Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 2871 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 115 | Next

One of the best all around trucks

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Driving is easy. Plenty of Power. Decent on gas!"

Cons: "Gauge cluster stop working at 97000."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Plenty of power for towing. For a full sized truck it is decent on gas about 18.5 mpg around town and highway mixed driving. Easy to see out of. Cab is comfortable and plenty of room for 4."

You know the saying...

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 224,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, performance"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

High above Pacific Coast Higway, Deer Creek Rd, 200K

"...Like a Rock! I have owned the vehicle since it was new, had a great experience from the dealership in Belen, NM. It still runs like new, acceleration, shifting, handling, electrical system, buttons, switches, almost everything, but a couple of bulbs in the radio buttons, all still works. The only issue to me is cosmetic, it has shown its patina, due to outdoor sunny climates. Paint job is all it needs, with only a hand full of door dings and scratches, luckily no body repair. The 4x4 is perfect as well, and I have used it on numerous occasions, it climbs, handles in snow, and the auto 4x4 shifts flawlessly in patchy conditions. All GM serviced. Minor repairs I do, brakes, belts, hoses, water pump, pulleys...etc. Had original brakes until 150k front, and 100k rear. So to me I would sum that up, maintenance free. It currently need shocks, brakes, the catalytic converter. The only minor technical small issue as of late is ABS, changing the sensors will cure that when I am working on the brakes. Yes this truck can be worked on by yourself for general maintenance, the internet has all the tutorials on youtube. So in summary I would rate this vehicle a great value, maintenance free, great driving, full size pick up truck. If you own one you know. If you are looking to buy one get it, it will last you a long time as long as you take care of it. Think of the classics out there, and one day this generation of truck will be a classic one day as well. I'm hoping to hold on to mine, but I could take offers."

High above Pacific Coast Higway, Deer Creek Rd, 200K

180000 miles, all original drivetrain. still solid

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent work truck. extremely reliable. comfortable on long drives."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

OUTSTANDING Truck!!

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Decent MPG, good power, etc..."

Cons: "Inital disc brakes were junk. Made dealer replace"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this truck for 14 years. She has never let me down in mud, snow, rain, etc... I do historical reenactments, and frequently pull a 4000# trailer with about 500# in the bed. Cadillac type ride, smooth handling, all around great. Only problem was the disc brakes on 2000-2002 were "sandwich" type. Good metal on the outside of junk pot metal. Made dealership replace them when pot metal rusted and hunks of disc fell off!"

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

love those silverados!

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm disabled but not wheelchair bound, I've owned 3 silveradoes, looking to get a newer one, love the reliability, power, performance, dependability, comfort, value. I rely on my truck for my legs, it gets me where no other vehicle can. I've had the same plow on my last two Silverados, never failed me. got stuck a couple times but 4 low popped me right out. My son owns 3 silverados for his excavating/landscape business, has over 300,000 on one of them. can't beat the Silverado."

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

best, most comfortable truck that I have driven

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "original brakes that are ~55% worn"

Cons: "some dash board issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very happy with truck"

Good Vehicle for Handyman

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great Value for a 4x4 basic pickup."

Cons: "A couple of recalls and the tranny failed at 150k."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've owned the 2000 Sivlerado 4X4 for 14 yrs. It has been reliable and great for me as a home handyman. I have a hitch and it has no problem pulling a trailer loaded down with 3000lbs of stone with a bed full of the same. I have the no frills version but it is comfortable and the 4x4 is great in the snow or on the beach. It had a couple of minor recalls but nothing concerning. It needed a tranny after 150K which was the only major issue. Aside from that basic tuneups at the 100k mark and it always started and ran well."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

LOVE MY TRUCK

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Power, reliability,looks"

Cons: "Brake line rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Plenty of power. Beast in the snow. Vortec engine runs like new. Paint is 14yrs old and still has high gloss finish."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle I have ever owned. Comfortable, good looks, great ride, very dependable. Not the best gas mileage. Purchased the truck new."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great truck, i love driving it

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gret to drive,"

Cons: "i have none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best truck period, for the money or otherwise, clean lines, rides great, comfortable, reliable"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Sunday, June 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this truck for 13 years and have not has one major problem. Only brakes etc, tires batteries. Everything else, except the gas pump, (fixed under warranty) is the original equipment. This is the best car/truck ever. I drove my 1977 cad Sevill for a 110,000 miles and it was totally trashed by the end even the paint was in bad shape, plus it cost 2 x as much as my chevy pick up. My truck still runs like a top and look almost new."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

3rd 2000 Chevy Truck I have owned, Very Reliable!!

By on Sunday, June 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very Comfy Ride, Plenty of Power, Coldest A/C"

Cons: "Gas Miliage but what truck doesnt"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just bought this used with only 93000 miles and 3rd 2000 I have owned.. In 2000 I had a brand New Extended cab 2wd with a 5.3 and Never had any problems and traded in @100000miles for an 04. Then I had a New 2000 Suburban Loaded 4x4 5.3 that I drove with only a fuel pump going out at 150000.. Best Vehicles I have ever Owned. Not sure why people always try to lie about one not being Incredible. I have driven all the brands of trucks out there but U just Cannot beat a GM!!"

I loved this truck.

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good looking truck and it ran great till death."

Cons: "Not crazy about no electronics. Crank windows."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Loved is the operative word. I bought it with 1300 miles on it. It has 207,000 now and it's dead!! Transmission went out. Looking at 2000 to 3000 bucks to get it fixed. Not to sure it's worth it. Fuel sensor in the tank stopped working years ago forcing me to use my odometer to tell when I needed fuel. It's a K1500 and the front differential whines in four wheel on turns. But it was reliable in the long run."

Truck that wont die

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 375,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Just keeps going"

Cons: "Turning is a bit tricky"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle I have ever owned. Getting close to 400,000 miles and still going strong."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Super Z71 100K completed.

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "all you could want in a used truck. Won't find one"

Cons: "No sun-roof , truck bed needs liner"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought truck from dealer with almost no miles. Have had since 02. Beautiful orig paint, ultra clean. Garaged. Have exp. hard top cover too. Getting older so just bought new truck to last me lifetime. Bright Red with Grey cloth interior with No wear."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought new off lot in 2005. Have not had any issues with this truck except the HVAC control unit went out, cost about a 75.00 to repair. well worth the cost."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

will not ever buy another chevy

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "good work truck"

Cons: "bad interior desingn"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"i bought this truck new had no problems until i hit 80,000 miles cluster panel went out A/c doesnt work on high had to change water pump i used to love chevys. hate to say it but i wont buy a chevy again"

By far the best truck ive ever owned

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned Chevy's dodges fords and Toyotas and the Chevy Silverado is by far the best one there is out there. very reliable truck!"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great used truck for its year and milage

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good shape for year/good looking/sounds nice"

Cons: "lifter noise but mech says all ok,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

work or play! nice cruiser

"4x2 in very good cond. dealer "monroe edition" full body mouldings(matching)bought this truck about 5 years ago with 102k and have 123k on it now. garaged in winters. sup to have come from south but I never checked that out. small dings and scratches but all from prevous owner. hard low profile cap with duraliner. tow package 5.2L auto/cruise/power rear slider/4 door/ps/pb/tilt/plocks/pwindows/cloth int. with no rips or tears.new brakes/armerguard tires(newer)newr batt.new exhaust (mid to rear)small rust on lower rear rocker but thats all. nothing else I could find.scratch in pass side windshield there from prev. owner too.KBB 7200-7600.00. looking for quick sale $$ 6500.00 No Trades or shipping clean clear title on hand"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

work or play! nice cruiser

This vehicle has served me very well.

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 276,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Solid throughout its entire life."

Cons: "MPG in this day and age is a bit low."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle new. With normal wear and tear, it has given me over 1/4 of a million miles with no effort at all. It rides like a champ, and has always been solid on the road. My average mileage throughout its life has been between 13 and 17 mpg. The 5.3 engine has been sweet the entire time. I am considering rebuilding the vehicle from top to bottom because I like the truck, but also because a new vehicle is upwards to $35,000 to $40,000. Make no mistake, Michigan weather is hard on all vehicles, but the 2wD has been no problem getting through our snowy winters. Common sense and consistent preventive maintenance is the key."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Keeps going strong

By on Wednesday, May 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This truck keeps going while one of my friends gets a tranny repaired in his ford so he buys a silverado then my boss has to fix his dodge twice all the while I only have a hub issue once easy to fix. I love this truck I pulled trailers I don't know how many times and it still goes and goes. The cons, well the head liner is coming down and the blower just about burned from the plug getting hot heard it's an Issue but I still favor this machine over ford and dodge."

Love this truck. Doesn't drive like a truck

By on Wednesday, May 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 244,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable and practical"

Cons: "Rattles in the dash at times that no one can find"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Others have asked me to sell them this truck but I just can't seem to let it go."

Good vehicle, strong towing rig!

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive...tough truck!"

Cons: "2 interior trim pieces have come loose, no biggie."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Like the truck, have had NO major issues to speak of. Minor interior flaws, but would not preclude me from buying another used truck like this again! The Bose stereo rocks!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

THIS VEHICLE IS A WORK TRUCK

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,387

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "VERY DEPENDABLE"

Cons: "COMPANY WORK TRUCK"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"We have owened this vehicle sence it was new. All the maintenance has been done."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Truck I've ever owned

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, reliable, treats me like I treat it"

Cons: "Big V-8, will pass everything except a gas station"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I take care of this vehicle. I've put 70,000 miles on it in 4 years of ownership. I have the recommended maintenance performed by a third part mechanic I trust for fair price. I will drive this vehicle until the wheels fall off and then I'll replace the wheels and keep going. I've had to put several batteries in the vehicle - that is a 'Florida' problem due to the intense heat, not a Chevy Truck problem. I buy batteries with 5-7 year warranties and they all fail within the warranty period and I simply have them changed out. This truck gets gas mileage that makes sense for the truck - about 13 mpg regardless of whether I'm on the highway or in town. If I tow a trailer (16-20 feet), I get the same gas mileage as without a trailer. The truck will pull up hill and down all day long with no issues. The leather interior is super comfortable. The front seats are 6-way power adjustable with heating. Nice on cold days and to relieve any back aches. I love this truck."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 115 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals