Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2008 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 1231 Ratings for the 2007 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

very reliable back doors terrible need battery gau

By on Tuesday, March 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "starts well in cold conditions and is reliable"

Cons: "poor gauge display poor wind deflector/rear doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"good running and reliable.back doors fold in and can cause damage to front doors if not closed in proper succession a very terrible designe.the vehicle needs more gauges specifically a battery gauge etc.clock setting function is silly and needs to be all in one function.wind deflector under front bumper is cheaply made and keeps flying out of place or even off the vehicle-cheap plastic to plastic snaps that are not up to the job of holding the large deflector on especially in snow conditions.good starting in severe cold.should come with rubber matting on bed."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

erfic for triler towing

By on Saturday, March 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I don;t want to add anytng just giveme a price"

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent dependable truck

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good styling, comfortable, dependable, plenty of power"

Cons: "a couple of minor rattles after a few years."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my 4th 4WD Chevy truck and it has really lived up to my expectations. Being tall, I need lots of leg room and this truck is really comfortable for long trips. It handles great in the snow even without extra weight in the bed. It has all the power I need for hauling and towing and has always been dependable. The only thing I've ever had to replace is one of the power door locks."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 3rd Silverado and they have all been very good trucks."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

A very good truck.

By on Monday, March 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,400

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable,strong, comfortable truck"

Cons: "Very poor mileage when used in city only."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Very good and comfortable truck to drive Gets only about 14 miles per gallon in city and about 20 miles per gallon on highway. Very strong engine."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good,reliable truck

By on Monday, March 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "A vehicle you can depend on."

Cons: "No accessible storage behind seats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Owned since 2009. Not one problem. Drives great. My regular cab has hardly any storage, which is my only complaint."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love my truck

By on Wednesday, February 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fair price, looks great"

Cons: "more bells and whistles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my first Chevy Truck and I have to say that it has done it's job very well. I like the look of other trucks too and some have more room inside and what appear to be more features but as I enter the market for a new truck, Chevy/GM has earned my repeat business."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Been a darn good truck. But 4.8 engine is useless.

By on Wednesday, February 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "already stated"

Cons: "already stated"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

On the ferry.

"never had any major problems with mine.(aside from a front wheel bearing once.) only negative thing to say is the 4.8 engine is useless. don't know why they bothered to make and offer it. a more efficient 5.3 would make more common sense. i hear they dropped the 4.8 nowadays anyway. good thing."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

On the ferry.

A Real Truck

By on Monday, February 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Z71 option with 4wd is "the truck""

Cons: "None worth mentioning"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My Chevy is no "garage queen"! On the road or off, on the hunt or traveling, this is a great vehicle!

"This is my 3rd Chevy 4X4 and second crew cab model with the V-8 engine. Fuel management system is excellent and allows for reasonable fuel mileage ( 19Plus city and 26 plus highway). Remote start option is great in Illinois due to the cold winters. 4wheel option works well in both snow and mud. Leather seats are easy to clean and wear well. I bow hunt and need a truck that works well on the road and off plus is easy to keep clean (exterior and interior) Backup camera and parking sensors are a nice addition. Trailering package works well and is user friendly. Double console storage and 2 glove compartments are a good addition. folding rear seat is well planned and allows for good additional floor storage. Tow hooks and bed cargo loops are useable and conveniently placed. No complaints as the value holds well and the truck meets expectations."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

My Chevy is no "garage queen"! On the road or off, on the hunt or traveling, this is a great vehicle!

this is the new body style

By on Wednesday, February 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "yes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this is the new body style not the classic."

16 people out of 30 found this review helpful

Traded old silverado for this one.

By on Sunday, January 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Mileage, handling, horsepower."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had 1998 454 extended cab 8 ft bed 4X4. I was hesitant to "step down" to the 5.3 liter short bed. I was pleased with the horsepower and mileage. The ride and handling are excellent. I haven't misted the bed capacity or pulling torque yet."

15 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Best vehicle i have owned

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives great , runs on 8 cylinders or 4 cylinders"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this silverado rides great drives great good mpg's Great value. 5 years old runs like new, Gas, oil & filters,Air filters is the only expence i have had with this Silverado Lt"

13 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Does the job

By on Thursday, January 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very large, powerful, and appealing to the eye. Pulls my 28 foot Cabin Cruiser with ease."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Poor gas mileage was about 13 miles per gallon

By on Wednesday, January 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Disappointed -thought it should have been at least 17 or 18 miles/gallon. Will not buy another Silverado"

10 people out of 21 found this review helpful

1 of the best WORK trucks i have ever had.

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"1 of the best work truck I have had."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great pickup all in all.

By on Saturday, January 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wish it had more ground clearance. I have taken it a lot of places only time I was stuck is when high centered due to long wheelbase and low clearance. Aside from that this pickup has performed flawlessly in all driving conditions. Great gas mileage, around 18.5 mpg on premium fuel. Not quite the 20mpg estimate but I drive in high altitude conditions. Power is incredible! This pickup was touted as the first production pickup with 300hp, and 20mpg EPA estimate. It has more than lived up to the hype. I bought this pickup brand new, and couldn't be happier."

12 people out of 24 found this review helpful

love this truck

By on Friday, January 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive and fits my needs when i need a truck"

Cons: "no cup holders, did not come with rubber mats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"wish I could get better gas mileage."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Sunday, December 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great ride. roomy interior"

Cons: "Gas mileage..but who buys a truck for gas mileage?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great truck."

17 people out of 31 found this review helpful

Function and comfort PLUS!

By on Sunday, December 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rides like a dream, works like a mule."

Cons: "Parking in tight spaces...the only con."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was a loyal Jeep Grand Cherokee owner until I inherited this vehicle. It is just as roomy inside since the back seat flips up. More importantly, it is more comfortable on long trips than my Grand Cherokee; adjustable seats and extra legroom make all the difference. Speaking of road trips, the highway mileage exceeds stated mpg when using gas (vs ethanol). This truck LOVES the highway! Plus, the safety factor of driving a big truck and sitting up high so you can see what's ahead makes me feel very secure in any kind of traffic. The V8 enables quick response when in a challenging situation as well."

25 people out of 40 found this review helpful

Great work truck!

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great all around truck low price and dependibility"

Cons: "Few creature comforts,low mpg no towing pkg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck new in July 2013.It is just a basic work truck with the 4.8 engine.I have never had a problem with the truck.The styling is very appealing and it drives great.The quality of build is good.No rattles or squeaks.The handling is very good and it has good performance.The gas mileage could be better only 16 in town and it has a 35 gal fuel tank.I would definitely buy another Silverado probably an Ls or Lt with 4wd.within a year or two.If it had a cd player and power locks and windows the truck would be perfect!"

32 people out of 46 found this review helpful

Nice truck

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nice truck"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best Truck I've Owned

By on Sunday, December 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Cost of ownership, functionality and reliability"

Cons: "Fitment of trim parts could be a little better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the tenth truck I’ve owned, a mix of Ford and Chevy, and the best one with regard to overall value, functionality and reliability. The overall build quality with my Fords has consistently been a little better in regards to fitment of interior parts and exterior trim and driving dynamics are about equal, though a bit different. Where this Chevy shined was in functionality, reliability and overall cost of ownership. Had the most usable interior storage and the three inch longer bed vs. the Ford (5’9” vs. 5’6”) paid off more often than I thought it would. Out-the-door-price, gas mileage and maintenance costs have all been best in class for me. Truck has a little over 39K miles and still using the original tires/brakes with about 5K-8K remaining. Oil changes are running 6K-10K depending on how much towing I’m doing. The only repair was a stuck steering column adjustment lever replaced under warranty."

5 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Perfect Truck!

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Plenty of power and conveniences with a great price."

16 people out of 31 found this review helpful

Very satisfied with this vehicle.

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Styling, mileage, comfort, driveability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good looking,reliable, fuel efficient, and user friendly. I'm very happy with this truck so far."

15 people out of 40 found this review helpful

best truck ive owned out of four

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has been the most reliable ever"

8 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals