Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Editors' Page: 2014 Pickup Trucks
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Extended Cab Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $30,269 - $31,190.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $32,920

Fair Purchase Price $30,730
Fair Market Range ($30,269 - $31,190)

Invoice $31,004
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 376 Ratings for the 2007 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

Good truck for the money.

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good value, easy to handle and drive."

Cons: "Would like to see more interiors colors."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 4th chevy truck. My last one was an 06 1500HD. I pull a 33ft. 5th wheel and never had to much trouble pulling it. I can't wait to hook up to it with my 11 2500HD. From every thing I've read my camper will be no match for this truck. Good solid truck. Well styled with plenty of power. Could get better gas milage [12.5-13 mpg] but pulling power would suffer. Bought it to pull not to sit in the drive. Would recomend this truck to any one that needs to haul or pull heavy loads."

Great Truck

By on Sunday, March 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great truck."

Cons: "LS version has manual windows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've got the duramax and it has more power than you know what to do with. The only issue is less than desirable fuel mileage between 14-17 mpg."

best chevy ever , finaly comparable in toughness

By on Sunday, March 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "strong , tough, quiet, handles awsome"

Cons: "all the new diesels need better fuel milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the toughest chevy yet , now a front end comparable to the others"

Fantastic diesel

By on Saturday, March 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great drive, pulls strong,"

Cons: "dents easy, rattling dash, mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great styling, strong driving and good looks inside and out. Mileage is around 17/18 in town and 22/24 on the highway when not pulling or hauling. My biggest complaint is the interior and the design of the dash - it looks good but is not designed well on installation. Quite a few rattles especially when temp is cold. The gas mileage is better than my previous gas truck, but with diesel now more expensive it's a wash except when it comes to pulling trailers. Thin body sheet metal and dents/dings easy"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

one of the best

By on Saturday, March 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great engine"

Cons: "n/a"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great truck lots of power for pulling and good fuel ecco for long rides."

Execlent truck for work or traveling, Towes great

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good solid truck for the money."

Cons: "Wish I had gotten a 4X4, with higher gear ratio."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have a 35 foot fifth wheel, towed with no problem, also had a load that went across the scales at 26000 lbs. Truck preformed with no problems stoping or moving."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Leaks won't stop!

By on Monday, March 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Best looking truck, feels like a tank"

Cons: "Mpg, cheap interior, little storage, reliablity"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"My truck is now going back to the dealer for its 5th visit for warranty work. 3 times for a trans seal that keeps failing. Truck has also had brake dragging and squealing issues. The dealer turned the rotors, made adjustments on both visits, but the issue still isn't completely resolved. My other complaint is gas mileage. Can't get much more than 11 or 12 mpg in mixed driving. That's the worst gas mileage I've ever had of any truck I've owned."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great truck!

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good truck for work and driving."

Cons: "Transfer case and fuel response"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been one great truck. It has served my purpose well. As a truck driver, I would only change a few things. Transfer case needs to have a lower gear ratio b/c out on the road, it restricts the power too much. The fuel response is too slow at lower RPMs."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this truck

By on Monday, February 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the 4th truck I have owned and by far the BEST!!!!!"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The perfect machine

By on Sunday, February 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power fun drive feel wild and free on the way. BOM"

Cons: "You can't worrie for gas price, full tank always"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Except my girlfriend everybody else like my truck. for me is everglade, one month i have done to many things with this baby, I was not sure about it but this is the perfect mans car."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Very Very good vehicle so far.

By on Saturday, February 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price was right, Power great. Great looking truck."

Cons: "Nothing so far. Hope not to find any Cons!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very good vehicle so far. A little rough ridding, but that is what I get for having the 3/4 ton truck. Power is great. Seats are VERY comfortable for someone my size. The power option helps a great deal. Purchased this 07 used with only 10,400 miles in 2011. A little hesitant on this one, but getting it as a Certified Vehicle made me and wife sleep better. Had more options that wanted but price was right for this truck. Pulls trailer with little effort up or down hills. Hope to have this as long as I have had my 1998 Burb. Burb has over 220000 thousand miles and still going strong."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Powerful, able to tow/haul whatever you want

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Smooth quiet ride, awesome power."

Cons: "Needs more storage areas, glove box is too small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my first diesel and I now never would go back to a gas engine. Fuel economy is way better than you could ever achieve with a non-diesel. Massive amounts of torque pull large loads effortlessly. The truck has been totally reliable from day one. Only warranty issues were a passenger visor that wanted to always fall down, and a cracked dash pad from baking in the Florida sun every day. The Duramax and Allison combo are terrific!"

Very nice truck!

By on Sunday, February 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my truck! The only problem I can think of is, I had over sized tires installed. 285/75/16. The front tires don't clear the fender wells. In any tight turn, the front tires rub. A leveling kit is a must. If Chevy has these tires as an option, they should have raised the front also."

Great truck, Very Dependable,

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great Towing capacity, Comfort and Handling"

Cons: "Poor mileage. Averages around 16 at 70 mph."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great Truck, Very dependable, very comfortable, Handles great. Not so great on the economy end. Mileage is not what I expected with truck having 6 speed tranny. I feel like they have too much emission controls restricting the exhaust flow keeping it from getting the mileage it could get. Runs less RPM'S than 2004 I had and gets less milage."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Not Happy

By on Thursday, February 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This truck is giving me too many transmission and brake problems. Truck has trouble shifting out of 2nd gear in colder weather. It slips or even stays stuck in 2nd gear at times. I've also started seeing a lot of build up around the transmission tail housing. Dealer has done everything but find fixes to the problems with the trans and brakes. I was reading a different KBB consumer review that had mentioned brake problems with their truck. The problems I'm having sound similar to that. This maybe a problem that many other owners are having. If you're looking for a 3/4 ton truck, I DO NOT recommend people buy this vehicle."

14 people out of 15 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Thursday, February 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A true TRUCK"

Cons: "It doesnt have the allison tranny, stupid I think"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only issue Ive had is with the tranny, its not a allison tranny so Ive had to take it in once because when I put it in drive it would take a while. they replaced something in it (under power tran warranty) took it off roading at ocotillo wells couldnt believe how much of a truck this thing is and its stock! if your checking off your mans list get the 6.0 and if you get the 6.0 chip it! its night and day in acceleration!!!"

Excellent Truck

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best Truck I have owned."

Cons: "I wish the 6.0 got better Mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Pretty Truck..."

Almost good.

By on Saturday, January 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Feels tough, looks good"

Cons: "Interior, brake problems, gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Gas mileage is just over 10 mpg in mixed driving, transmission temp is all over the place, engine clatter in warmer temps, I've already had issues with the brakes and GM needs to fire the people the designed the interior. The window controls are too easy to bump, you can accidentally catch the hood release by operating the parking brake, the headlight switch is poorly designed, and the interior is both cheap feeling and boring to look at...It's also amazing to see how much soot builds up on the tailpipe and rear bumper. If you didn't know it, you could be fooled in to thinking it was running an old diesel engine. But not everything's bad... A solid feel, great hauler, good stopping power, it's easily the the nicest look truck out there."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Love it! Expensive to maintain--

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice ride. great towing, very comfortable"

Cons: "Must be maintained and that can be expensive!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's reliability is great as long you take care of it. Oil changes, filter approx. 80.00 if done at the dealer. Fuel filter change $110.00 - $125.00 if done at the dealer. This needs to be done approximately every 6-9 months. I prefer the cloth seats and the interior is perfect for a woman. The gages are easy to read everything is located on the steering wheel if you need to know the mileage, percentage of filter before necessary change is needed. Alerts as to fluids."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

THE BEST truck I have ever owned!!!

By on Sunday, January 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun and VERY easy to drive."

Cons: "I wish more vehicle mfgs would follow suit."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Got me home AGAIN!!!

"Love this rig, I would buy another one. This truck drives like a caddy and can handle any terrain you can throw at it!!!"

Got me home AGAIN!!!

Outstanding

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "PERFECT 5th wheel hauler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Son drives a Ford. this truck beats it hands down in all aspecs."

great truck

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "smaller door compartment space compared to previou"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my first silverado in 1998. I have owned the 98 a 2001 a 2006 and this 2009. They have all been great but the 2009 2500hd 4wd 6.0 6spd is the BEST. In the last ten years I have leased an 2000 2002 a 2005 and I now lease a 2011 2500hd. All trucks have been ext cab 4wd short bed The 2009 is still the BEST chevy truck I have owned/driven. The 2011 seems light and unstable in the rear compared to my 2009. With weight in the bed, it feels good. Ready to replace the 09 now with a 2012."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable, tough vehicle.

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No issues. I tow 14,000 with ease."

Great Truck

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second one of these. I had a 2004. Great Trucks and tough!!"

most reliable truck I have ever owned

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable, powerful towing"

Cons: "storage behind seat is poor because it is unlevel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In three years I drove this truck 80,000 and have paid nothing in repairs. The only service are oil changes and inspections."

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.