Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Extended Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1248 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next

this is a very nice truck.excellent shape.no issue

By on Tuesday, April 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice truck,very reliable"

Cons: "there are none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this truck is in excellent conditions.No issues.New:tires,brakes,rotors,tie rod ends,ball joints,pitman arm,front end alignment ,oil change,fuel filter,floor mats,.The truck is in excellent condition.I am the original owner.Over 2500.00 in new parts and maintenance.Zero rust,no problems, everything works as it should."

Excellent Condition

By on Monday, April 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, Excellent Condition !"

Cons: "None that I can think of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has 120000 miles on it since the diesel motor was replaced at 127000 miles by GM. Total mileage on this truck is about 247,000 miles. Never used for off road. Mostly Hwy miles. This truck has been very well maintained with new brakes and rotors, shocks, exhaust and all fluids changed at or before time was due and regularly. New Michelin tires. All u-joints replaced with HD grease fitting style joints. Rust free. Fifth wheel package."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

comfortable and tough

By on Thursday, April 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"very powerful engine. replaced transmission at 150k"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

One of the best trucks we ever had.

By on Friday, March 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable and low maintance cost."

Cons: "N/A"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Rides good and hauls very good."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Darn good pickup

By on Monday, March 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fast and lots of power"

Cons: "short box"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Its not a diesel but it sure pulls like one"

A happy truck. New injectors and transfer case

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Clean. Single owner. All service records."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Single owner. All maintenance records available. Replace injectors and transfer case. Highway miles only. Really a clean beautiful truck with the duramas and Allison transmission."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

The 8.1L & Allison tranny combo is great

By on Friday, February 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Engine/transmission"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has the perfect power train combo with the 8.1 engine and Allison transmission. It's a workhorse and great for towing. Diesel towing power without paying the price for the fuel. However, gas mileage is poor as to be expected. Very comfortable to drive and handles well in spite of its size. Decent off road capability for a stock 4WD."

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Very good mechanicly sound truck

By on Thursday, February 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 226,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "duramax diesel with allision 1000 tranx. 20mpg"

Cons: "long extended cab and 8' bed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has the duramax/allusion trany. Has never pulled any heavy loads. The cap is a ARE alum/40thousands thick sheet metal painted the same color as the truck, silver, with barn doors and side tinted windows that slide open w/screen. Has had no problems."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever (still has frame stickers on it

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,650

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Getting older would like to sell"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent condition drove very little"

Best truck I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, February 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Don't like the ext. cab."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I hate to sell it but I am past camping and don't need the power for light truck duties I now have. Great truck. Duramax is reliable and strong."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best vehicle so far that I have owned

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Has been reliable and dependable no problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really enjoy my 2500HD would have liked to have had the DMax but was a bit out of my price range at the time. Has been truely dependable, no problems. Rides like a truck which I like, but is also comfortable with the 6 way power adjustable seats. Love the heated seats in the winter and the 4 wheel drive has never failed me. Lots of power compared to my 2000 Silverado 1500 I had. has pulled everything I needed it to pull and easily. Drives nice and love the ammenities it has for a truck. Fortunately for me I have not had any rust issues whatsoever and with it being 14 years old I am planning on driving it till the wheels fall off."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

plenty of power quick off the line.

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good off road hadleing"

Cons: "too many plastic parts ie: door handles etc."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great drive train, fair gas mileage, Rides great with a full load"

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Grea, dependable truck!

By on Wednesday, December 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,250

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and AMAZING at pullin' trailers."

Cons: "center console does not fold down"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had an 01 Chevy 2500 HD for about 6 months and til this day I've had no problems with them. It's a great dependable, reliable, and VERY strong truck. Great for towing, hauling or whatever you need done. 10 outta 10 for me."

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Very good vehicle. Diesel and tranny are perfect.

By on Wednesday, December 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Pulling power, a/c, tranny."

Cons: "smokes periodically,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would buy again and am likely to buy another one soon."

very good vehicle

By on Saturday, December 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "Gauge Cluster, windshield washer fluid line"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very good vehicle, Have had to replace the windshield washer system hose, starter, and Gauge Cluster Stepper Motors and that's it at 185,000 miles besides multiple oil changes. I have the 6.0 Liter Gas model which gets about 13mpg. The upgrades I have are a Volant Cold Air Intake, 12,000 lbs Winch, Custom Grille Guard Bumper, Backup lights, Subwoofer, Polk Audio DXI650 speakers, Nitro 800w Amp with blue led, Ouku 7 inch double din radio, blue led gauge cluster, Strobe Lights, CB Radio, etc. It is a 4wd model, and I have never got stuck in the snow running 16 inch Radial tires. Very good, reliable truck."

