Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Extended Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1242 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

The 8.1L & Allison tranny combo is great

By on Friday, February 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Engine/transmission"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has the perfect power train combo with the 8.1 engine and Allison transmission. It's a workhorse and great for towing. Diesel towing power without paying the price for the fuel. However, gas mileage is poor as to be expected. Very comfortable to drive and handles well in spite of its size. Decent off road capability for a stock 4WD."

Very good mechanicly sound truck

By on Thursday, February 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 226,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "duramax diesel with allision 1000 tranx. 20mpg"

Cons: "long extended cab and 8' bed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has the duramax/allusion trany. Has never pulled any heavy loads. The cap is a ARE alum/40thousands thick sheet metal painted the same color as the truck, silver, with barn doors and side tinted windows that slide open w/screen. Has had no problems."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever (still has frame stickers on it

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,650

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Getting older would like to sell"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent condition drove very little"

Best truck I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, February 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Don't like the ext. cab."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I hate to sell it but I am past camping and don't need the power for light truck duties I now have. Great truck. Duramax is reliable and strong."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle so far that I have owned

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Has been reliable and dependable no problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really enjoy my 2500HD would have liked to have had the DMax but was a bit out of my price range at the time. Has been truely dependable, no problems. Rides like a truck which I like, but is also comfortable with the 6 way power adjustable seats. Love the heated seats in the winter and the 4 wheel drive has never failed me. Lots of power compared to my 2000 Silverado 1500 I had. has pulled everything I needed it to pull and easily. Drives nice and love the ammenities it has for a truck. Fortunately for me I have not had any rust issues whatsoever and with it being 14 years old I am planning on driving it till the wheels fall off."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

plenty of power quick off the line.

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good off road hadleing"

Cons: "too many plastic parts ie: door handles etc."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great drive train, fair gas mileage, Rides great with a full load"

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Grea, dependable truck!

By on Wednesday, December 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,250

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and AMAZING at pullin' trailers."

Cons: "center console does not fold down"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had an 01 Chevy 2500 HD for about 6 months and til this day I've had no problems with them. It's a great dependable, reliable, and VERY strong truck. Great for towing, hauling or whatever you need done. 10 outta 10 for me."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Very good vehicle. Diesel and tranny are perfect.

By on Wednesday, December 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Pulling power, a/c, tranny."

Cons: "smokes periodically,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would buy again and am likely to buy another one soon."

very good vehicle

By on Saturday, December 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "Gauge Cluster, windshield washer fluid line"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very good vehicle, Have had to replace the windshield washer system hose, starter, and Gauge Cluster Stepper Motors and that's it at 185,000 miles besides multiple oil changes. I have the 6.0 Liter Gas model which gets about 13mpg. The upgrades I have are a Volant Cold Air Intake, 12,000 lbs Winch, Custom Grille Guard Bumper, Backup lights, Subwoofer, Polk Audio DXI650 speakers, Nitro 800w Amp with blue led, Ouku 7 inch double din radio, blue led gauge cluster, Strobe Lights, CB Radio, etc. It is a 4wd model, and I have never got stuck in the snow running 16 inch Radial tires. Very good, reliable truck."

21 people out of 36 found this review helpful

She has been a good truck

By on Saturday, October 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought one new in 2001 and it has performed well for me during that time.I pull several medium to heavy trailers and have put 200,000+ miles in mostly stop and go traffic with probably a third+ of that towing.Changed both front wheel bearings and a few other minor repairs other than parts designed to wear.It is on the 4th set of tires and is ready for the fifth set.Just bought a 2012 Dodge 2500 diesel and am going to sell the Chevy...I expect to get around $5500/6000 for it.I think this truck will go another 100,000 miles with a bit of care and cash.As far as getting through terrain it is unstoppable...Never been stuck."

35 people out of 71 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Extended Cab near Honolulu. See local deals