to anyone who knows what a diesel is about"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

this is a very nice truck.excellent shape.no issue

By on Tuesday, April 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice truck,very reliable"

Cons: "there are none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this truck is in excellent conditions.No issues.New:tires,brakes,rotors,tie rod ends,ball joints,pitman arm,front end alignment ,oil change,fuel filter,floor mats,.The truck is in excellent condition.I am the original owner.Over 2500.00 in new parts and maintenance.Zero rust,no problems, everything works as it should."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Darn good pickup

By on Monday, March 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fast and lots of power"

Cons: "short box"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Its not a diesel but it sure pulls like one"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Still in great condition and runs great

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great work truck"

Cons: "Asking $4,500.00 KBB value is $6,700.00"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has been an outstanding truck"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun"

Cons: "Yes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Love this truck"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A great and reliable truck

By on Saturday, November 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Truck, stylish and tows nicely"

Cons: "Expensive to fill up, big engine, more gas used"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I use my truck for business and personal use. It has been very dependable and looks good too. It tows great and hauls most anything. It does use gas and it can be costly to fill up but if youre looking for a reliable truck the 2500 series Silverado is the way to go. I am a very happy Chevy owner."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

runs great. never a problem

By on Saturday, November 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"aside from all extras it also has an allison transmission. nothing wrong just want to go to a one car family"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Dose every thing you-can ask, work or play

By on Saturday, October 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Had the truck for about a year, have runs up and down the road empty or pulling a travel trlr."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

most reliable truck I have owned

By on Saturday, October 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,345

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Truck has matching Jerico cap, matching visor, dual exhaust. Still gets very good gas mileage. Oil changed every 3,000 miles. Only filled with 93 oct or higher."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This has been a great truck

By on Monday, September 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Big powerful, heavy and safe."

Cons: "Gas milage is 10 in town and 14+ on highway."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"With the 8.1L gas engine and Allison transmission it has plety of power and is smooth and 100% reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

One of the best Chevy's I've owned

By on Thursday, September 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rides and drives great. Good performance."

Cons: "Fuel mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this pickup in 2005 with 32,000 miles on it. I have not had one problem with this vehicle. I recently changed the tranny filter and fluid, put new brakes on the rear, and new plugs. It just keeps on running. Still does not use any oil. Tail pipe is as clean as when I bought it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck!Maximum power and comfort.

By on Monday, September 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power and comfort collide!"

Cons: "Fuel economy, oil usage of 1Q/1200 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck will do anything a person can expect from a pickup. Plenty of power to pull anything you can legally scale. 4-wheel drive engages quick with push button. Cabin comfort is unbelievable, with 6-way power/heated buckets and great visibility. Fantastic all around truck. Fuel economy could be better, but that is the trade off for that much power. Gets 12-13 empty, on the highway. Not sure what it gets at interstate speeds."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck. Great quality. Great value.

By on Friday, August 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"One of the best vehicles I have ever had. Only problem ever was having to replace the water pump. Built solid to last."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals