Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 2945 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Great vehical

By on Tuesday, March 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 202,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Durable, Dependable, Reliable Great Pickup"

Cons: "Rust on back wheel whells"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this vehical for 12 yrs only had to replace alternator a year ago, and left intake gasket 7 yrs ago. Dependable as all get out! Durable as well. ONLY complaint is back wheel weels are rusting as is every other pickup like mine."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck I've owned. Would own one again!

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this truck new. Only problem I've had is the speedometer and gas gauge needed repair. It's been used to haul everything from bass boat, yard maintainence trailers, and a 5th wheel. It's like the proverbial Timex watch.( It takes a licking and keeps on ticking)"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

couldn't have asked for a better truck

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Still on original exhaust and ball joints. Truck has consistantly delivered 17-18mpg. Still leaks no fluids and burns no oil. Oil pressure consistantly runs from 45-70psi. The only reason I am considering parting with the truck is rust which is probably mostly my fault because it is unlikely that I have ever averaged more than 2 washings/year"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

No recalls/Gas mileage17-21/great Truck

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "Rust issues on rear bumper and below doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Truck was used but not abused and well maintained. Other than routine maintenance I only had two issues I had to correct at a cost of less than $500. Not bad for 11 years and 130,000. Plan on keeping the truck until I can afford a new one. I am only putting on 6-8k a year since I have a reliable Honda to run around in. I special ordered this truck because I did not want to pay for all the expensive options that are on the majority of trucks on the dealers lot."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love my SS!!!

By on Monday, March 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lots of power and looks great"

Cons: "gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My SS has been a wonderful truck!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

It has been a great truck never any big problems

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"good looking no bug dents some little dings never been wrecked or engine problems all way had mobile one oil"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Rare model because of equipment, (not an SS model)

By on Monday, February 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet, smooth, powerful,"

Cons: "mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very comfortable heated power leather buckets up front,6.0, 4.10 axle, factory dual action shocks, Vortec Max,4wd, power heated mirrors,windows,Bose sound 6 disc etc. This model Silverado 1500 is very fast, but I baby it now,it did everything i asked it to. Now we,re gonna take it easy and grow old together."

4 people out of 11 found this review helpful

2wd is like a pig on ice in mud/snow. w/weight

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great work vehicle for spraying yards or hauling"

Cons: "Not 4wd when I did need it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle was a fleet vehicle and was being towed with 603 miles for unknown reason and came off of the tow truck and rolled backwards into a ditch and flipped over backwards onto its top. Salvage dealer had identical pickup and color and swapped out bed, rear door and replaced rear windshield and put new skin on top. Vehicle has been garaged 90 % of the time and serviced every 3-5K. New brakes just put on with over 1/2 of old pads still there."

bougt this truck on a impulse buy and i love it.

By on Saturday, February 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fast fun and reliable the 6.0 lq9 is awesome"

Cons: "a bit thirsty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only thing that I wish is that truck was rwd. But awd has huge benefits. It's fast and sound as well."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Most reliable vehicle I ever owned.

By on Thursday, February 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability,flexibility,usefulness,ride comfort"

Cons: "wind noise could be reduced for a quieter ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I admit to being OCD over my vehicles, but the Chev. Z-71 has never had a single mechanical,electrical or structural repair. It has a great ride for 4x4 and has performed any task I needed. Average fuel for the life of the truck is 16.7mpg. This includes pulling a variety of boats and cargo trailers. I purchased it new and pulled it behind a motorhome for over 6 years (mileage doesn't register while towing). It is by far the most flexible use vehicle I have ever had."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Tuesday, February 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great to drive."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent vehicle, great to drive, no major problems, drives just as well as day one."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2005 z71 - this thing is a hidden beast!

By on Wednesday, February 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Torque to make it up any hill or pull anything"

Cons: "need a storage organizer for back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Everyday driving through towns it great. The engine isn't to loud and it still has allot of power.When given gas it the engine shows this power.The handling is great. I replaced my old 1998 Ford ranger with this and was hooked from the first time i drove it off the lot. This year i got to see how well it handled on snow covered ice and was not disappointed! their were two owners before me that took very well care of it. They even used it to tow trailers all over delivering stuff. It still runs beautifully, off road it will go just about anywhere."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best truck I ever owned!

By on Thursday, January 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "5.3 liter V-8 made it a joy to haul a trailer"

Cons: "Anti-lock brakes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased this truck new in January of 2000. I have driven it coast to coast several times towing a trailer at least half the time,and it never let me down! Through some harsh Michigan winters,mountain blizzards,desert heat, and non stop 36 hour enduro travels without any break downs. It also sat undriven sometimes for long periods which can be just as hard on a vehicle. I plan on buying a new GMC crew cab this year to replace it and hand it down to my son that needs a good work truck. It currently has 142,000 miles on it.I am sure it has at least that many more in it! Hope my new one serves me as well!"

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

2015 work truck. very dependable

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"cd player and various gauges do not work has xm radio"

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Thee best truck by far! It replaced my 93 3500hd

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Its always thursty ! But fast! Im a firemen also"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was by far thee best truck I've had as for all around durability, reliability, and pure power. This truck has worked hard from the day I drove it off the lot. Mind you that was 150 miles from my home. Nobody had them. This replaced my 1993 3500hd which was a little rough on the back. I went to the 1500 hd because it road much smoother and will still carry any payload a ford or dodge will while pulling both of them up a hill. It will Not pass a gas station though!"

5 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Love my Silverado

By on Monday, January 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable, low maintenance"

Cons: "fuel economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have nothing bad to say about my 2000 Silverado LT. The 5.3L engine runs smooth, and has had no mechanical issues in 144k miles. Standard routine maintenance is all I have had to put into this truck. I have no doubt it will go for another 144k miles no problem."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

only have had regular maintenance

By on Saturday, January 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck has been very dependable and has never had any major problems"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

original owner. completely reliable vehicle.

By on Thursday, January 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "tremendous value over life of vehicle so far."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"has 170000 miles. original front brake pads. no leaks. had to replace fuel level sensor and rear brakes and a/c belt tensioner since new. kept fluids changed at or before intervals. COMPLETELY happy with vehicle. will be in family a long time"

15 people out of 24 found this review helpful

great truck cant ask much more of a truck

By on Sunday, December 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 339,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great truck"

Cons: "heater cores to hard to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"only have the standard chevy flawes ( heater core,a/c controls, console bulbs)but overall with over 300,000. plus miles and no engine repairs its been great"

13 people out of 15 found this review helpful

good reliable

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "gas milage cheap price for a quality truck"

Cons: "made in mexico"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"its a good truck not so much in the snow or winter but works hard and very cost effective"

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

the best truck ive ever owned

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have to say the chevy Silverado is the most comfortable,most dependable,and most stylish pickup ive ever owned."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

best truck ever

By on Saturday, November 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable and reliable"

Cons: "Trucks have come a long way since 2002"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had any problems other than regular maintenance repairs. (oil changes, brakes, tires) It looks brand new. (no rust) It held up well over the last 14 years. (bought in 2001)Very reliable."

15 people out of 28 found this review helpful

This truck is a dream truck.

By on Friday, November 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Work horse, smooth comfortable ride."

Cons: "none I can think of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this truck. It handles great in all weather conditions on or off road. Has all the power a guy can ask for!!!! This 6.0 is my lifetime engine, I pull and work my truck just not enough for a diesel but when I do I am right there with the 2500's with the 6.6l."

5 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Best truck I've owned, 7 years no problems. 195k

By on Friday, November 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "on the fly 4 wheel drive"

Cons: "cup holders to big for a normal cup or can"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable workhorse. The only problems I've had with this truck where my own fault. Bottomed her out once while having fun off road and bent the drive shaft. Bought with 88k miles still going strong with 195k worked nearly every day of it with masonry or glass block in the bed. Zero transmission issues, of course I change the fluid on schedule."

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

excellent great truck

By on Wednesday, November 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "use it rather than my wifes new bmw."

Cons: "cd players are cheap junk for such a great vehic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i wrote short bed fenderside but it thinks long bed Since new 1 front wheel bearing and 7 cd players I finally gave up and enjoyed the truck still looks like and drives like new.. would buy a new one but no longer available in fenderside. Have never owned a vehicle with this many miles but it is still like new so will drive it till it drops.."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals