Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1999 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1237 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

plenty of power quick off the line.

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good off road hadleing"

Cons: "too many plastic parts ie: door handles etc."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great drive train, fair gas mileage, Rides great with a full load"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Grea, dependable truck!

By on Wednesday, December 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,250

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and AMAZING at pullin' trailers."

Cons: "center console does not fold down"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had an 01 Chevy 2500 HD for about 6 months and til this day I've had no problems with them. It's a great dependable, reliable, and VERY strong truck. Great for towing, hauling or whatever you need done. 10 outta 10 for me."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Very good vehicle. Diesel and tranny are perfect.

By on Wednesday, December 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Pulling power, a/c, tranny."

Cons: "smokes periodically,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would buy again and am likely to buy another one soon."

very good vehicle

By on Saturday, December 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "Gauge Cluster, windshield washer fluid line"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very good vehicle, Have had to replace the windshield washer system hose, starter, and Gauge Cluster Stepper Motors and that's it at 185,000 miles besides multiple oil changes. I have the 6.0 Liter Gas model which gets about 13mpg. The upgrades I have are a Volant Cold Air Intake, 12,000 lbs Winch, Custom Grille Guard Bumper, Backup lights, Subwoofer, Polk Audio DXI650 speakers, Nitro 800w Amp with blue led, Ouku 7 inch double din radio, blue led gauge cluster, Strobe Lights, CB Radio, etc. It is a 4wd model, and I have never got stuck in the snow running 16 inch Radial tires. Very good, reliable truck."

17 people out of 30 found this review helpful

She has been a good truck

By on Saturday, October 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought one new in 2001 and it has performed well for me during that time.I pull several medium to heavy trailers and have put 200,000+ miles in mostly stop and go traffic with probably a third+ of that towing.Changed both front wheel bearings and a few other minor repairs other than parts designed to wear.It is on the 4th set of tires and is ready for the fifth set.Just bought a 2012 Dodge 2500 diesel and am going to sell the Chevy...I expect to get around $5500/6000 for it.I think this truck will go another 100,000 miles with a bit of care and cash.As far as getting through terrain it is unstoppable...Never been stuck."

33 people out of 68 found this review helpful

Best, toughest vehicle ever owned!

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 320,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything except gas mileage"

Cons: "gas mileage but hey, it's a 2500 pick up for work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"320,000 miles plus, still going strong. One durable vehicle"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best type of truck

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good value, reliable, great hauling and towing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Pickups nowadays are all terrible on gas. mine gets between 12 and 20mpg, that's pretty good if you ask me, considering its 4wd and weighs 8600 lbs. the 4wd is amazing, ive been stuck up to the axles In mud and bumper high in snow and it refuses to stop moving. being a 2500 it can haul anything you can fit in the bed. Ive had a 24 foot flat trailer with a skid loader on it weighing as much as my truck and it still pulls like a champ. if you can take gas milage out of the equasion this truck is the best vehicle I could imagine owning when in need of a bed or hauling anything. Mpg is no better on a 1500 or f150 and you don't get the hauling and towing copasity."

13 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Strong as heck

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Best towing vehicle"

Cons: "stiff ride without weight, but smooth with"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

ready to camp!

"Bought this truck (6.0 liter gasoline 4x4 crew) for my 27'(9000 lbs.+) travel trailer. Towed flawlessly. Had a few minor problems that came with age and wear and tear. Fixed them all and never let me down. Drove from Seattle to Las Vegas with the trailer fully stocked and never burped once! I sold the trailer and now trying to sell truck, got many calls, but am so confident with the truck, that I wont let someone steal it from me at a low price. Worth every penny of $11.5K with brand new tires and brakes and clean title and no leaks..."

17 people out of 33 found this review helpful

ready to camp!

Best truck I have ever owned.

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great overall truck."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great truck."

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Classic workhorse, tough, reliable, rugged looks.

By on Friday, September 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Towing ability, overall comfort, smooth power"

Cons: "Ride quality and road noise compared to new"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everything you need and nothing you don't. Good ride and comfort from a truck that can do it all without breaking a sweat. I'm getting 18mpg with the Duramax and Allison drivetrain. The sound, the power, the smooth shifting transmission and don't know you're pulling something feel make this truck amazing. Pulling a skidsteer up a fairly steep grade is not a big deal. Transmission runs cool under load. I love this truck. I drove a 2015 1/2 ton for kicks and couldn't wait to get back in my Duramax! My 2002 only has 86k miles so just breaking in, but look forward to taking it up to 400k like everyone else does. The paint and fit and finish on the 2002's (I previously owned a 2002 Suburban 2500) is awesome. This vehicle will get passed down in my family. The new trucks are quieter and ride better if you want to shell out that much dough. I like the old truck look. Chevy Tough!!!"

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals