Go

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 3006 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 121 | Next

Great Truck

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought new off lot in 2005. Have not had any issues with this truck except the HVAC control unit went out, cost about a 75.00 to repair. well worth the cost."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle Ive ever owned.

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Perfect running truck to this day"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck still looks brand new. Not had one major problems in 13 years. Motor is as strong as the day I drove it home! 165000 miles and Im sure will go 165000 more."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

One of the fastest & best trucks i have ever owned

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and a show winner"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Real good on gas for a 6.0 engine 18 + hwy. 15 city no problems great pick up"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "dependable, capable, nice driving, comfortable"

Cons: "front wheel bearings don't last like they used to"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Z71 package is phenomenal. great in snow and off road. this is a great truck. I have put a lot of miles on it, some of them at or well above its towing and hauling capacities and quite a few of them off road. with the 5.3 engine it has plenty of power to do anything you have any business doing with a half ton truck. I have pulled 3 tons of hay out of a river bottom hay meadow up a very steep hill and on down the highway, an over loaded u-haul across country, drove 4 hrs on the interstate so loaded down the axles were touching the over load bushings, and have pull started a fully loaded dump truck. I work in construction and love the great outdoors so believe me i have put this truck through more than it was meant for and it has been no worse for the wear. the back seats could use a little more leg room but are still adequate, I have had to replace both front wheel bearings. The 4 wheel drive once acted up because of a bad sensor, the ac/heater fan went out once, 1 or 2 of the back lights for the buttons on the steering have gone out and I had to replace the mass air flow sensor to pas inspection recently. I have 160,000 miles on the truck and have put it through its paces its whole life; it still runs and drives very well and doesn't burn any oil. it has been strong, dependable, capable, nice driving, easy parking, comfortable and easy to take care of vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love to drive this truck.

By on Monday, February 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Purchased truck with 31,000 on it. Previous owner ordered it loaded. It's a 4x4 with chrome tube running board, has Bose stereo, leather, etc. At 126,000 miles had 2 rod bearings go out(don't know why)so bought a used 5.3 with 45,000 on it and it currently has 154,000 on it. Have replaced both front wheel bearings, shift lever, brakes couple of times & on 3rd set of tires. I've always been a Chevy truck guy, but it really shook my faith when the engine let go. Cost me $1675 to replace it. I know I got a deal. My employer say's I need to trade up to newer vehicle so not sure what I'm going to get. They want $44,000 for a similar vehicle( don't look near as good)."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very powerful and comfortable at the same time.

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,760

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and very good price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this truck. Never fail us. Agressive and smooth ride. Has all the right elements for a long ride and economical when freeways. In winter is perfect with heated seats. Powerfull and comfortable. Love it"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Would sell this vehicle to my grandmother !

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "5th wheel hitch matching cap LINEX bed remotstart"

Cons: "Needs new rear bumper (normal for Chevy )"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I know trade in value of $6400 is for purchase of a new vehicle , but my truck is in very good cond And well cared for not a rusty auction sale worth 2000/2500! The only reason for trading is I can't work carpentry anymore due to illness I am proud of my vehicles ,stubborn and will keep it in my driveway if necessary! Thanks,Kevin C."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

does everything I want, details could be better

By on Wednesday, November 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "does what the average person needs for a truck"

Cons: "could use better front end and electrical system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have owned this truck since new. I don't intentionally abuse it but it does treck off road for getting to a good dirt bike spot. I don't baby the truck but don't intentionally abuse either. It has been relatively reliable but the front end seems undersize. I have put two sets of brake calipers on the front, ball joints, and recently front wheel bearings. I have also had a few electrical problems. The heater fan connectors get really hot and melt the conector. I also have a speedometer that doesn't work and because it is all one unit it is costly to replace. The steering makes a crucnhing noise but I have been told that it is due to a large tolerance between the slip shafts. The milage isn't that bad for a vehicle this size. It Overall it averages around 17 mpg. THe truck isn't bad but I would prefer a stronger front end and brakes. The driveline is good and I think the performance of the engine and transmission is well matched to the weight o fthe truck."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome Truck

By on Friday, October 4, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth ride very reliable"

Cons: "Oil pressure plug is hard to replace"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my truck 8 years ago. At that time it had 15 miles on it. Now it has approx. 240,000 miles. I had some minor issues with it that I fixed myself. Which says a lot due to the fact that I am not a mechanic at all. It has a smooth ride, gets great gas mileage for a 5.3 v8. I'm a bigger guy and it has plenty of room for me. I will admit that I changed the oil and greased the joints every 3k to 5k miles. It has been reliable and a great truck for pulling my boat. Even with the miles that it has it is still a very good truck to own."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Truck Ever Owned

By on Friday, August 2, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependability"

Cons: "no control s on steering wheel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very comfortable and dependable truck. All around good truck. I recommend this truck."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A GREAT, COMFORTABLE, CAPABLE, RELIABLE TRUCK

By on Saturday, July 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT CONDITION; NO SURPRISES"

Cons: "NONE OR I WOULDN'T HAVE KEPT IT FOR 13 YEARS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ONE-OWNER SINCE NEW. ALWAYS EXCEPTIONALLY WELL MAINTAINED BY DEALER. Z71 OFFROAD. 5.3 V-8. GOOD GAS MILEAGE. HAVE HAD NO ISSUES MECHANICALLY OR COSMETICALLY. SUNSET ORANGE PAINT. STEP-SIDE BED WITH TONNEAU COVER. EXCELLENT BEIGE LEATHER INTERIOR. RECENT UPGRADE STEREO (XM, PANDORA, IPHONE, ETC). HAS EVERY AVAILABLE OPTION OFFERED FOR YEAR. NEVER ABUSED; NEVER DRIVEN OFF-ROAD. TOWED A BOAT ONCE. GREAT HIGHWAY CAR. DRIVES LIKE NEW. THERE IS NOTHING NOT TO LIKE ABOUT THIS VEHICLE."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Basic truck, no special options, excellent value.

By on Tuesday, July 9, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Drove this truck over 150,000 miles with just regular oil and tire changes with never a major repair."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my 4th Chevrolet 1500 truck!!

By on Wednesday, May 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rides like a car, dependable, and roomy"

Cons: "Tranny slips a little on my 2001. 125K"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned (4) and would buy one again in a "heartbeat" I have bought (2) new and (2) used, and all have been wonderful:)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

1st Truck, & Best Truck in County

By on Saturday, April 6, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my sons first vehicle, at 16. He is 18 now, graduating June of last year. He knew what he wanted, did the work and research necessary to find the right deal, drove a distance to get it and paid the seller cash, every penny he was asking bc it was EXACTLY what any young man would want and "Chevy" runs deep in our family. It was no doubt, the sweetest truck at school and still is in the county. Looks,confidence, security, practicality and convenience made this 4x4, lifted chevy perfect for him and the next proud owner. Regular maintainence performed. Upgrades added. Towing package, touch screen stero, back up sytem, Only wish for change would be : Better Gas Mileage!! BUT lOVES THE TRUCK..& most others do as well."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My dad bought this truck brand new in 2002

By on Thursday, March 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great engine,Reliable,gets the job done everytime"

Cons: "Shocks are a little weak from weight over years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My dad bought this truck as a work truck for his business in 2002 Its got the 4.3L and is extended cab, He just upgraded to and 05 Silverado with the 5.3 and sold me this one, It has exactly 200k on it and runs like its brand new, hes had to replace the fuel pump once and the starter once, other then that it has been problem free and im confident I can get another 100k out of it easy, I absolutely love the truck and have no complains with it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck ever!

By on Saturday, March 9, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 287,754

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Silverado in 01 with 22, 000 miles, and have never regreted it once. My truck currently has 287, 754 miles on it and runs as good as the day it purchased it. Chevy did an outstanding job with the 5.3 Vortec engine, it gives plenty of power with decent gas mileage for its size. I have ran synthetic oil in it since day one and I did change the tranny at 92, 000 and the fuel pump at 130, 000 , but all in all the BEST TRUCK EVER!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2000 Silverado 212k

By on Monday, September 3, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, no major issues, easy cheap parts"

Cons: "15 mpg city"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great vehicle. I have a lot of miles on it but it still runs great. I take very good care of it but it also takes care of me. It tows anything that is attached to it and mine is only the V8 5.3 2wd. GM really put some thought into this. This was one of the last years that you can still consider it an American Muscle. Only bad thing is the gas I get 15 mpg city Automatic trani had to replace it once at 180000"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Smooth ride, roomy, and comfortable!

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very much fun to drive and a smooth ride !"

Cons: "no passenger map reader lights"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Silverado has always had a pleasing, distinctive style that made it admirable. I am very pleased with the stylish interior, the smooth ride, the leg room and the extras; i.e...the temperature gauge and the compass."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I Love My Chevy!

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Easy to maintain, customizable, fun to change up"

Cons: "bad gas milage, hard to park in small spots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Tailgating in my favorite pickup!

"This has been my favorite truck by far. I've owned this 02 silverado for about 5 years. She's been very reliable, easy to maintain, and cleans up wonderfully. I hope to have another Chevy pickup in the near future that I can fix up and take care of like this one has taken care of me. You will be missed, Grey!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Tailgating in my favorite pickup!

Best Truck EVER!!!

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 254,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "Nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had the truck for 3 years. Got it with 235000 miles on it and its still going with the original engine. Some minor repairs but its only regular maintenance. Overall it is a fantasic vehicle and would recommend it to anyone."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I WOULD BUY ANOTHER

By on Tuesday, February 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "GOOD GAS MILEAGE, COMFORTABLE ON LONG TRIPS."

Cons: "NO RAIN GUTTERS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I WOULD BUY ANOTHER TRUCK LIKE THIS. THE ONLY ANNOYING COMPLAINT I HAVE. THEY REMOVED THE RAIN GUTTERS FROM ABOVE THE DOORS. WHEN YOU OPEN THE DOORS AFTER IT SNOWS, THE SNOW FALLS ON THE SEATS."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this truck!

By on Sunday, February 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fuel gage went at 80,000"

Cons: "some plastic is kind of junky. but typical for ame"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had no trouble at all with this truck. Runs great! Just expensive on gas. I got the truck for 5,000 which was a steal. its kbb and almost 8,000. Its 5.3 and tow anything and has a lot of power and torque."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This is by far the best vehickle i have ever owned

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have this truck and love it. I have a small lift and it still rides great. My favorite body style by far."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Friday, December 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good power, mileage, and fuel economy"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great truck I have had very few issues with the truck. I love the power of the 5.3 and I am happy with the decent mileage I am getting."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great when new...not aging so gracefully

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfort, Options and features"

Cons: "fuel mileage! Wear on engine."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've had good luck with this truck. It is nicely equipped and a very comfortable ride. Does truck stuff well too, although the 4wd actuator had to be replaced. Its starting to nickle and dime me now, the motor smokes bad on start up too, valve seals I'm told are a common problem with these 5.3's... she doesn't pass many gas stations though!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 121 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement