Advertisement

To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Crew Cab Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $32,397 - $33,618.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $36,190

Fair Purchase Price $33,008
Fair Market Range ($32,397 - $33,618)

Invoice $34,084

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 399 Ratings for the 2007 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

Execlent truck for work or traveling, Towes great

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good solid truck for the money."

Cons: "Wish I had gotten a 4X4, with higher gear ratio."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have a 35 foot fifth wheel, towed with no problem, also had a load that went across the scales at 26000 lbs. Truck preformed with no problems stoping or moving."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great truck!!

By on Thursday, July 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great payload. Love the engine braking feature"

Cons: "Speaker vibration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle was purchased for towing our travel trailer. 30ft/8000#. No complaints other than needing 4.10 gears. Truck has 3.73. My next purchase I will make only that change. Great truck, no issues thus far. Would recommend to anyone!"

15 people out of 23 found this review helpful

I want to get rid of this truck.

By on Friday, April 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"My trucks transmission likes to shudder, clunk and grind. Hard acceleration can cause the transmission to slip, engine to scream away, and the truck to jolt forward. I've been to three dealers to hopefully get these problems resolved, but I've had no luck. They either make failed repairs, or they'll simply tell me that no problem was found. I've tried talking to GM, but they keep giving me the same story. I saved up a lot of money to buy this gas guzzling, overpriced, unreliable monster. It sure does tow nicely, but that's only when the transmission isn't giving me problems. I just wish I'd never bought this thing."

19 people out of 30 found this review helpful

Rugged and tows our rig effortesly

By on Friday, August 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Engine and transmission are awesome"

Cons: "Reliability questions"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Does everything we ask of it, love the power of the engine and the transmission. On the downside the command module quit working at 14000 miles leaving us stranded several times, the deal found and fixed the problem but was without the truck for four days. I am questioning the reliability down the road especially after the warranty expires."

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Great Work Truck

By on Thursday, May 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great for towing and working"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have mostly used this truck for snow plowing, hauling wood, and dirt, as well pulling a camper. This truck has been great so far. The interior is a step up over the old style and a big step up over my wife's 06 f-150. Over all I have loved this truck, its done everything I need it too and I have yet to have a problem with it. If your gonna pull anything I would recomend going with the diesel engine. Have had no problems pulling the camper up hills with it. I have owned/own both ford and chevy trucks. I currently like the chevys HD's more cause of the duramax allison combo. Over all a great truck and I would get another."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Wouldn't buy this truck again

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Cons: "Terrible gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Truck has had some problems in the first 40,000 miles, but nothing too serious. Now the engine has a rough idle, knock and stuttering that started after 40k. Dealer is trying to be helpful, but they've failed to fix my truck's engine."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love it! Expensive to maintain--

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice ride. great towing, very comfortable"

Cons: "Must be maintained and that can be expensive!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's reliability is great as long you take care of it. Oil changes, filter approx. 80.00 if done at the dealer. Fuel filter change $110.00 - $125.00 if done at the dealer. This needs to be done approximately every 6-9 months. I prefer the cloth seats and the interior is perfect for a woman. The gages are easy to read everything is located on the steering wheel if you need to know the mileage, percentage of filter before necessary change is needed. Alerts as to fluids."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Unexpected Problems

By on Wednesday, April 20, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Great truck, but I've had maintenance issues. Only 4000 miles and I've had it in the shop twice to replace a faulty transmission control module (truck stopped shifting into gear) and to (attempt to) fix the power steering system (a pint of power steering fluid gushed out through the reservoir cap). Maintenance crew could not troubleshoot the problem; so I think I'll be returning it to the shop soon with the same issue. Very comfortable, quiet and solid performer otherwise. 16+ MPG on the highway; 12-13 in mixed driving. Superb stereo system, great front seats and overall attractive and high-quality interior. Interior storage is marginal compared to Dodge; and the back bench is too upright and is uncomfortable for longer trips. Truck pulls my 29' travel trailer and 24' boat without issues. Were it not for the maintenance challenges, I'd rate it 5-stars. But it's hard to be confident in this truck after its had significant issues with such low mileage."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

new tires ,Hard bed cover, 4x4 works great.

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 249,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "diesel engines and allison transmission last forev"

Cons: "big truck requires alot of turning room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good dependable truck 6.6 turbo diesel 4 door crew cab"

25 people out of 44 found this review helpful

Best truck I have ever owned...

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "decent price, great to drive, fun to play in..."

Cons: "2015's are way more loaded as they should be"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had my last chevy 1500 for 8 yrs only ment to have it for 3, most likely will have this 2500 for a lot longer... Best veh I have ever owned... All my friends who use to drive ford are now driving chevy 2500's, just sayn."

34 people out of 62 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "confidence towing, good power, good mpg"

Cons: "slightly rough ride empty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"will tow anything with confidence exhaust brake works very well slows you down any grade without much use of brakes fuel mileage varies from 11 mpg towing to 19mpg empty cruising on freeway at 75 have to add DEF fluid not a big deal takes 5 gallons def will last 5000 to 8000 miles only complaint can be rough ride with no load but its a 10k gvw truck had some glowplugs covered under warrenty"

11 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Best truck ever

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,532

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Push rod V-8.comfort.power,snow plowing,pulling"

Cons: "I'll be to old to enjoy a new one in 25 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My last Chevy I had for 26 years.The ohio salt took it's toll.The frame broke from the rust,but it always started,even on a -35 windchill day.My 08 HD( I bought new) has no bells and whistles.It has the snow plow pkg.,trailer break,heavy duty towing.I did put running boards on it.It will plow a mountain of snow and pull a trailer overloaded with wood,not to mention drag a maple tree across a plowed field and still look good going to church....Would I buy another one?....In 25 years........sure."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

This has been a great truck for me.

By on Thursday, February 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good work truck!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Chevrolet had some paint issues in 2008 on the right side rear quarter panel. Got paint chipping in the wheel wells and rear quarters. Powerful drive train."

19 people out of 35 found this review helpful

good truck

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "engine trans 4x4 system"

Cons: "interior traction control doesnt actually turn off"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good truck plenty of power tows good could do better burnouts lol anyway interior is a bit plasticky but great truck better than any powerjoke or r.a.m rusty and maleficent"

15 people out of 28 found this review helpful

Quality

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned for over three years. Never had a problem. Tows my 30' toy hauler great. The best part of the 2007-1 is it has the new engine and 6 speed Allison without the emission's."

40 people out of 76 found this review helpful

needs extra wt for winter driving

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "tows a goose neck trailer with ease"

Cons: "handling in adverse weather conditions"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Even with aggressive high quality tires it does not hold the road on snow/ice it needs 600# of wt over the rear tires to act like an extended cab. During towing in rain or normal dry conditions it is excellent. Tires require rotation every 4k miles as it develops a cavitation shimmy and air requirements must be strictly adhered to or it does not handle well in any conditions."

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Solid and always willing to handle anything.

By on Tuesday, March 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Heavy duty but still easy to drive in town."

Cons: "High step to get in even with running boards."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is willing to handle anything I ask of it. It is also so nice I'm not afraid to drive it to my favorite restaurant in style. It looks sharp on the outside and is luxurious on the inside with leather heated seats, Bose sound and Xm radio."

32 people out of 63 found this review helpful

Terrible gas mileage.

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great looking pick-up"

Cons: "Terrible gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I love the looks and the way this pickup drives. The gas mileage is terrible. I have to set the cruse on 55 on the interstate to get 13 MPG. I have owned a Chevy pick-up for 40 years and will not buy another three-quarter ton chevy. Yes I know it is a three-quarter ton 4 wheel drive but 12.6 miles per gallon is terrible."

23 people out of 45 found this review helpful

best pickup I have owned

By on Thursday, October 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,540

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lots of power for towing & rides great nice trim"

Cons: "access to change fuel filter a poor design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best p.u. I have had, and I have had 6 others. It will haul and or tow almost any size load or trailer. Very comfortable riding and all of the creature comforts make it even better. Controls are placed for ease of use and comfort. All around a really nice truck if you like a beast!"

30 people out of 60 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Saturday, May 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Style, comfort and power"

Cons: "price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Nice ride, 16mpg mixed driving, pulls like a tractor and does it all while not looking like a "work" truck. Like any new vehicle it is a bit pricy, but they all are once you get to this level of truck."

15 people out of 30 found this review helpful

I would not buy a 2500 HD again

By on Saturday, January 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "pulls just a little better that my 1/2 ton truck"

Cons: "Brakes down , very bad fuel mileage with 373 gears"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Today the truck was towed as it would not start. Being Sat I can not get it fixed as the dealership closes at 1.00pm on Sat. Fuel mileage is very bad. For new truck and the best getting 15 MPG is very bad and that is driving very carefull. If I hook my bass boat on you are looking at 10 MPG. Overall a very high price for the truck and the tires where junk that came on it."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Awesome Truck

By on Friday, December 18, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is really a great truck. Diesel is a monster and truck is very comfortable, almost plush. A very dependable and strong workhorse truck. Beats the pants off of the Ford 250."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Great & Solid Truck

By on Tuesday, July 07, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I use this truck as my daily driver. I also tow a 9000 pound toy hauler with it several times a year. I have been extremely impressed with the comfort, durability and overall performance for this truck. As a daily driver I chose the 6.0 V8 over the Diesel. I may not tow my toy hauler 65 MPH up a steep mountain, but it has plenty of power for 99% of the job and only slightly under powered fully loaded with the family and loaded up trailer up the steepest mountains. The only maintenance on this truck beside oil changes and tire rotation has been replacing one brake light bulb. I work this truck hard and could not ask for a better truck. Chevy got this one right."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Gas mileage is terrible.

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Rough suspension, poor fuel Eco (12 on open rd)"

Cons: "Reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Ride is rough even for am HD, gets horrible mileage (12 on open rd, 10 around town, 7-8 while towing a 3 horse slant trailer). My F150 pulled the trailer well and pulled at 12mpg, 18 on open rd. I will beer turning to my F150."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

2007 classic duramax awesome truck

By on Tuesday, May 03, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The best truck I have ever owned awesome power and great fuel mpg. Around town it 16-17 no matter how you drive it on the highway 20 plus the best I ever got was 22 mpg. The towing and power is just something you have to expirence to believe. I plan on owning this truck for a long time."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.