22 people out of 37 found this review helpful

She has been a good truck

By on Saturday, October 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought one new in 2001 and it has performed well for me during that time.I pull several medium to heavy trailers and have put 200,000+ miles in mostly stop and go traffic with probably a third+ of that towing.Changed both front wheel bearings and a few other minor repairs other than parts designed to wear.It is on the 4th set of tires and is ready for the fifth set.Just bought a 2012 Dodge 2500 diesel and am going to sell the Chevy...I expect to get around $5500/6000 for it.I think this truck will go another 100,000 miles with a bit of care and cash.As far as getting through terrain it is unstoppable...Never been stuck."

35 people out of 71 found this review helpful

Best, toughest vehicle ever owned!

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 320,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything except gas mileage"

Cons: "gas mileage but hey, it's a 2500 pick up for work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"320,000 miles plus, still going strong. One durable vehicle"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best type of truck

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good value, reliable, great hauling and towing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Pickups nowadays are all terrible on gas. mine gets between 12 and 20mpg, that's pretty good if you ask me, considering its 4wd and weighs 8600 lbs. the 4wd is amazing, ive been stuck up to the axles In mud and bumper high in snow and it refuses to stop moving. being a 2500 it can haul anything you can fit in the bed. Ive had a 24 foot flat trailer with a skid loader on it weighing as much as my truck and it still pulls like a champ. if you can take gas milage out of the equasion this truck is the best vehicle I could imagine owning when in need of a bed or hauling anything. Mpg is no better on a 1500 or f150 and you don't get the hauling and towing copasity."

14 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Strong as heck

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Best towing vehicle"

Cons: "stiff ride without weight, but smooth with"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

ready to camp!

"Bought this truck (6.0 liter gasoline 4x4 crew) for my 27'(9000 lbs.+) travel trailer. Towed flawlessly. Had a few minor problems that came with age and wear and tear. Fixed them all and never let me down. Drove from Seattle to Las Vegas with the trailer fully stocked and never burped once! I sold the trailer and now trying to sell truck, got many calls, but am so confident with the truck, that I wont let someone steal it from me at a low price. Worth every penny of $11.5K with brand new tires and brakes and clean title and no leaks..."

20 people out of 37 found this review helpful

ready to camp!

Best truck I have ever owned.

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great overall truck."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great truck."

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Classic workhorse, tough, reliable, rugged looks.

By on Friday, September 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Towing ability, overall comfort, smooth power"

Cons: "Ride quality and road noise compared to new"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everything you need and nothing you don't. Good ride and comfort from a truck that can do it all without breaking a sweat. I'm getting 18mpg with the Duramax and Allison drivetrain. The sound, the power, the smooth shifting transmission and don't know you're pulling something feel make this truck amazing. Pulling a skidsteer up a fairly steep grade is not a big deal. Transmission runs cool under load. I love this truck. I drove a 2015 1/2 ton for kicks and couldn't wait to get back in my Duramax! My 2002 only has 86k miles so just breaking in, but look forward to taking it up to 400k like everyone else does. The paint and fit and finish on the 2002's (I previously owned a 2002 Suburban 2500) is awesome. This vehicle will get passed down in my family. The new trucks are quieter and ride better if you want to shell out that much dough. I like the old truck look. Chevy Tough!!!"

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Best tow vehicle made.

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this to pull my 38' toyhauler, 16,100lbs. the Duramax pulls it great. The Allison trans is fantastic. Gets 12 mpg towing and up to 25 mpg on the highway empty. Carries five people in comfort. Had injectors replaced under warranty at 106000 miles and that's it. Love this truck. Yes, it's a little bouncy when empty, but it's rarely empty. I don't have all the bells and whistles, but it is quiet, comfortable and roomy. Drives and handles better than a 7000lb truck should be able to."

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price & value in 2002."

Cons: "Short of leg room on the front seat passenger."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have purchased/owned this vehicle since I drove it off the Chevrolet Dealers lot in Michigan and drove to our home in Georgia. (21 mpg) Bought this vehicle to pull a 36' 11,000 lb. travel trailer. We pulled the trailer all over between Michigan and Florida for five years as well as to our home campground in Georgia. Awesome Vehicle.......feels unstoppable."

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Dependable and best vehicle I've owned

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has had regular oil changes and tire rotation and a battery replaced but has not been back to a dealership for any other repairs. This is a fantastic Chevrolet product to own!!!!!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Lots of Power!!

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Runs 87 Octane, and tows great!!!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Extended Cab near Honolulu. See local deals